Bookworm Mom

  • 1
  • review
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 6
  • ratings
  • Get Sharpe: Maycroft Mystery Series Box Set

  • Books 2-4
  • By: Lisa B. Thomas
  • Narrated by: Kelley Hazen Storyteller Productions
  • Length: 18 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 7
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 7
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 7

Deena Sharpe is a baby boomer on a mission. She's retired from teaching and looking for a challenge. Little does she know her super sleuthing skills are about to be put to the test. Get this fun set of three cozy mysteries now. This box set includes Sharpe Edge, Sharpe Mind, and Sharpe Turn. In Sharpe Edge, a happy holiday turns into a silent night when the Christmas party hostess ends up dead at the bottom of the stairs. Did she fall, or was there something more sinister behind her quick descent?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Sharpe little mystery!

  • By Julie on 11-03-18

Well written cozy mysteries!

4 out of 5 stars
3 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-29-18

I really enjoyed these books! Lisa Thomas has created likeable characters, a charming small town setting, and a well-paced, clean yet suspenseful series. That said, I seem to be in the minority regarding the narration. Portions of it were okay, but the southern accent seemed a bit affected for some of the characters, parts of the dialogue seemed almost robotic, and the overall reading was too slow. The pace was better at x1.25. I encourage potential readers to listen to the whole sample before purchasing. Many people seem to enjoy the narration, maybe you will too. I’ll definitely be reading more of the series, though I’ll probably stick to the ebooks.