Marine City, MI, USA
  • 1
  • review
  • 47
  • helpful votes
  • 20
  • ratings
  • Dragonfly in Amber

  • By: Diana Gabaldon
  • Narrated by: Davina Porter
  • Length: 38 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32,927
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 27,476
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 27,428

New York Times best-selling author Diana Gabaldon enchanted scores of fans with Outlander, her electrifying historical saga set in 18th-century Scotland. Now this sequel sweeps listeners back into the past as Claire relates more of her perilous sojourn there with her Scottish warrior husband, James Fraser. Twenty years after her strange journey back in time, Claire has returned to Scotland with her daughter, determined to share with her the secret she has harbored since her time travel.

  • 5 out of 5 stars

  • By Jeff on 05-14-12

Riveting and Brilliant sequel

5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-07-07

"Dragonfly in Amber" by Diana Gablaldon is the sequel to the phenomenal (and also highly recommended) "Outlander." There are now actually six books in the series, with more to come, so if you enjoy these books, there is much more for you love!
This series is brilliantly crafted by the author, with plot twists by the score (there is NOTHING predictable about them), quirky characters (some you love, some you hate!), and dialogue that will make you laugh and cry. The characters will be so real to you by the end, you will find it hard to believe they have not been sitting at your kitchen table all along, telling their tales themselves. The "Outlander" books definitely defy GENRE. Initially set in Scotland in 1743, they have it all--history (meticulously researched), action, romance, drama, war, time travel, spies and intrigue--sprinkled throughout with characters based on real historical figures. These are LONG books, but by the end of each one you may be wishing it would go on further. Read (listen to) "Outlander" first, and you could be hooked in the first few chapters. The other books in the series are: "Voyager" (book 3); "Drums of Autumn" (book 4); "Fiery Cross" (book 5); and "A Breath of Snow and Ashes" (book 6). If that isn't enough, read the companion book "The Outlandish Companion," which explains a lot about the author's process of creating the series and characters, and answers her most frequently asked questions. The author's website is also worth a visit.
These books are written for intelligent readers, and I myself have created quite a large circle of "Outlander" fans by suggesting them to my friends and family, who subsequently get hooked. I do not recommend these for readers under 18, because of some graphic loves scenes, and other intense themes. However, I cannot recommend the series highly enough. Read (listen to) them twice each, at least!

47 of 55 people found this review helpful