LISTENER

Crystal

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 15
  • helpful votes
  • 22
  • ratings
  • Allegiance: Star Wars Legends

  • By: Timothy Zahn
  • Narrated by: Marc Thompson
  • Length: 12 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,590
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,494
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,487

The destruction of the Death Star by the Rebel Alliance was a decisive blow against the Empire, but Palpatine and his monstrous enforcer, Darth Vader, are no less of a threat. The brutal extermination of Alderaan not only demonstrated the magnitude of their murderous power, but served as a chilling testament to their resolve to crush the Rebel uprising. Standing against them, Skywalker, Solo, and the Princess remain uncertain opponents. Luke is gifted and brave, but unschooled in the power he possesses.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Middle of the road Zahn is still good Zahn

  • By Jacen on 06-21-13

Zahn is fantastic!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-08-13

Would you consider the audio edition of Allegiance: Star Wars to be better than the print version?

I have both read and listened to Allegiance and I must admit that Marc Thompson made the journey extremely satisfying. I don't think it is fair to compare print vs. audio because they are different entities but I do find myself recommending the audio more often than the written word.

What about Marc Thompson’s performance did you like?

Marc Thompson was able to capture the voice and style of well known movie actors...not an easy task considering the fan base.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • A Redbird Christmas

  • A Novel
  • By: Fannie Flagg
  • Narrated by: Fannie Flagg
  • Length: 5 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 702
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 429
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 427

With the same incomparable style and warm, inviting voice that have made her beloved by millions of readers far and wide, New York Times best-selling author Fannie Flagg has written an enchanting Christmas story of faith and hope for all ages that is sure to become a classic.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Quintessential Fannie Flagg.

  • By Buford on 12-15-04

Sweet as apple pie.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-10-12

Would you listen to A Redbird Christmas again? Why?

Yes! This is a book, like a feel-good movie, that you just want to listen to on cloudy days.

Have you listened to any of Fannie Flagg’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Yes, she performs great in all her work.

Any additional comments?

Just a sweet, well written story about what it is to be a good neighbor

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Peter and the Starcatchers

  • The Starcatchers, Book 1
  • By: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson
  • Narrated by: Jim Dale
  • Length: 8 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,999
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,420
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,416

In an evocative and fast-paced adventure on the high seas and on a faraway island an orphan boy named Peter and his mysterious new friend, Molly, overcome bands of pirates and thieves in their quest to keep a fantastical secret safe and save the world from evil.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A fast paced frolic on the high seas!

  • By Deborah on 12-19-08

Fun and exciting.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-10-12

Any additional comments?

This book was just fun. It had wonderful visuals, cheeky humour, action and a great story.

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened

  • A Mostly True Memoir
  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,609
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,089
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6,084

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

I can relate

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-13-12

What did you love best about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

I loved hearing about her experience with panic attacks. I have panic disorder as well as agoraphobia and it was refreshing to hear her find humor in those awful times.

What did you like best about this story?

Extremely funny but also relatable. Her Post-It note conversations are hilarious!

What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The tone that is often in her voice is priceless. If I was simply to read the book I feel I would not have picked up on her 'attitude' as much.

  • Star Wars: The Thrawn Trilogy, Book 3: The Last Command

  • By: Timothy Zahn
  • Narrated by: Anthony Daniels
  • Length: 3 hrs and 4 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 307
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 191
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 189

The embattled New Republic reels from the attacks of Grand Admiral Thrawn, who has marshaled the remnants of the Imperial forces and driven the Rebels back with an abominable technology recovered from the Emperor's secret fortress: clone soldiers.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Anthony Daniels KILLS it again

  • By Michael on 03-29-12

Abridged version leaves you wondering.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-21-12

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

I recommend this book for any Star Wars fan, but the abridged audio version made the story confusing due to omitted parts.

What did you like best about this story?

The

What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

The narrator does well with the voices in the book, however, there are some 'accents' that were hard to follow.

Could you see Star Wars being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

The

Any additional comments?

If available, read the book. If not, the audio is good, just missing more than I would have liked.