LISTENER

C. Klein

atlanta, ga
  • 11
  • reviews
  • 58
  • helpful votes
  • 56
  • ratings
  • The Last Juror

  • A Novel
  • By: John Grisham
  • Narrated by: Michael Beck
  • Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,314
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,981
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,963

In 1970, one of Mississippi's more colorful weekly newspapers, The Ford County Times, went bankrupt. To the surprise and dismay of many, ownership was assumed by a 23 year-old college dropout, named Willie Traynor. The future of the paper looked grim until a young mother was brutally raped and murdered by a member of the notorious Padgitt family. Willie Traynor reported all the gruesome details, and his newspaper began to prosper.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Grisham's Finest

  • By Danielle on 02-08-04

My favorite!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-09-18

I have enjoyed about ten Grisham novels and this one is my favorite. It has a beautiful sense of hope and bridging the divide between us while offering a compelling tale. Wonderfully narrated and delightful!

  • Nine Perfect Strangers

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 16 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 9,651
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,910
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 8,873

From number-one New York Times best-selling author Liane Moriarty, author of Big Little Lies, comes her newest audiobook, Nine Perfect Strangers: Nine people gather at a remote health resort. Some are here to lose weight, some are here to get a reboot on life, some are here for reasons they can’t even admit to themselves. Amid all of the luxury and pampering, the mindfulness and meditation, they know these 10 days might involve some real work. But none of them could imagine just how challenging the next 10 days are going to be.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Everyone Has Already Said It...

  • By Nikki Trulen on 01-16-19

Absolute garbage.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-10-18

Horrible terrible experience full of grotesque cliches and dreadful plot. So bad I want my money back and wish that I could charge for my time. I’ve read all of Liane Moriarty’s books and was hoping for a similar experience and am totally disappointed. Did no one edit this garbage and tell the author heck no!?!?

56 of 68 people found this review helpful

  • The Alice Network

  • A Novel
  • By: Kate Quinn
  • Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
  • Length: 15 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 27,731
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25,566
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25,455

In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • We are standing on the shoulders of giants...

  • By Marie on 02-25-18

Cliches...

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-23-18

I love the notion of a book saluting the heroism of women spies however, so many cliches and predictable moments made this terribly disappointing for me.

  • Behind Closed Doors

  • By: B. A. Paris
  • Narrated by: Georgia Maguire
  • Length: 8 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 44,946
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 40,737
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 40,693

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth; she has charm and elegance. He's a dedicated attorney who has never lost a case; she is a flawless homemaker, a masterful gardener and cook, and dotes on her disabled younger sister. Though they are still newlyweds, they seem to have it all. You might not want to like them, but you do. You're hopelessly charmed by the ease and comfort of their home, by the graciousness of the dinner parties they throw. You’d like to get to know Grace better.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Slow start but a gripping experience

  • By Vanessa Arizona on 09-04-16

Tedious...

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-26-18

I was so thoroughly disappointed. 99% of the book is building horror that it got monotonous instead of suspenseful. I just wanted it over with but only 1% of the book was focused on that part so it was not an unfolding of a story but a door slamming shut.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye

  • A Lisbeth Salander Novel, Continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series
  • By: David Lagercrantz
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 10 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,308
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,759
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6,745

Lisbeth Salander, the girl with the dragon tattoo, the brilliant hacker, the obstinate outsider, the volatile seeker of justice for herself and others - even she has never been able to uncover the most telling facts of her traumatic childhood, the secrets that might finally fully explain her to herself. Now, when she sees a chance to uncover them once and for all, she enlists the help of Mikael Blomkvist, the editor of the muckraking investigative journal Millennium. And she will let nothing stop her.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Not up to par

  • By cristina on 10-03-17

Wow! She is back!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-06-17

Great story, language true to the series and less violence. I am thrilled! I can’t wait for the next adventure of Lisbeth Salander!

  • The City Baker's Guide to Country Living

  • By: Louise Miller
  • Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
  • Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 367
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 335
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 336

When Olivia Rawlings - pastry chef extraordinaire for an exclusive Boston dinner club - sets not just her flambéed dessert but the entire building alight, she escapes to the most comforting place she can think of - the idyllic town of Guthrie, Vermont, home of Bag Balm, the country's longest-running contra dance, and her best friend, Hannah. But the getaway turns into something more lasting when Margaret Hurley, the cantankerous, sweater-set-wearing owner of the Sugar Maple Inn, offers Livvy a job.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I’m so hungry now

  • By MomIsReading on 08-01-18

Perfectly mediocre...

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-27-17

A series of unfortunate cliches. I really wanted to enjoy it but I just could not get into it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Bookshop on the Corner

  • By: Jenny Colgan
  • Narrated by: Lucy Price-Lewis
  • Length: 9 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,533
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,416
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,414

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect books for her readers. But can she write her own happy ever after? In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book lovers the world over, the New York Times best-selling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George's The Little Paris Bookshop.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Misleading

  • By Alexis☺ on 05-28-17

Predictable

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-01-17

The set up opened up many possibilities as to where the story would take us. Sadly it became a predictable cliche. The end was grossly rushed and stodgy.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Nine Women, One Dress

  • A Novel
  • By: Jane L. Rosen
  • Narrated by: full cast
  • Length: 6 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,593
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,474
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,465

Natalie is a Bloomingdale's salesgirl mooning over her lawyer ex-boyfriend, who's engaged to someone else after just two months. Felicia has been quietly in love with her boss for 17 years and has one night to finally make the feeling mutual. Andie is a private detective who specializes in gathering evidence on cheating husbands - a skill she unfortunately learned from her own life - and lands a case that may restore her faith in true love.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A perfect fit for fans of "Love, Actually." It's a delight!

  • By Katherine on 08-13-16

Damn fun!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-25-17

As delicious as chocolate cake! Fun and upbeat! The ultimate killer of land attitudes during long commutes and house chores. Thanks!

  • The Martian

  • By: Andy Weir
  • Narrated by: R. C. Bray
  • Length: 10 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 164,836
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 152,160
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 151,999

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there. After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he's alive - and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive. Chances are, though, he won't have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plainold "human error" are much more likely to kill him first.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Worth it even if you've seen the movie

  • By R. MCRACKAN on 12-08-17

WOW!!! Ah duct tape!!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-21-15

I can't say that I remember a time that I actually did a fist pump at the end of a novel but heck YES it just happened! Witty, funny, gripping, tenacious ride!

If you don't enjoy it, well you don't have a heart beating in your chest. Go read a manual for a dust buster then.

  • Go Set a Watchman

  • A Novel
  • By: Harper Lee
  • Narrated by: Reese Witherspoon
  • Length: 6 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 14,545
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,331
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 13,296

An historic literary event: the publication of a newly discovered novel, the earliest known work from Harper Lee, the beloved, best-selling author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning classic To Kill a Mockingbird. Originally written in the mid-1950s, Go Set a Watchman was the novel Harper Lee first submitted to her publishers before To Kill a Mockingbird. Assumed to have been lost, the manuscript was discovered in late 2014.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • To Kill A Mockingbird vs Go Set A Watchman

  • By Sara on 07-15-15

Fantastic!!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-16-15

It is a book independent of To Kill A Mockingbird and taken as such, you can't help but to enjoy it thoroughly!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful