LISTENER

Masum Ahmed

  • 33
  • reviews
  • 16
  • helpful votes
  • 81
  • ratings
  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,160
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,918
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,914

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing

  • By ilene on 09-15-15

cool book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-11-19

the book was excellent until it reach the point where it revealed that "Leaon" the godfather is the murder of Gai the secret boyfriend. that did sound believable of exciting. I just stopped listening right there. I don't know if I'll continue or not.

  • The Little Book of Common Sense Investing

  • By: John C. Bogle
  • Narrated by: Thom Pinto
  • Length: 5 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 815
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 623
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 620

To learn how to make index investing work for you, there's no better mentor than legendary mutual-fund industry veteran John C. Bogle. Over the course of his long career, Bogle, founder of the Vanguard Group and creator of the world's first index mutual-fund, has relied primarily on index investing to help Vanguard's clients build substantial wealth. Now, with The Little Book of Common Sense Investing, he wants to help you do the same.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Invest in Index Fund.If you get that, don't waste$

  • By Sankar on 12-20-10

weak book

Overall
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-20-19

it's a weak book. the narration was weak, weak tone, low quality and average advise. the final few chapters sounded good though. I have to review them to see if they hold any actual knowledge.

  • The Hidden Life of Trees

  • What They Feel, How They Communicate - Discoveries from a Secret World
  • By: Peter Wohlleben
  • Narrated by: Mike Grady
  • Length: 7 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,856
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,539
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,524

How do trees live? Do they feel pain or have awareness of their surroundings? Research is now suggesting trees are capable of much more than we have ever known. In The Hidden Life of Trees, forester Peter Wohlleben puts groundbreaking scientific discoveries into a language everyone can relate to.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • As I suspected all along...

  • By Janning on 12-26-16

what a sweet book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-01-19

I began to like it from the first chapter. aw sweet, sweet book.
the sample gives enough away to consider listening.

  • Children around the Prophet

  • How Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him) Raised the Young Companions
  • By: Dr. Hesham Al-Awadi
  • Length: 7 hrs and 11 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 17
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 17

In introducing parents and potential parents to the Prophetic example of dealing with children, Dr. Hesham Al-Awadi tackles the challenges and complexity of raising children, and the necessity to understand and cater for their needs.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Good for parents and teacher

  • By Jum'atil Fajar on 09-01-16

terrible returned book

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-01-19

it doesn't work in the current era. too emotional. not educational. this was a in person session that was recoreded from a speech or seminar. I am well aware of the content. but the interpretations explained have been repeated by scolars over and over again. it's nothing new.

  • The Introvert's Edge

  • How the Quiet and Shy Can Outsell Anyone
  • By: Matthew Pollard
  • Narrated by: Jamie Jackson
  • Length: 4 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 688
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 608
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 606

Sales is a skill anyone can learn and master - and introverts are especially good at it once they learn how to leverage their natural strengths. Introverts aren't comfortable with traditional tactics like aggressively pushing a product or talking over a customer's objections. That's the beauty of The Introvert's Edge: it doesn't focus on the sale itself but on a sales system that helps introverts feel sincere instead of sales-y.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Relates to me perfectly

  • By Eric Sczuka on 01-04-18

dude this is the best book ever

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-21-19

Wow. it helped me so much. it helped to understand myself as well as others and my relationship to extroverts. cool.

  • The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

  • The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing
  • By: Marie Kondo
  • Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
  • Length: 4 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25,350
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 21,908
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 21,671

Despite constant efforts to declutter your home, do papers still accumulate like snowdrifts and clothes pile up like a tangled mess of noodles?Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes tidying to a whole new level, promising that if you properly simplify and organize your home once, you'll never have to do it again. Most methods advocate a room-by-room or little-by-little approach, which doom you to pick away at your piles of stuff forever.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I both love and hate this life changing book

  • By Rebecca on 02-22-15

Hmm...what a lovely book.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-21-18

very interesting book. this book makes me think the other books I bought were trash, sold for money. This book is more thruthful than other normal books. more powerful and puts other books to shame. I'm not kidding.

  • How to Hear Your Angels

  • By: Doreen Virtue
  • Narrated by: Doreen Virtue
  • Length: 2 hrs and 35 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 214
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 160
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 157

How to Hear Your Angels is a step-by-step program on how to clearly receive messages from your angels and guides. The material was gathered from Doreen Virtue’s best seller Messages from Your Angels and from her workshops. As you listen to this audio book, you’ll discover your spiritual communication style, which will enable you to more easily recognize the visions, words, thoughts, and feelings you receive as Divine guidance.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great !! Totally recommend!

  • By Kristin Gould on 04-26-16

wow, wow, wow

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-18

great book. weather you believe it or not this book can inform you of the things you need. it is well written, specific, it has details, (not generalized trash.

  • The Top 1%

  • Habits, Attitudes & Strategies For Exceptional Success
  • By: Dan Strutzel
  • Narrated by: Dan Strutzel
  • Length: 5 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 28
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25

In the past several years, there has been a great deal of hyperbole disseminated by mass media about "The Top 1%". Most of this press has been negative - casting the 1% as the villains, and the 99% as the victims. Most every major problem in our society, and in individuals' inability to progress, has been blamed on this "elite" income class. Yet, the paradox is that the vast majority of people in America strive every day to become part of that 1%.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Perfect Audiobook for Today

  • By Eric on 04-27-17

I believe this book was just stating the obvious.

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-02-18

this book took information from other books. it did not have much original info. it was also advertising like 7 other books telling you to read them. so it's like I paid for advertisement. sad sad

  • The Mind-Made Prison

  • Radical Self Help and Personal Transformation
  • By: Mateo Tabatabai
  • Narrated by: Matt Stone
  • Length: 5 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 5

The Mind-Made Prison is a highly effective self-help and personal transformation guide. It takes you on a breathtaking journey through your psyche and shows you the exact things that are currently causing you pain and how you can remove these elements from your life.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • the best self-improvement book ever.

  • By Masum Ahmed on 04-21-18

the best self-improvement book ever.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-21-18

Thanks for writing this incredible book
this book is a "hit" with me. just the first few lies and chapter cought my attention & interest good enough to rate it. I found the phase/tone of reading and content valuable.
thank you again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Unleashing the Soul of Money

  • Find Sufficiency, Freedom, & Purpose Through Your Relationship with Money
  • By: Lynne Twist
  • Narrated by: Lynne Twist
  • Length: 2 hrs and 38 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 91
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 63
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 62

Imagine feeling completely at peace about your money, whether you're earning it, spending it, saving it, or using it to help others. In Unleashing the Soul of Money, world-renowned fund-raiser and "money mentor" Lynne Twist shares from her 30 years of global research into happiness and money to reveal a surprising truth: that the size of your paycheck has little to do with fulfillment, and everything to do with getting your money aligned with your deepest commitments, values, and desires.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fun & penetrating exploration of Money Relations

  • By David on 07-21-12

this book gives a spiritual guide on money.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-01-18

I love it. it brings clarity. although some people may think it's abstract, etc. I did not think so. I appreciate the insight.
Thanks Lynne Twist