LISTENER

THERESA SWAYZE

  • 270
  • reviews
  • 45
  • helpful votes
  • 270
  • ratings
  • A Conspiracy in Belgravia

  • By: Sherry Thomas
  • Narrated by: Kate Reading
  • Length: 10 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,132
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,992
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,984

Being shunned by society gives Charlotte Holmes the time and freedom to put her extraordinary powers of deduction to good use. As "Sherlock Holmes, consulting detective", aided by the capable Mrs. Watson, she has had great success helping with all manner of inquiries, but she is not prepared for the new client who arrives at her Upper Baker Street office. Lady Ingram, wife of Charlotte's dear friend and benefactor, wants Sherlock Holmes to find her first love, who failed to show up at their annual rendezvous.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent story awesome characters superb narrator

  • By mary hohman on 10-30-17

Loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-18-19

I got this book on sale. I didn't fall in love with it at the beginning but soon afterwards. The other reviewers have given more than enough explanations so I won't say more except I intend to get the other books in this series.

  • Reflex

  • By: Dick Francis
  • Narrated by: Simon Prebble
  • Length: 9 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 562
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 514
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 507

Well-plotted and full of atmospheric charm, Reflex demonstrates the fine style that earned Dick Francis the title of Grand Master of the Mystery Writers of America. This fast-paced story of a jockey’s courageous murder investigation exposes the politics and corruption at the heart of the British racing world. Philip Nore has no greater ambition than to successfully complete the last years of his career as a jockey, even if it means bending the rules a bit. But when pushed, Philip discovers that there really are a few other things that matter to him.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Classic Dick Francis

  • By K.D. Keenan on 11-12-12

Real good book

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-15-19

A little slow at the beginning but it picks up quickly. Good character development and the writing is very good.

  • Sleep Like a Baby

  • By: Charlaine Harris
  • Narrated by: Therese Plummer
  • Length: 7 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 614
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 567
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 566

Robin and Aurora have finally begun their adventure in parenting. With newborn Sophie proving to be quite a handful, Roe's mother pays for a partially trained nurse, Virginia Mitchell, to come help the new parents for a few weeks. One particularly stormy night, Roe wakes to hear her daughter crying and Virginia nowhere to be found. Roe's brother Philip helps her search the house, and they happen upon a body outside. But it isn't Virginia's. Who is this mystery woman dead in their backyard, and what happened to Virginia?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Best book of the series

  • By Kathy on 09-29-17

Good book

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-14-19

This is my 1st time listening to this author. I got it on sale. It is worth the money. Good story.

  • Stone Cold

  • By: David Baldacci
  • Narrated by: Ron McLarty
  • Length: 10 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,791
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,389
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,379

Oliver Stone and the Camel Club are back in their most dangerous adventure yet, a war on two fronts. Casino king Jerry Bagger from The Collectors is hunting Annabelle Conroy, who conned him out of millions. Stone and his colleagues Reuben, Milton, and Caleb marshal all their resources to protect Annabelle. Yet all their skills may not be enough when a deadly new opponent rips off the veneer of Stone's own mysterious past.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Stone Cold fantastic

  • By Louise on 09-23-08

love the book but

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-14-19

The recording has a problem. Toward the end of book the voice is bad and broken. I love the story but am returning the recording.

  • The Last Move

  • By: Mary Burton
  • Narrated by: Teri Schnaubelt
  • Length: 9 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,523
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,167
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,159

In this gripping stand-alone from bestselling author Mary Burton, an FBI agent must catch a copycat killer. The only difference this time: she's the final victim.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Mary Burton consistently writes winners!

  • By shelley on 09-21-17

Really good book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-08-19

I love this book. The characters are well developed. The mystery is very intriguing and definitely a page turner.

  • A Curious Beginning

  • By: Deanna Raybourn
  • Narrated by: Angele Masters
  • Length: 10 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,674
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,298
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,288

As the city prepares to celebrate Queen Victoria's golden jubilee, Veronica Speedwell is marking a milestone of her own. After burying her spinster aunt, the orphaned Veronica is free to resume her world travels in pursuit of scientific inquiry - and the occasional romantic dalliance. As familiar with hunting butterflies as she is fending off admirers, Veronica wields her butterfly net and a hatpin with equal aplomb, and with her last connection to England gone, she intends to embark upon the journey of a lifetime.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • For fans of Elizabeth Peters and Gail Carriger

  • By L. Williams on 06-29-16

Ok cozy

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-07-19

This is my 1st time listening to this author. I don't know if its a 1st book in a series. If it is then I would listen to the 2nd to see if it improves. This book is very slow at the beginning & probably through half of the book. At the end it picked up & ended great. Unfortunately you have to get through the 1st half.

  • Sniper Elite: One Way Trip

  • A Novel
  • By: Scott McEwen, Thomas Koloniar
  • Narrated by: Brian Hutchison
  • Length: 10 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,617
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,426
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,421

The President of the United States can’t decide how to respond to a classified video showing the Taliban’s brutal treatment of their captive - a female helicopter pilot of the Army’s elite Special Operations Aviation Regiment. Afraid that a botched rescue will further destabilize foreign policy and end his presidency, the Commander-in-Chief falters. But when the Special Ops community learns that one of their own is being tortured and will almost certainly be killed, no executive order will stop them from attempting a rescue mission.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I NEED A CIGARETTE!

  • By David on 07-30-13

Really good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-07-19

Loved the main character. One caution this is written with active war scenes. So if you don't want to hear about casualties you don't want this book. I love it. The action was great and there are no slow moments .It's definitely s page turner even in the characters development stage.

  • The Fix

  • By: David Baldacci
  • Narrated by: Kyf Brewer, Orlagh Cassidy
  • Length: 8 hrs and 10 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 995
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 894
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 886

Amos Decker witnesses a murder just outside FBI headquarters. A man shoots a woman execution style on a crowded sidewalk, then turns the gun on himself. Even with Decker's extraordinary powers of observation and deduction, the killing is baffling. Decker and his team can find absolutely no connection between the shooter - a family man with a successful consulting business - and his victim, a schoolteacher. Nor is there a hint of any possible motive for the attack.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I have love these books . I hope there is another

  • By Js2530 on 05-27-18

Really good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-01-19

I loved the characters in this series. This is 1st book I have listened to in this series. I love his other series and have several books by this author. The mysteries he writes will keep you guessing and you will fall in love with the main characters.

  • To Die For

  • By: Linda Howard
  • Narrated by: Franette Liebow
  • Length: 9 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 413
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 322
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 325

Blair Mallory lives the good life. She's pretty, confident, and the owner of a thriving upscale fitness center. But in the shadow of success, a troubled member of the club develops a strange fixation on her, imitating her style and dress. Matters take a darker turn when the look-alike is shot dead - and Blair witnesses the horror.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Narration too horrible to listen to

  • By Lifelong Reader on 01-16-09

Pretty good

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-28-19

Not that I didn't like it obviously by the 4 star but there is to much explicit sex scenes for me. also I don't get the macho man forcing women to do anything after they say no to begin with. Using an attraction against them is wrong. But I liked the rest of the book.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Knit One, Kill Two

  • A Knitting Mystery, Book 1
  • By: Maggie Sefton
  • Narrated by: Jane Jacobs
  • Length: 9 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 258
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 215
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 216

Kelly Flynn never picked up a pair of knitting needles she liked—until she strolled into House of Lambspun. Now, in the first in a brand-new series, she learns how to knit one, purl two, and untangle the mystery behind her aunt's murder.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Knit One Kill Two: A Knitting Mystery, Book 1

  • By Kathleen on 08-28-11

Real good cozy

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-26-19

I bought this book on sale. So this is my 1st time listening to this author. I enjoyed it very much.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful