LISTENER

kmk

  • 6
  • reviews
  • 19
  • helpful votes
  • 180
  • ratings
  • Waiter to the Rich and Shameless

  • Confessions of a Five Star Beverly Hills Server
  • By: Paul Hartford
  • Narrated by: James Patrick Cronin
  • Length: 10 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,244
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,167
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,170

Waiter to the Rich and Shameless is not just a peek into the secretive inner workings of a legendary five-star restaurant; it is not just a celebrity tell-all or a scathing corporate analysis. It is a top-tier waiter's personal coming-of-age story, an intimate look into the complicated challenges of serving in the country's most elite, Hollywood-centric dining room while fighting to maintain a sense of self and purpose.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Not what I imagined

  • By Maia C. Larkin on 02-17-17

Yawn

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-16-17

Can't believe this self serving tale was published. Insights? Nah. Intellect? Nah. Coming of age? That would have been a blessing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • At Home in the World

  • Reflections on Belonging While Wandering the Globe
  • By: Tsh Oxenreider
  • Narrated by: Tsh Oxenreider
  • Length: 7 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 307
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 280
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 280

As Tsh Oxenreider, author of Notes from a Blue Bike, chronicles her family's adventure around the world. Seeing, smelling, and tasting the widely varying cultures along the way, she discovers what it truly means to be at home.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Having traveled the world as a kid myself.....

  • By kmk on 07-31-17

Having traveled the world as a kid myself.....

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-31-17

I found this book to be incredibly uninteresting. The family seemed to spend a lot of time on playgrounds. There was no story. There was a weak "soul searching spiritual quest" that didn't hold water. To top it off the author is a poor reader who drops her sentences and was rather monotonous. I was really looking forward to it too!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • The Daughters of Palatine Hill

  • A Novel
  • By: Phyllis T. Smith
  • Narrated by: Cristina Panfilio, Joyce Bean, Amy McFadden
  • Length: 11 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 254
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 227
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 226

Two years after Emperor Augustus's bloody defeat of Mark Antony and Cleopatra, he triumphantly returns to Rome. To his only child, Julia, he brings an unlikely companion - Selene, the daughter of the conquered Egyptian queen and her lover. Under the watchful eye of Augustus's wife, Livia, Selene struggles to accept her new home among her parents' enemies. Bound together by kinship and spilled blood, these three women - Livia, Selene, and Julia - navigate the dangerous world of Rome's ruling elite.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Not much substance

  • By kmk on 03-30-16

Not much substance

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-30-16

What disappointed you about The Daughters of Palatine Hill?

As historical fiction goers, this one is pretty weak. It's set in Caesar's Rome, but aside from saying so, there are few details of life, environment, history, to support the claim. mostly seems to be about the rules of being a good wife and daughter, over, and over, and over again,

What do you think your next listen will be?

Murphy's Law and the Doll House

How could the performance have been better?

Though there are several narrators, they all speak overly slowly and distinctly, making for a wooden effect.

What character would you cut from The Daughters of Palatine Hill?

The characters are pretty interchangeable.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • White Seed

  • The Untold Story of the Lost Colony of Roanoke
  • By: Paul Clayton
  • Narrated by: Lee Harpster
  • Length: 18 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars 33
  • Performance
    2.5 out of 5 stars 30
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 29

A fully-realized historical thriller in the tradition of James Clavell's Shogun and Ken Follett's The Pillars of the Earth. One of the most haunting mysteries in American history - The Lost Colony of Roanoke - comes roaring back to life in White Seed, with a compelling cast of characters,

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • An interesting piece of history

  • By Ellenaeddy on 03-25-15

Hard to listen to

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-31-15

Would you try another book from Paul Clayton and/or Lee Harpster?

Despite a very stilted narration, I persevered listening to the book as the story is fascinating. But I just could not finish it due to the over-articulated stilted narration.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Tudor Secret

  • The Elizabeth I Spymaster Chronicles, Book 1
  • By: C. W. Gortner
  • Narrated by: Steve West
  • Length: 10 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 392
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 342
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 340

The summer of 1553 is a time of danger and deceit. Brendan Prescott, an orphan, has been reared in the household of the powerful Dudley family. Brought to court, Prescott finds himself sent on an illicit mission to the king’s brilliant but enigmatic sister, Princess Elizabeth. But Brendan is soon compelled to work as a double agent by Elizabeth’s protector, William Cecil, who promises in exchange to help him unravel the secret of his own mysterious past.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • English History

  • By joan on 06-17-13

Gack

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-08-15

Beautiful narration of a totally implausible story. Little understanding of the social norms and behaviors of the day.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • No Time Like the Past

  • The Chronicles of St. Mary's, Book 5
  • By: Jodi Taylor
  • Narrated by: Zara Ramm
  • Length: 8 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,081
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,904
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,891

Jodi Taylor’s best-selling series The Chronicles of St. Mary is back with a bang…St. Mary’s has been rebuilt, and it’s business as usual for the history department. But first there’s the little matter of a 17th-century ghost that only Mr. Markham can see. Not to mention the minor inconvenience of being trapped in the Great Fire of London…and an unfortunately timed comfort break at Thermopylae, leaving the fate of the Western world hanging in the balance.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Ms. Taylor Does it Again!

  • By DarleneL on 04-22-15

Always entertaining.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-06-15

Just please write the next one! You're not keeping up! I love this series and it makes me want to travel to places I haven't been yet.