LISTENER

Aaron L. M. Goodwin

Apple Valley, CA USA
  • 10
  • reviews
  • 7
  • helpful votes
  • 43
  • ratings
Baby, You're Gonna Be Mine audiobook cover art

Jarring stories that make you think

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-12-19

The stories here are haunting and certainly don't make for light reading. The lack of coherent resolutions and the way Wilson defies tying anything up in a bow left me a confused at times, and yet I couldn't help but keep thinking about the narratives after I read them.

The performances were a bit too lethargic and, at times, unconvincing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Stones into Schools audiobook cover art
  • Stones into Schools
  • Promoting Peace with Books, Not Bombs, in Afghanistan and Pakistan
  • By: Greg Mortenson
  • Narrated by: Atossa Leoni

Astounding Account Full of Detail

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-05-10

Picking up where Three Cups of Tea left off, this work gives you everything you want from greater depth of the already told stories, updates on many of the people involved in Mortenson's quest to build school in Afghanistan and Pakistan, and more news about the past few years. What this man has been able to accomplish is astounding and can make even the most selfish feel the need to get outside themselves.

This would be four stars, but the narration is a bit odd. Since it's a first-person account, hearing the narrator of a man be a woman is a bit off-putting.

The Unlikely Disciple audiobook cover art
  • The Unlikely Disciple
  • A Sinner's Semester at America's Holiest University
  • By: Kevin Roose
  • Narrated by: Kevin Roose

Open-minded and honest

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-21-10

At first I was cynical that the premise to this book could be fleshed out without a whole bunch of misunderstandings and misrepresentation of "religious folk", but Roose does a tremendous job of detailing the spiritual and social spectra of the evangelical community. Spending a semester at Liberty College, the Brigham Young University of the evangelical world, Roose throws himself into life of a Liberty student 100% and comes away sharing a refreshingly open-minded, if not Christ-like account of these experiences.

Now, a warning, this book handles controversial and sensitive subjects which may not be suitable for younger readers, but Roose handles these topics in respectful yet interesting ways. I think any person would come away from this book with a greater desire to love and know those that don't believe as they do. It's inspiring to say the least.

Roose does an excellent job narrating, and you come away wanting to hang out with the guy and all his Liberty Friends.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Predictably Irrational audiobook cover art
  • Predictably Irrational
  • The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions
  • By: Dan Ariely
  • Narrated by: Simon Jones

If you like Freakonomics or Malcom Gladwell...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-17-10

In the vein of Freakonomics or Malcom Gladwell, Ariely applies social sciences to economics with some fascinating conclusions. This book will impact the way you make decisions and how you examine the forces in your life that predictably cause you to behave irrationally.

The reading is superb, if not a bit odd, coming from somebody with a british accent.

I'm a Stranger Here Myself audiobook cover art
  • I'm a Stranger Here Myself
  • Notes on Returning to America After 20 Years Away
  • By: Bill Bryson
  • Narrated by: Bill Bryson

Good, but not Bryson's best

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-22-10

Though his curmudgeon persona is half the fun, this book comes off perhaps a bit too acerbic. If this is your first Bryson pick, go with something else like A Walk In The Woods or Notes From A Small Island.

If not, I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

Kitchen Confidential audiobook cover art

Don't listen to this with your grandma

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-07-10

My only complaint is the severe and many times forced usage of vulgarity. I know this is Bourdain being Bourdain, but much of the time it comes off forced. That being said, this is still an excellent look into the world of the cook, you'll learn a lot and be entertained.

What the Dog Saw audiobook cover art

A Potpourri of Great Pieces

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-07-10

A sort of modge-podge lacking a central theme, this audiobook is still great. Gladwell helps us see the interestingness in everything.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

In a Sunburned Country audiobook cover art

Enlightening and Entertaining.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-13-10

Bryson has an uncanny ability to make you long to go where he's describing. His knack for weaving genuinely interesting and unknown facts into a tale of travel is uncanny. You'll walk away having felt enlightened, and at the same time entertained.

The only complaint I have is that the author doesn't do an Australian accent when quoting Australians. If you're able to put that aside, I think you'll enjoy this. I certainly was able to forgive him.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Outliers audiobook cover art

Eye-Opener

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-01-10

A definite paradigm-changer, Outliers is an excellently read, and well-written study on just what makes success.

SuperFreakonomics audiobook cover art

Levitt and Dubner Do It Again!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-25-10

I must admit that I had high expectations for this book. Thankfully, they were met and exceeded. Aside from dwelling a bit long on the subject of prostitution (pervy much?), this is an engaging and mind-expanding work of thought provoking economics.