LISTENER

Ragna

Phillipsville, CA, United States
  • 18
  • reviews
  • 28
  • helpful votes
  • 282
  • ratings
  • The Bear and the Dragon

  • By: Tom Clancy
  • Narrated by: Michael Prichard
  • Length: 42 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,463
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,042
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,044

Newly elected, Jack Ryan has found that being President is not easy: domestic pitfalls await him at every turn; there's a revolution in Liberia; the Asian economy is going down the tubes; and now, in Moscow, someone may have tried to assassinate the chairman of the SVR - the former KGB - with a rocket-propelled grenade. Were the potential assassins political enemies, the Russian Mafia, or disaffected former KGB? Or is something far more dangerous at work here?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good Clancy Book and Enjoyable Audio

  • By Emil on 03-24-12

So Foul

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-19-15

Clancy writes a great story but this one is so full of foul language and terms like Jap, Chink, etc. that I'm finding it difficult to overlook the ugliness and stay focused on the plot. Disappointed. Even though the plot is good I'm only giving it 3 stars.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Watching You

  • By: Michael Robotham
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 12 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,056
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 970
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 968

Marnie Logan often feels like she's being watched: A warm breath on the back of her neck, or a shadow in the corner of her eye that vanishes when she turns her head. She has reason to be frightened. Her husband Daniel has inexplicably vanished, and the police have no leads in the case. Without proof of death or evidence of foul play, she can't access his bank accounts or his life insurance. Depressed and increasingly desperate, she seeks the help of clinical psychologist Joe O'Loughlin.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Now I'm Hooked!

  • By Charles Atkinson on 04-17-14

Never a disappointment

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-15-15

Robotham is rapidly becoming one of my favorite authors. Do yourself a favor and start the series at the beginning so you can watch the characters develop.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Deeds of the Disturber

  • The Amelia Peabody Series, Book 5
  • By: Elizabeth Peters
  • Narrated by: Susan O'Malley
  • Length: 12 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 258
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 141
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 143

When the body of a night watchman is found sprawled in the shadow of a rare 19th-Dynasty mummy case, panic ensues. For no one doubts that the guard's untimely demise is the work of an ancient Egyptian curse. No one, that is, except that tart-tongued Victorian Egyptologist, Amelia Peabody, whose remarkable talent for criminal investigation has frustrated villains from London to Cairo.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Kept this Amelia Peabody fan happy!

  • By Trish on 07-18-03

Too little and too much

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-15-15

I have enjoyed the Peabody series until now. This is not in Egypt so the atmosphere is missing and WAY too much of the annoying child. Skip this one and move on to others in the series.

  • Up Country

  • By: Nelson DeMille
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 28 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,752
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,511
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,505

In the latest from Nelson DeMille (author of The Lion's Game), Paul Brenner is called out of CID retirement to investigate the murder 30 years ago of an army lieutenant in Vietnam. Brenner's trip up country, with a beautiful American expatriate for company, will lead him to uncover an explosive, long-buried secret.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazing

  • By Graham S. Stafford on 08-26-08

should have been written as non-fiction

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-03-14

Two thirds through with the story and I think DeMille could have just written it as his memoirs and skipped Susan and the "mystery". His Viet Nam scene descriptions make a powerful story on their own and didn't need the extra filler to make is sound like fiction...actually that just distracted from his war experiences. This book and others similar to it about Viet Nam should be required reading by all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Remaining

  • By: D. J. Molles
  • Narrated by: Christian Rummel
  • Length: 8 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 4,798
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,492
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 4,490

In a steel-and-lead-encased bunker 20 feet below the basement level of his house, a soldier waits for his final orders. On the surface, a plague ravages the planet, infecting over 90% of the populace. The bacterium burrows through the brain, destroying all signs of humanity and leaving behind little more than base, prehistoric instincts. The infected turn into hyper-aggressive predators, with an insatiable desire to kill and feed. Someday soon, the soldier will have to open the hatch to his bunker, and step out into this new wasteland, to complete his mission....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Die Hard Meets 28 Days Later

  • By G Wallace on 01-10-14

not worth your time

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-26-14

This is so far from believable as the main guy would make any military person laugh! Slow to start and went no where after it did. Once in a while you buy a dud...don't buy this one like I did.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Airframe

  • By: Michael Crichton
  • Narrated by: Frances Cassidy
  • Length: 11 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,739
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,136
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,139

Airframe is nonstop Crichton: the extraordinary mixture of super suspense and authentic information on a subject of compelling interest that has been a Crichton hallmark since The Andromeda Strain.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Try it, you'll like it.

  • By Robert Solomon on 04-04-03

BORING

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-02-13

If you want a manual on how to build an airplane and don't mind 3 or 4 acronyms in one sentence then this is for you. Very disappointing. 3 hours into it - I returned it. Had to rate the performance a 1 but actually that was the better part of the whole book.

  • Night Fall

  • By: Nelson DeMille
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 14 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,951
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,312
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,306

Five years after the crashof TWA Flight 800, the government has declared it a result of mechanical failure. But John Corey, an ex-NYPD detective who is now a contract agent with the Federal Anti-Terrorist Task Force, is persuaded by Kate Mayfield, his wife and task force partner, that the case deserves a second look.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Addictive mix of fact & intriguing storyline

  • By Ms Discus on 11-28-04

Couldn't put it down

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-25-11

Great story and moved at lightening speed.

I gave a rather harsh review of The Charm School and can't go back to edit it so will comment here. The first third was not good (as mentioned in that review) however, the last 2 sections held my attention and at the end I can say I enjoyed it and am glad I didn't give up on it too early.

  • The Charm School

  • By: Nelson DeMille
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 24 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,287
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,386
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,381

Something very strange -- and sinister -- is going on in the Russian woods at Borodino. In a place called Mrs. Ivanova's Charm School, young KGB agents are being taught by American POW's how to be model citizens of the USA. The Soviet goal -- to infiltrate the United States undetected. When an unsuspecting American tourist stumbles upon this secret, he sets in motion a CIA investigation that will reveal horrifying police state savagery and superpower treachery.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Love to predict plot? Forget it! What a thriller!!

  • By Xavier on 12-05-11

Disappointing

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-20-11

I have the Lion's Game and By the Rivers of Babylon so I was anticipating a fast moving spy story. Now am 1/3 into it and I'm sooooooooo tired of the "romance" that seems to take up hours with only a few minutes here and there of the story that could have been. De Mille should stay away from writing "love stories". He doesn't do it well. I'll probably listen to the whole darn thing as I don't have another credit for 2 weeks but will hesitate before buying another from this author.

  • Dark Harbor

  • By: David Hosp
  • Narrated by: George Guidall
  • Length: 11 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 693
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 404
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 411

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great new author!

  • By Eileen on 10-19-05

not in the same league as Baldacci

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-21-11

Boring, trite and luckily was on sale for $4.95. Don't be taken in on the comparison to Baldacci.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • People of the Book

  • A Novel
  • By: Geraldine Brooks
  • Narrated by: Edwina Wren
  • Length: 13 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,776
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,166
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,156

This ambitious, electrifying work traces the harrowing journey of the famed Sarajevo Haggadah, a beautifully illuminated Hebrew manuscript created in 15th-century Spain.

When it falls to Hanna Heath, an Australian rare-book expert, to conserve this priceless work, the series of tiny artifacts she discovers in its ancient binding - an insect wing fragment, wine stains, salt crystals, a white hair - only begin to unlock its deep mysteries.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazing, fabulous, wonderful!!!

  • By Yvette on 03-13-09

more than awful

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-03-11

Tried listening to this book 2 different times and finally just have to accept I bought a dud. The plot appeared interesting but the author didn't make it work and the reader was soooooooooo bad it was enough for me to give up on People of the Book. Had to give it a 1 to post this rating but it's not even a 1 for the reader.