LISTENER

LB

Seattle, WA USA
  • 8
  • reviews
  • 153
  • helpful votes
  • 40
  • ratings
  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,160
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,012
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,996

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Star Start, Wowed.

  • By green ice cream garden on 06-28-16

wonderful example of the genre

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-09-17

the narrator made this story work. I had been so in the mood for a great British mystery full of red herrings and surprises. This one was excellent.

  • The Girl on the Train

  • A Novel
  • By: Paula Hawkins
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett, Louise Brealey, India Fisher
  • Length: 10 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 130,912
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 115,546
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 115,416

Audie Award, Audiobook of the Year, 2016. Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. "Jess and Jason," she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost. And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good? Compulsively readable, The Girl on the Train is an emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller and an electrifying debut.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • I hated this book!

  • By nikki on 04-11-18

Multiple narrators enhance a strong story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-19-15

The protagonist of this novel is an unlikely and mostly unlikable heroine and yet the writer makes us care. Even my husband enjoyed this one so it is much more than chick lit. Performances by three skilled narrators make it even better.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • All the Light We Cannot See

  • A Novel
  • By: Anthony Doerr
  • Narrated by: Zach Appelman
  • Length: 16 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 43,819
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 39,149
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 39,156

Marie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her way home. When she is 12, the Nazis occupy Paris and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure’s reclusive great-uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum’s most valuable and dangerous jewel.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Afraid to Write a "Less-Than-Positive" Review

  • By Elizabeth on 08-06-14

easily one of the best of this or any year

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-04-15

elegant prose and a timeless story made this an unforgettable book for me. I am listening again just to pick up the subtleties.

  • Creole Belle

  • A Dave Robicheaux Novel, Book 19
  • By: James Lee Burke
  • Narrated by: Will Patton
  • Length: 18 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,397
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,114
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,065

Creole Belle begins where the last book in the Dave Robicheaux series, The Glass Rainbow, ended. Dave is in a recovery unit in New Orleans, where a Creole girl named Tee Jolie Melton visits him and leaves him an iPod with the country blues song “Creole Belle” on it. Then she disappears. Dave becomes obsessed with the song and the memory of Tee Jolie and goes in search of her sister, who later turns up inside a block of ice floating in the Gulf.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Burke & Patton -- Synergistic Phenomenon

  • By Mel on 07-25-12

Dave, I still love you after all these years.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-13-12

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Will Patton's masterful narration drips with the languid grace of hot, steamy days on the bayous of Louisiana. Burke's well tuned prose continues to be a joy. I listened to parts of this book again and again just to catch all the nuances of these finely crafted scenes.

What other book might you compare Creole Belle to and why?

The Light in August by William Faulkner because it gives you such a sense of place and personality.

What about Will Patton’s performance did you like?

It is hard for me to think of a Dave Robicheaux novel and not think of Will Patton as the narrator--a perfect fit!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Shack

  • By: Wm. Paul Young
  • Narrated by: Roger Mueller
  • Length: 8 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 4,553
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 2,165
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,219

Mackenzie Allen Philips' youngest daughter, Missy, has been abducted during a family vacation and evidence that she may have been brutally murdered is found in an abandoned shack deep in the Oregon wilderness. Four years later in the midst of his Great Sadness, Mack receives a suspicious note, apparently from God, inviting him back to that shack for a weekend. Against his better judgment he arrives at the shack on a wintry afternoon and walks back into his darkest nightmare.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • much more than I expected

  • By Renato on 09-05-08

Too much formula, too little originality

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-02-12

What did you like best about The Shack? What did you like least?

The Shack was one of those books that was engaging enough, but the plot manipulations were too obvious and contrived.

What could William P. Young have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

It needed more realistic characters and characterizations. In general, I could not believe in the characters.

  • Light in August

  • By: William Faulkner
  • Narrated by: Will Patton
  • Length: 15 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,535
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,911
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,913

An Oprah's Book Club Selection regarded as one of Faulkner's greatest and most accessible novels, Light in August is a timeless and riveting story of determination, tragedy, and hope. In Faulkner's iconic Yoknapatawpha County, race, sex, and religion collide around three memorable characters searching desperately for human connection and their own identities.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • so large, so powerful, so conflicted

  • By Darwin8u on 09-17-17

Revisiting a masterpiece

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-11-10

I first read this book back in college when it was an assigned reading. I liked it then but in my youth had not yet had the life experiences which made me love it as I did this time with Will Patton's evocative narrative. Since downloading it, I've listened to it twice through and every time I glean new insights on the human condition. The characters still live for me. Great job, Audible!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Legacy of Ashes

  • The History of the CIA
  • By: Tim Weiner
  • Narrated by: Stefan Rudnicki
  • Length: 21 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3,088
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,565
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,554

This is the book the CIA does not want you to read. For the last 60 years, the CIA has maintained a formidable reputation in spite of its terrible record, never disclosing its blunders to the American public. It spun its own truth to the nation while reality lay buried in classified archives. Now, Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times reporter Tim Weiner offers a stunning indictment of the CIA, a deeply flawed organization that has never deserved America's confidence.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Must Read/Listen

  • By Jim on 08-23-07

absolutely chilling

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-19-07

Stephen King, stand aside, the true story of the CIA gave me many more nighmares than your wonderful horror fiction. Truth is stranger than fiction as well as way more frightening!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • World Without End

  • By: Ken Follett
  • Narrated by: John Lee
  • Length: 45 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 15,137
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 9,105
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,115

In 1989 Ken Follett astonished the literary world with The Pillars of the Earth, set in 12th-century England. Readers and listeners ever since have hoped for a sequel. At last, here it is. Although the two novels may be listened to in any order, World Without End also takes place in Kingsbridge, two centuries after the townspeople finished building their exquisite Gothic cathedral. The cathedral is again at the center of a web of love and hate, greed and pride, ambition and revenge.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 40 hours too short ...

  • By Henrik on 11-03-07

a masterwork

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-19-07

I have been a Ken Follett fan since the first time I picked up one of his thrillers and Pillars of the Earth has been one of my favorites. Now I have a new favorite. The richness of the characters as well as the historical detail have me hooked. I am almost done listening and will listen again just to enjoy all the nuances of the richly developed characters.

143 of 150 people found this review helpful