LISTENER

Still Lettos

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 27
  • ratings
  • My Fair Junkie

  • A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean
  • By: Amy Dresner
  • Narrated by: Amy Dresner
  • Length: 7 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 423
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 383
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 381

In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • if you don't read this I'll brandish a bread knife

  • By Jackie Lange on 03-02-18

Well written and performed memoir

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-14-19

Nails it on addiction and offers an honest look at the ups and downs of recovery. Addicts might find this book difficult, as there are explicit descriptions of drug use. What an amazing memoir filled with laugh-out-loud humor and actual gasps of “oh honey no...” moments. Stick around for the ending.

  • The Power of Vulnerability

  • Teachings of Authenticity, Connection, and Courage
  • By: Brené Brown PhD
  • Narrated by: Brené Brown
  • Length: 6 hrs and 30 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 25,562
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 22,751
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 22,489

On The Power of Vulnerability, Dr. Brown offers an invitation and a promise - that when we dare to drop the armor that protects us from feeling vulnerable, we open ourselves to the experiences that bring purpose and meaning to our lives. Here she dispels the cultural myth that vulnerability is weakness and reveals that it is, in truth, our most accurate measure of courage.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The audio makes all the difference.

  • By Sadie on 09-14-13

Life changing. Listening twice.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-21-18

Loved that this was the author speaking (though I didn’t expect to love that). The words of wisdom are so packed with thought-provoking bits that I’m writing this as I’m sitting down to immediately listen again so I can soak it in. Give yourself a chance to absorb this.

  • Girl, Wash Your Face

  • Stop Believing the Lies About Who You Are So You Can Become Who You Were Meant to Be
  • By: Rachel Hollis
  • Narrated by: Rachel Hollis
  • Length: 7 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 41,422
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36,593
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36,407

As the founder of the lifestyle website TheChicSite.com and CEO of her own media company, Rachel Hollis developed an immense online community by sharing tips for better living while fearlessly revealing the messiness of her own life. Now, in this challenging and inspiring new book, Rachel exposes the 20 lies and misconceptions that too often hold us back from living joyfully and productively.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • More for women who are mothers

  • By MeredithNCSU girl on 04-07-18

Stick with this one

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-19-18

I had no idea this was a Christian book, and as an atheist I might not have bought it had I known. But you know what? I’m glad I stuck with it. There are some great nuggets of wisdom in this book, and the author is very relatable (though might not be for some lacking WASPy roots). Give this one a chance.

  • The Antidote

  • Happiness for People Who Can't Stand Positive Thinking
  • By: Oliver Burkeman
  • Narrated by: Oliver Burkeman
  • Length: 6 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,102
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,865
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,858

The Antidote is a series of journeys among people who share a single, surprising way of thinking about life. What they have in common is a hunch about human psychology: that it’s our constant effort to eliminate the negative that causes us to feel so anxious, insecure, and unhappy. And that there is an alternative "negative path" to happiness and success that involves embracing the things we spend our lives trying to avoid.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The Antidote explores the negative path.

  • By Bonny on 05-15-14

Not a condescending self-help book :)

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-11-18

This was exactly what I needed to help me out of a funk. I struggle with negative thinking and this gave me a new perspective.

  • Fear and Other Uninvited Guests

  • Tackling the Anxiety, Fear, and Shame That Keeps Us from Optimal Living
  • By: Harriet Lerner, Ph.D
  • Narrated by: Harriet Lerner
  • Length: 3 hrs and 44 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 94
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 58
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 54

Unhappiness, says best-selling author Harriet Lerner, is fueled by three key emotions: anxiety, fear, and shame. They are the uninvited guests in our lives. When tragedy or hardship hit, they may become our constant companions.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • very insightful and realistic

  • By Marty on 12-27-07

Painful to listen to

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-09-17

While I liked a few thoughts the author had for the 45 minutes I tried this one, this book was completely BRUTAL to listen to. Her voice dips and pauses after every. single. phrase. I can't finish it.

  • We're Going to Need More Wine

  • Stories That Are Funny, Complicated, and True
  • By: Gabrielle Union
  • Narrated by: Gabrielle Union
  • Length: 7 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,053
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 12,640
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,613

In this moving collection of thought-provoking essays infused with her unique wisdom and deep humor, Union tells astonishingly personal and true stories about power, color, gender, feminism, and fame. Union tackles a range of experiences, including bullying, beauty standards and competition between women in Hollywood, growing up in white California suburbia and then spending summers with her black relatives in Nebraska, coping with crushes, puberty, and the divorce of her parents.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 👏🏾👏🏾 thank you. Thank You. THANK YOU!! #BRAVO

  • By Kenneisha Thompson on 11-22-17

One of the best for me this year

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-05-17

Everything about this book is so honest and raw, and very often left me nodding: me too (no way, someone else thinks or feels that way?!). I gained a deeper appreciation that I'm regretful to say I don't think I had for the difficulties Gabrielle Union faces as a black woman in America. It's like, I didn't realize how ignorant I was until I read her story. I'm a good liberal woman, of course I'm not like...racist...right? But truly, I think this book brought me to hear some internal dialogue of a black woman that I have missed in my life so far. I loved loved loved this book.

  • Missoula

  • Rape and the Justice System in a College Town
  • By: Jon Krakauer
  • Narrated by: Mozhan Marno, Scott Brick
  • Length: 11 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,693
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,296
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,279

From best-selling author Jon Krakauer, a stark, powerful, meticulously reported narrative about a series of sexual assaults at the University of Montana - stories that illuminate the human drama behind the national plague of campus rape.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Without Consent

  • By Cynthia on 05-02-15

Important topic but drawn out

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-15-16

While a very important topic, the stories became long winded and repetitive within each story. You should know that the acts of rape see described vividly and repeatedly. Great performance.

  • Dreamland

  • The True Tale of America's Opiate Epidemic
  • By: Sam Quinones
  • Narrated by: Neil Hellegers
  • Length: 13 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,298
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,918
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,905

In 1929, in the blue-collar city of Portsmouth, Ohio, a company built a swimming pool the size of a football field; named Dreamland, it became the vital center of the community. Now, addiction has devastated Portsmouth, as it has hundreds of small rural towns and suburbs across America - addiction like no other the country has ever faced. How that happened is the riveting story of Dreamland.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • American Nightmare that is Necessary Reading

  • By Mel on 05-09-15

Not concise at all

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-20-15

While I really liked this book, it could easily be shortened by half. The content is somewhat repetitive, with some of the same storylines and points being made over and over. Still, I learned a lot (I already had a firm grasp on the topic) and I was somewhat entertained on my commute. I'd recommend it, but if you zone out for a bit, you're not missing content that won't be repeated.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful