LISTENER

Em86

Norman, OK
  • 9
  • reviews
  • 26
  • helpful votes
  • 103
  • ratings
  • Scientific Secrets for Self-Control

  • By: C. Nathan DeWall, The Great Courses
  • Narrated by: C. Nathan DeWall
  • Length: 3 hrs and 1 min
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,251
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,053
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,033

Join an expert in self-control research for six engaging and inspirational lessons that shatter the myths about willpower and replace them with verifiable science that can make the seemingly unattainable finally possible. Packed with eye-opening studies, experiments, and exercises to strengthen your self-control when dealing with money, fitness, personal relationships, and more, this course will have you wondering why you ever doubted yourself.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Don't skimp on this one

  • By DaemonZeiro on 07-11-13

Very good and provided good exercises.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-06-18

This was an informative training about the basics of self-control. It detailed how to build self control and be mindful of triggers.

  • Big Little Lies

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 15 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 47,012
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 42,266
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 42,188

Madeline is a force to be reckoned with. She’s funny, biting, and passionate; she remembers everything and forgives no one. Celeste is the kind of beautiful woman who makes the world stop and stare, but she is paying a price for the illusion of perfection. New to town, single mom Jane is so young that another mother mistakes her for a nanny. She comes with a mysterious past and a sadness beyond her years. These three women are at different crossroads, but they will all wind up in the same shocking place.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Oh, Calamity!

  • By L. O. Pardue on 10-07-14

Good book

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-03-16

This was a very good book. The narrator was excellent. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because it starts a little slow. Otherwise the plot was good. This book also provides and accurate look into the world of domestic violence and it's far reaching impact.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Life We Bury

  • By: Allen Eskens
  • Narrated by: Zach Villa
  • Length: 8 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45,331
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 41,476
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 41,389

College student Joe Talbert has the modest goal of completing a writing assignment for an English class. His task is to interview a stranger and write a brief biography of the person. With deadlines looming, Joe heads to a nearby nursing home to find a willing subject. There he meets Carl Iverson, and soon nothing in Joe's life is ever the same. Carl is a dying Vietnam veteran-and a convicted murderer. With only a few months to live, he has been medically paroled to a nursing home after spending thirty years in prison for the crimes of rape and murder.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good listen!

  • By Lori on 12-14-15

Fantastic Thriller

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-21-16

This was a real page-turner - for lack of a better term. The plot was great and never really slowed. If you like a murder mystery and want a family story line too; this is the book for you.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Book 1

  • By: J.K. Rowling
  • Narrated by: Jim Dale
  • Length: 8 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 82,867
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 75,270
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 75,218

Harry Potter has never even heard of Hogwarts when the letters start dropping on the doormat at number four, Privet Drive. Addressed in green ink on yellowish parchment with a purple seal, they are swiftly confiscated by his grisly aunt and uncle. Then, on Harry's eleventh birthday, a great beetle-eyed giant of a man called Rubeus Hagrid bursts in with some astonishing news: Harry Potter is a wizard, and he has a place at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. An incredible adventure is about to begin!

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • My Sad, Sad Confession…

  • By Mike L Lane on 08-08-17

Still one of my favorites

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-17-16

Jim Dale is one the best narrators out there. He masterfully brings each character to life. This series is the one I turn to time and again to escape. Each time I listen to or read the books, I hear something new.

  • Blue Moon Rising

  • Forest Kingdom, Book 1
  • By: Simon R. Green
  • Narrated by: John Keating
  • Length: 19 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 555
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 503
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 503

Rupert didn't especially want to be a prince. And he certainly never asked to be the second son of a royal line that really didn't need a spare. So he was sent out to slay a dragon and prove himself - a quest straight out of legend. But he also discovered the kinds of things legends tend to leave out, as well as the usual demons, goblins, the dreaded Night Witch - and even worse terrors hidden in the shadows of Darkwood. Rupert did find a fiery dragon - and a beautiful princess to rescue.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Do your self a favor by this book

  • By dave on 05-28-14

Solid book

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-28-16

The book is a little slow moving, but overall a good plot line. The narrator does a good job of bringing each character to life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Furiously Happy

  • A Funny Book About Horrible Things
  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,175
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,375
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,353

Audie Award, Humor, 2016. In Furiously Happy, number-one New York Times best-selling author Jenny Lawson explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. But terrible ideas are what Jenny does best.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Small doses.

  • By Shawna on 10-18-15

Fantastic book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-27-15

This book is a wonderful insight into living with mental illness. It is witty and full of humor and hope. Yes, this book delves into the dark side of depression but offers help and light. I also enjoyed listening to the author read this book. It makes it even better.

25 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened

  • A Mostly True Memoir
  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,794
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,263
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6,258

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

A fantastic book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-10-15

I laughed quite a bit through this book. It was well written and well read. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a fun heartwarming glimpse into one woman's life.

  • The Art of War

  • By: Sun Tzu
  • Narrated by: Aidan Gillen
  • Length: 1 hr and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,617
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,339
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,216

The 13 chapters of The Art of War, each devoted to one aspect of warfare, were compiled by the high-ranking Chinese military general, strategist, and philosopher Sun-Tzu. In spite of its battlefield specificity, The Art of War has found new life in the modern age, with leaders in fields as wide and far-reaching as world politics, human psychology, and corporate strategy finding valuable insight in its timeworn words.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Aidan Gillen needs to narrate more books

  • By Angelina PM on 04-14-15

Good reading of a classic

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-16-15

Great book even for those just looking for sown direction. The narrator is very good and maintains a good tone and timing throughout.

  • Unbroken

  • A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption
  • By: Laura Hillenbrand
  • Narrated by: Edward Herrmann
  • Length: 13 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 41,738
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 34,367
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 34,441

Why we think it’s a great listen: Seabiscuit was a runaway success, and Hillenbrand’s done it again with another true-life account about beating unbelievable odds. On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared.... 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Indescribable

  • By Janice on 12-01-10

Fantastic story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-31-15

An excellent story of the endurance of the human spirit. This was a great book.