LISTENER

Stephen Larson

  • 2
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 2
  • ratings

Strong fantasy world brought to life

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-05-18

Wayne Thomas Batson has definitely improved as a writer. His prose is more colorful, his world building deeper, his characters more relatable, and his stories more original than his earliest stories. This book follows the Sword in the Stars and raises the stakes in a way that grips you and keeps you invested, even while you follow multiple story arcs to a cliff-hanger conclusion. There were a couple of brief instances where I felt like the allegorical elements were a little too forced, but the book overall does not suffer form this flaw. The world of the Myrdian Constellation is fascinating and well put together. Dave Cruse brought all of it to life in a fantastic way in audio form. He does Cythraul and Morlan, the chief villains, with particular skill, and also brings a variety of accents to the table. If you enjoy fantasy novels in the vein of Brandon Sanderson, L.B Graham, and otheres like them, you will enjoy this book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Excellent book, convincing reader.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-04-18

I've always been a fan of Wayne Thomas Batson's writing, but honestly, I wasn't expecting this book to be quite this high caliber. This is Batson's best work of fantasy yet, and wets my appetite for the next book in the series. First of all, the reader for the audiobook, Dave Cruse, does a fantastic job. His voice and accents are convincing and bring the story to life in a way not every audiobook reader can. I especially enjoyed the voices he did for the book's villains. Secondly, Batson combines a unique structure and excellent foreshadowing with a strong foundation of world building absolutely worthy of an epic fantasy series. Tolkien and Sanderson are two of the master world builders I have read, the Batson certainly gets close to these masters with this book. Thirdly, I loved the characters and action sequences in this book. The Sword in the Stars keeps you on the edge of your seat by switching views from character to character, and crisis point to crisis point. Alastair, Aravel, Cythraul, Morlan...the characters are all believably attractive, fascinating, or repellant in their respective roles. Finally, no story is complete without a compelling and effective plot to hold it together. The Sword in the Stars manages to call on some of the best of Batson's previous books, while adding unique but attainable twists to the fantasy genre. Fans of Tolkien, Lewis, Alexander, Sanderson, or L.B Graham should enjoy this book.