LISTENER

Amazon Customer

  • 4
  • reviews
  • 27
  • helpful votes
  • 11
  • ratings
  • 5K Training

  • By: Aaptiv
  • Narrated by: Rochelle Moncourtois-Baxter
  • Length: 8 hrs and 8 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 21
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 22

20 audio-guided workouts. Train for a 5K with certified personal trainer and Ironman triathlete Rochelle Moncourtois-Baxter.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Pretty solid program

  • By Melissa on 09-19-18

Just finished my first 5k!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-13-18

Running isn't quite an activity I'd ever thought was necessary unless maybe to get away from zombies or for ice cream (read: complete running novice). But I signed up for a 5k a few months ago to try something "new" and was looking for something to help me train. I saw this for free in audible and gave it a shot on the treadmill (in case you didn't get the inference earlier, running isn't really something I am capable of. It normaly took me 15 minutes to complete a mile on the treadmill).

I have to say, the music and the coach on this audible is pretty amazing for motivation and taught me a lot about form and perseverance. The music is more of a background rhythm to zone out to. It provides me with what I need to get me back in my sneakers to train; I needed to feel like I had someone else who is suffe- I mean running alongside with me, while also providing reminders on form and breathing. It was also helpful because I learned that form was a big reason for why I didn't enjoy running in the first place. I do wish the recordings we're long (for some of us slower runners).

Overall, dear reader, I did complete my first 5k today in 39 minutes (please, you don't have to clap) and didn't collapse at the end. I didn't even stop running. I kept going even when hoardes of small children and other shuffling runners ran past me. But I did it and had fun and didn't get trampled on or die.

Give this audiobook a chance and you too will also learn that, while you might not be the fastest runner, you will definitely be the faster than the walkers. You know. In case of the zombies.

16 of 28 people found this review helpful

  • An Enchantment of Ravens

  • By: Margaret Rogerson
  • Narrated by: Julia Whelan
  • Length: 8 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 413
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 385
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 385

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron - Rook, the autumn prince - she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes - a weakness that could cost him his life.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • For fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black

  • By TNH on 12-20-17

felt empty and landed flat

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-18-17

I originally bought this book because of the preview and I wanted to know more about the character. However, it was difficult to get through and the main character was tedious at times by trying to "not be like other teenage girls" while still swooning and not doing much that would make a protagonist fall in love.

Overall, the book felt like it lacked more world building and character development/character. I couldn't connect with the hero who felt very flat. While I enjoy a good fairy fantasy, and the premise for describing faries as something outside of the norm, I would have enjoyed a richer story development.

Story overall was at least well written and had a good premise.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Court of Nightfall

  • Nightfall Chronicles #1
  • By: Karpov Kinrade
  • Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
  • Length: 12 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 172
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 159
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 158

You think you know what is right and what is wrong? Then tell me if this man should die. He is my enemy. He is to be my end. He is the one I love. I have spent my life in shades of gray. I have died and returned to a world of color. I have fought an angel and lived. I have kissed the Prince of Ravens. I have faced the Lord of Night and made him kneel. I was accepted into the Four Orders, and I created the fifth. I freed the Shadow of Rome. I sat upon the Twilight Throne.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • From the beginning

  • By Amazon Customer on 08-21-18

so much promise

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-06-16

This book was a true struggle. I'm not quite sure how it received such high reviews, as the story line is difficult to believe.

What mainly makes it difficult to believe is the dialogue and action of the characters, they simply feel too old for the child/teen they are portraying. Aside from the visible effort of the narrator, the characters do not feel distinct and the entire story plot feels pieced together from previously successful books. The world building and lore are also difficult to follow, as it takes some "history" but feels as if it is missing greater parts.

Overall, this book had the premise of being amazing, but lacked a foundation to build upon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A Court of Mist and Fury

  • By: Sarah J. Maas
  • Narrated by: Jennifer Ikeda
  • Length: 23 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 7,285
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 6,695
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 6,696

Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court - but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people. Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms - and she might be key to stopping it.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Shippers will either Love it or Hate it

  • By Natalie C on 05-05-16

great story, ok performance

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-26-16

Personal opinion of the story:
Story was typical of Sarah Maas, intriguing with layers that make the characters familiar and lovable. She builds the world and plot so well that I had to read it once, then listen again because it went by so fast (oh the feels!). the action scenes are pretty awesome.

Opinion of audiobook performance:
The narrative alone felt a bit lacking, as the characters sounded very similar to one another, and at times lacked the passion and nuances that I felt while reading the book.... she somehow was able to make a really good read boring at times.

Adult content warning:
I will say though -adult content warning- this book is has more mature language/slightly graphic material than Maas' previous books. The scenes are fairly tastefully done, but parents should be aware of these things before purchasing, because at times it can come off as a romance novel. However, due to the language and sex scenes, it felt a bit unbalanced, as if it was trying to be more mature, but at the same time hold onto the teen genre, which made the voice of characters sound confused in some areas (I.e., throne of glass has greater consistency in story content and character building).

Ultimately, I love the book and Maas and this is a keeper for the collection. I suggest reading it before listening to the audiobook, because a once over is not sufficient.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful