LISTENER

Rayne

  • 3
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 19
  • ratings
  • The Night Olivia Fell

  • By: Christina McDonald
  • Narrated by: Kelly Burke, Laurel Lefkow
  • Length: 10 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 191
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 174
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 172

In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain-dead. And pregnant. 

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Unfulfilled potential

  • By RueRue on 02-12-19

Excellent read!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-09-19

I don’t give 5 star reviews. Ever. There’s no such thing as a perfect book, but this one delivers on so many levels. The characters are likable and well-developed, and the story is absolutely heart wrenching. I loved it from start to finish, and the ending left me in tears. it’s not a classic thriller or mystery, although it has those elements. It reminded me of Mindy Mejia’s “Everything You Want Me to Be,” which is also an excellent book. Like Mejia, Christina McDonald is a skillful writer and story teller. So much so that figuring out “who done it” takes a back seat to the richness of the characters’ lives and stories. I highly recommend this book.

  • Behind Her Eyes

  • A Novel
  • By: Sarah Pinborough
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck, Josie Dunn, Bea Holland, and others
  • Length: 11 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,047
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,972
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 12,975

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar, and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she's thrilled she finally connected with someone. When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar...who says the kiss was a terrible mistake but who still can't keep his eyes off Louise.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • What the heck...

  • By Allyssa R. on 06-16-17

Cool concept, but slow paced

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-05-19

I like books to move faster than this one did. It wasn’t a page turner, and it wasn’t hard to put down. I’m fine with the premise (I know other readers were put off by it), it was actually a cool idea. But again, the snail’s pace kind of ruined it for me.

  • Vanishing Girls

  • Detective Josie Quinn
  • By: Lisa Regan
  • Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
  • Length: 11 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 688
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 603
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 603

Everyone in the small town of Denton is searching for Isabelle Coleman, a missing 17-year-old girl. All they've found so far is her phone and another girl they didn't even know was missing. Mute and completely unresponsive to the world around her, it's clear this mysterious girl has been damaged beyond repair. All Detective Josie Quinn can get from her is a name: Ramona. Currently suspended from the force for misconduct, Josie takes matters into her own hands as the name leads her to evidence linking the two girls.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great storyline, awful narrator

  • By D.Gettys on 12-24-18

The story is fantastic, but the narrator ruins it

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-11-18

In addition to making the characters sound hostile and condescending during every single dialogue exchange, the narrator also mispronunces every other word. I did some research and discovered she is Scottish, but she (unsuccessfully) attempts an American accent in this series. I would have preferred she just read it in her normal voice, because listening to her butcher word after word is painful. She is unable to correctly say simple words like “been, “record,” and “saltine.” I recommend just reading this on kindle, because it truly is a great story.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful