LISTENER

Amazon Customer

  • 9
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 12
  • ratings
  • A River in Darkness

  • One Man's Escape from North Korea
  • By: Masaji Ishikawa, Risa Kobayashi - translator, Martin Brown - translator
  • Narrated by: Brian Nishii
  • Length: 5 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,605
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,372
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,369

Half-Korean, half-Japanese, Masaji Ishikawa has spent his whole life feeling like a man without a country. This feeling only deepened when his family moved from Japan to North Korea when Ishikawa was just 13 years old. His father, himself a Korean national, was lured to the new Communist country by false promises of abundant work and a higher station in society. In this memoir translated from the original Japanese, Ishikawa candidly recounts his tumultuous upbringing and the brutal 36 years he spent living under a crushing totalitarian regime.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Heartbreaking

  • By C. F. Gagnon on 05-31-18

Would love a follow-up...

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-12-18

I thought I knew a little about the living conditions for most people in North Korea, but this book was a real eye opener. Being so desperate as to boiling pine bark, knowing the deadly risk if not boiled enough to remove the toxins, and still having gastric distress upon consumption, broke my heart.
I’m left with so many questions though, and wish Mr. Ishikawa could be on 20/20 or 60 minutes to answer some of them. Wouldn’t Mr. Ishikawa’s family be punished or executed for his escape? How did he think he would be able to send food aid or rescue to his family once safely on home soil?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Three

  • A Novel
  • By: Sarah Lotz
  • Narrated by: Andrew Wincott, Melanie McHugh
  • Length: 13 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 208
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 180
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 183

The world is stunned when four commuter planes crash within hours of each other on different continents. Facing global panic, officials are under pressure to find the causes. With terrorist attacks and environmental factors ruled out, there doesn't appear to be a correlation between the crashes, except that in three of the four air disasters a child survivor is found in the wreckage.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Meh

  • By Daniel on 06-05-14

When does it all come together?

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-12-17

By the time I realized I wasn’t actually enjoying this book, I had too much time invested to quit...

  • Before We Were Yours

  • A Novel
  • By: Lisa Wingate
  • Narrated by: Emily Rankin, Catherine Taber
  • Length: 14 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 41,603
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 37,902
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 37,761

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge - until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents - but they quickly realize the dark truth.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I was rivetted, finished in three days.

  • By Lin Cloward on 06-26-17

Outsatanding

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-14-17

Never has a book kept my mind swept with vivid imaginings of the shanty boat life on the Mississippi!
One of the best books I've ever read...

  • Come Sundown

  • By: Nora Roberts
  • Narrated by: Elisabeth Rodgers
  • Length: 17 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,817
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,839
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,799

The Bodine ranch and resort in western Montana is a family business, an idyllic spot for vacationers. A little over thirty thousand acres and home to four generations, it's kept running by Bodine Longbow with the help of a large staff, including new hire Callen Skinner. There was another member of the family once: Bodine's aunt, Alice, who ran off before Bodine was born. She never returned, and the Longbows don't talk about her much. The younger ones, who never met her, quietly presume she's dead.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Heart-rending story... good overcomes misogyny

  • By Sher on 06-15-17

Loved it!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-30-17

Being a "flat lander" I loved reading about ranch life...I think I need to book a trip to a dude ranch. The author does a wonderful job with vivid description.
And then there's the thriller part...wow! Graphic and mind bending...kept me on the edge of my seat.
One teeny complaint...the romantic parts were corny.
Overall, it was fantastic!

  • My Husband's Wife

  • A Novel
  • By: Jane Corry
  • Narrated by: Rosalyn Landor
  • Length: 13 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 5,990
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 5,448
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,446

For fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door comes an addictive psychological thriller that's already an international sensation. When young lawyer Lily marries Ed, she's determined to make a fresh start. To leave the secrets of the past behind. But then she takes on her first murder case and meets Joe. A convicted murderer whom Lily is strangely drawn to. For whom she will soon be willing to risk almost anything.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • weak

  • By Jen Irish on 09-16-17

Disappointed...

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-17-17

If you like areas of gray (Not Shades of Gray!) then you'll like this book. The characters and whole plot were:
Not right...but not wrong, marital commitment....but kind of not, quite heartless...but maybe not so much, great conscience....really?
I like a book with strongly developed characters; twists and turns in the story are fine, but not twists and turns in the characters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Try Not to Breathe

  • A Novel
  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Elizabeth Knowelden, Katharine McEwan
  • Length: 11 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,384
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,107
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,104

Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down. Every day is treading water, every night is drowning. Until Alex discovers Amy Stevenson. Amy Stevenson, who was just another girl from a nearby town until the day she was found unconscious after a merciless assault.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Couldn't stop listening

  • By Kathleen Ammon on 02-28-16

Could not put it down!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-03-16

I loved the tragedy and triumph of both the main characters, and the parallels in their very different lives.
Very well written, great suspenseful plot, excellent character development, and fantastic narration!

  • Sleep Tight

  • By: Anne Frasier
  • Narrated by: Hollis McCarthy
  • Length: 11 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,090
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,001
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 996

FBI agent Mary Cantrell has been called to Minneapolis to hunt down a killer. It's shaking her to the core, and reviving dreadful memories. Years ago, her best friend was murdered. Now the man convicted of the crime, Gavin Hitchcock, is free, and Mary's own sister Gillian, a local cop, has befriended him. As each clue leads them closer to Hitchcock, Mary and Gillian set themselves up as the perfect target - and the perfect trap.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great except for the Narration

  • By Keith on 10-19-16

Great story...narration awful!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-25-16

I really enjoyed this book, and I hate to criticize, but the narrator's cadence almost drove me crazy. I think it's worth mentioning because it took away from the overall experience.
Great plot though...

  • No One Knows

  • By: J. T. Ellison
  • Narrated by: Teri Schnaubelt, Nick Podehl
  • Length: 12 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 5,718
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 5,098
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,086

The day Aubrey Hamilton's husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn't want to move on. She just wants Josh back. It's been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage - they were happy, weren't they? - screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Crazy bad plot

  • By clifford on 04-07-16

71 chapters that could have been 20!

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-25-16

This book was so redundant and confusing. The story made no sense...and the epilogue did a poor job tying up the loose ends.
Sorry for the poor review, but as a huge fan of psychological thrillers, I was disappointed.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Behind Closed Doors

  • By: B. A. Paris
  • Narrated by: Georgia Maguire
  • Length: 8 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 42,699
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 38,729
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 38,680

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth; she has charm and elegance. He's a dedicated attorney who has never lost a case; she is a flawless homemaker, a masterful gardener and cook, and dotes on her disabled younger sister. Though they are still newlyweds, they seem to have it all. You might not want to like them, but you do. You're hopelessly charmed by the ease and comfort of their home, by the graciousness of the dinner parties they throw. You’d like to get to know Grace better.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Slow start but a gripping experience

  • By Vanessa Arizona on 09-04-16

Terrifying!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-19-16

To say this book is a psychological thriller is an understatement! It grabs your attention from the first page...I actually felt the main character's frustration and fear.
While the book is disturbing, I highly recommend it.