LISTENER

Jackie Lange

Ventura, CA
  • 1
  • review
  • 8
  • helpful votes
  • 7
  • ratings
  • My Fair Junkie

  • A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean
  • By: Amy Dresner
  • Narrated by: Amy Dresner
  • Length: 7 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 425
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 385
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 383

In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • if you don't read this I'll brandish a bread knife

  • By Jackie Lange on 03-02-18

if you don't read this I'll brandish a bread knife

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-02-18

I have never written a review for a book before but felt like I had to for Amy. This book is incredible. if you have any toe into addiction or sobriety in anyway, be it you or family/friends family members this is a must read. addiction is so layered, mental illiness is real, addiction can happen to anyone. People that suffer need compassion, need understanding, need help. No one is immune. she helps to show that addiction shows no discrimination, that mental health is really a serious thing that we should address and you will love her and root for her as much as your own best friend. Amy thank you. you're a gorgeous human being. and so real. thank you for showing me I can be real. I can be ME.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful