LISTENER

Scott

Tallahassee, Fl, United States
  • 6
  • reviews
  • 44
  • helpful votes
  • 22
  • ratings
  • The Fourth Monkey

  • By: J. D. Barker
  • Narrated by: Edoardo Ballerini, Graham Winton
  • Length: 12 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,872
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,609
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,600

Se7en meets The Silence of the Lambs in this dark and twisting novel from the author Jeffery Deaver called "a talented writer with a delightfully devious mind". For over five years, the Four Monkey Killer has terrorized the residents of Chicago. When his body is found, the police quickly realize he was on his way to deliver one final message, one that proves he has taken another victim, who may still be alive.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Twisted Knives And Killer Humor

  • By Charles Atkinson on 08-15-17

Not Worth a Credit

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-13-17

The story itself is pretty good but the quality of the writing does not live up to the story. There were several issues with the writing. First off, the author makes the detectives sound so dumb except for the lead detective. It's just unbelievable. Also the initial lack of urgency of finding the kidnapped girl is ridiculous. The detectives are standing around drinking coffee taking their time to pull a team together knowing the clock was ticking. Another issue I found annoying was the kid represented in the diary is written as if he is an adult in many instances. You have a kid like voice narrating and language and action of what is supposed to be a kid/young teenager, but it really is wriiten as an adult. It did not come off as credible. verisimilitude is lacking. And the whole "My Three sons" PC talk was nauseating.

28 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,133
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,985
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,969

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Star Start, Wowed.

  • By green ice cream garden on 06-28-16

Not worth using a credit

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-27-16

Would you try another book from David Jackson and/or Jonathan Keeble?

Don't think so

Has A Tapping at My Door turned you off from other books in this genre?

no, genre is great, this particular story was weak.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

done the female voices better. He sounded like he should have been on monty python

Any additional comments?

Story was weak. The narrator is certainly an excellent actor with a beautiful British accent, but the female voices were a stretch. And not his fault, but the story went from first person to third person.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • The Energy Bus

  • 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy
  • By: Jon Gordon
  • Narrated by: Jon Gordon
  • Length: 2 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,699
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,998
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,982

In the mode of other best selling business fables The Energy Bus, takes listeners on an enlightening and inspiring ride that reveals 10 secrets for approaching life and work with the kind of positive, forward thinking that leads to true accomplishment - at work and at home. Everyone faces challenges. And every person, organization, company and team will have to overcome negativity and adversity to define themselves and create their success.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Simple but Profound

  • By Amazon Customer on 03-10-17

Weak

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-10-15

Has The Energy Bus turned you off from other books in this genre?

No

How did the narrator detract from the book?

Nasal voice. At times it sounded like he was reading a children's book.

Any additional comments?

The concepts are sound, I got something from it but the story is weak. At times it sounds like it's written for children and the narration matches that childish like writing that sounded goofy at times.

  • Seven for a Secret

  • By: Lyndsay Faye
  • Narrated by: Steven Boyer
  • Length: 14 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 338
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 316
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 316

From Edgar-nominated author Lyndsay Faye comes the next book in what Gillian Flynn calls, "a brilliant new mystery series." Six months after the formation of the NYPD, its most reluctant and talented officer, Timothy Wilde, thinks himself well versed in his city's dark practices - until he learns of the gruesome underworld of lies and corruption ruled by the "blackbirders," who snatch free Northerners of color from their homes, masquerade them as slaves, and sell them South to toil as plantation property. The abolitionist Timothy is horrified by these traders in human flesh.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A Solid Sequel to Gods of Gotham

  • By Amy on 09-27-13

Could not put it down!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-02-14

What made the experience of listening to Seven for a Secret the most enjoyable?

Fantastic writing and great narration

What other book might you compare Seven for a Secret to and why?

Gods of Gotham, prequel

What does Steven Boyer bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

passion and great acting voice.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The whole story was terrific

Any additional comments?

I have read all three books by Lindsay Faye, and will read anything else she writes. She is a very talented writer, with a passion and amazing capacity for researching for her material.I'm hooked!

  • Still Life with Crows

  • A Novel
  • By: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 16 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,762
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,296
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,284

For the first time in unabridged audio! A small Kansas town has turned into a killing ground. Is it a serial killer, a man with the need to destroy? Or is it a darker force, a curse upon the land? Amid golden cornfields, FBI Special Agent Pendergast discovers evil in the blood of America's heart.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • SCARY, WEIRD, ENGAGING

  • By Polly on 11-05-12

Didn't want to Turn my phone/player off!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-18-12

Would you consider the audio edition of Still Life with Crows to be better than the print version?

Perhaps, Scott Brick had done a phenomenal job narrating this story. The accents and pentameter really help visualize the characters and really put you there.

What other book might you compare Still Life with Crows to and why?

Don't know of any. I haven't read Lincoln Child's other books yet.

What does Scott Brick bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Scott plays the characters so well, differentiating the characters voices, accents, and pentameter. All this to the point that I don't think I can listen to another Pendegast story without Scott Brick narrating it!

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Nothing overly emotional, just that I'm hooked on the Pendegast character.

Any additional comments?

This story is very well written and narrated. It's got a nice balance of mystery, history, and sci-fi. I think the Pendegast character is sooo cool!

  • New Europe

  • By: Michael Palin
  • Narrated by: Michael Palin
  • Length: 6 hrs and 54 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 80
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 21
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 21

In his latest voyage of discovery, Michael Palin reads his own account of a journey into a "new" Europe. He starts with a simple idea: that only a couple of hours from home is a half of Europe that is for him as unknown and unexplored as the plateau of Tibet or the vastness of the Sahara.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Facinating Eastern Europe

  • By Scott on 12-31-07

Facinating Eastern Europe

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-31-07

This is a great read. Who knew that Palin is such a great writer? The narrator is excellent too. A very pleasantly spoken brit, makes this book even more enjoyable and engaging. This is not a book about what to do and where to go and how to do it, rather, Palin's well told stories and encounters as he travels the ever changing landscape of Eastern Europe. It really makes you want to be there with him, or at least visit many of the places he writes about.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful