LISTENER

Anat G

  • 4
  • reviews
  • 71
  • helpful votes
  • 31
  • ratings
  • Jane Doe

  • A Novel
  • By: Victoria Helen Stone
  • Narrated by: Nicol Zanzarella
  • Length: 7 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,949
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,699
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,690

Jane’s days at a Midwest insurance company are perfectly ordinary. She blends in well, unremarkably pretty and extra efficient. She’s just the kind of woman middle manager Steven Hepsworth likes - meek, insecure, and willing to defer to a man. No one has any idea who Jane really is. Least of all Steven. But plain Jane is hiding something. Nothing can distract Jane from going straight for his heart: allowing herself to be seduced into Steven’s bed, to insinuate herself into his career and his family, and to expose all his dirty secrets. So she can take it all away. Just as he did to her.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Vengeance & Retribution!!!!

  • By shelley on 08-07-18

Worst book EVER!

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-05-19

This was pure garbage. Just a lame excuse for writing about sex. Weak and unbelievable plot. Really, don't waste your credit on this one.

66 of 78 people found this review helpful

  • The Woman in the Window

  • A Novel
  • By: A. J. Finn
  • Narrated by: Ann Marie Lee
  • Length: 13 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 21,595
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 19,855
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 19,799

Anna Fox lives alone - a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times...and spying on her neighbors. Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble. And its shocking secrets are laid bare.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • An excruciating listen.

  • By Debra on 01-12-18

SOOooo Slow!

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-22-18

The. Most.Boring.Book.Of.The.Century.
I just could not finish it. I almost got to the end and gave up. The book was 13 hours of agony. For this kind of story the author could have spared us at least 6 hours. The point is that it was well written, the performance of the reader was great and somehow saved the book most of the time, but the story was just too slow. There is absolutely no suspense and I did not care for the main character. I don't understand how this book got 4 stars.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 34
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 33
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 32

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. I'm in a coma. My husband doesn't love me anymore. Sometimes I lie." Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • What a mess!

  • By Anat G on 12-05-17

What a mess!

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-05-17

Not a big fan of “then” and “now” novels. Too many time/space jumps. Overall a big mess, could have ended better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Le streghe

  • By: Roald Dahl
  • Narrated by: Bruno Alessandro
  • Length: 3 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 10

Un racconto inquietante che vi farà sapere chi sono le vere streghe. Non quelle delle fiabe, sempre scarmigliate e a cavallo di una scopa, ma quelle elegantissime, somiglianti a certe signore che probabilmente già conoscete. Come fare a individuarle? Bisogna stare attenti a chi porta sempre i guanti, a chi si gratta la testa, a chi si toglie le scarpe a punta sotto il tavolo e a chi ha dei denti azzurrini, perché tutto ciò serve a nascondere gli artigli, i crani calvi, i piedi quadrati, la saliva blu mirtillo: tutti i segni distintivi delle vere streghe. Sapendo questo potete evitare di venir trasformarti in topi.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Bellissimo!

  • By Anat G on 10-19-16

Bellissimo!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-19-16

Il narratore ha fatto un ottimo lavoro! Bravissimo! Mi ha fatto tornare bambina, lo consiglio :)