LISTENER

Lisa

Brooklyn, NY, United States
  • 7
  • reviews
  • 26
  • helpful votes
  • 11
  • ratings
  • The Crystal Shard

  • Legend of Drizzt: Icewind Dale Trilogy, Book 1
  • By: R. A. Salvatore
  • Narrated by: Victor Bevine
  • Length: 12 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,774
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,450
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,448

Drizzt Do’Urden has settled in the windswept towns of Icewind Dale. There, he encounters a young barbarian named Wulfgar, captured in a raid and made the ward of a grizzled dwarf name Bruenor. With Drizzt’s help, Wulfgar will grow from a feral child to a man with the heart of a dwarf, the instincts of a savage, and the soul of a hero. But it will take even more than that to defeat the demonic power of Crenshininbon, the fabled Crystal Shard.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • great book

  • By Mark on 06-13-13

Basis D&D Encounters: Legacy of the Crystal Shard

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-06-14

Would you recommend The Crystal Shard to your friends? Why or why not?

Only if they were trying to brush up on their D&D lore knowledge. R. A. Salvatore is obviously their heavy-hitter for D&D books, but in this example, there isn't a lot of interesting emotional flavors or tones.

Any additional comments?

This book is the basis for D&D Encounters: Legacy of the Crystal Shard Game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Adversary

  • Forgotten Realms: The Sundering, Book III
  • By: Erin M. Evans
  • Narrated by: Dina Pearlman
  • Length: 19 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 465
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 442
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 443

As the chaos of the Sundering rages around her, young warlock Farideh faces a more personal turmoil wrought by a deal she made with a devil years ago. Hoping to protect her twin sister, she leaves everything she holds dear to assist a wizard in a scheme that pits the devils of the Nine Hells against the gods above.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Two Series, One Book

  • By Lisa on 12-28-13

Two Series, One Book

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-28-13

Any additional comments?

This book is the third book in two separate series. It is the third book of The Sundering Series, and the third book in the story of Farideh, Erin M. Evans' premier character. You do not need to listen to the first two books in The Sundering Series in order to enjoy this book -- "The Companions" and "The Godborn" has almost nothing to do with this book. However, you probably do want to familiarize yourself with Ms. Evans' other two books: "Brimstone Angels" and "Brimstone Angels: Lesser Evils."

My major critique of this book is that the B plot-line obstacle (between Havilar and Brin) seems particularly forced for the sake of a delayed climax that fits into a traditional narrative arch. I hate to say that it rings false, because this is all just make-believe anyway, but it does.

On the plus side, I think Dina Pearlman has really improved as a voice actor since the last book in this series.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened

  • A Mostly True Memoir
  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,616
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,095
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6,090

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

Neurotic in a charming way, for 4 hours

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-13-13

Is there anything you would change about this book?

Jenny Lawson has a unique and interesting voice. However, after you get where she is coming from, it becomes increasingly hard to listen to her talk about her many neurotic experiences. At least for me, what started out as charming eventually became annoying. So, considering she is a blog writer, I think blogging is her best format. You can spread her out over many months and still be charmed. It is just by putting it all together into a book format that her strength becomes her weakness.

Would you ever listen to anything by Jenny Lawson again?

No.

  • Eat to Live

  • The Revolutionary Formula for Fast and Sustained Weight Loss
  • By: Joel Fuhrman M.D.
  • Narrated by: Joel Fuhrman
  • Length: 6 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,076
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,694
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,681

When Mehmet Oz has a patient whose life depends on losing weight, he calls on Joel Fuhrman, M.D. In Eat to Live: The Revolutionary Formula for Fast and Sustained Weight Loss, Dr. Fuhrman offers his healthy, effective, and scientifically proven plan for shedding radical amounts of weight quickly, and keeping it off.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The facts of what's healthy, and what's killing us

  • By Joseph on 07-02-10

Too Repetative for Audio Format

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-06-12

Any additional comments?

I believe what this book preaches, except it suffers from the fact that there is actually not a ton of things to say, but has been inflated to be long enough to warrant being a book. It is easier to take in paperback, because you can skip the repetitive parts, but with audio books, you cannot.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful

The Other Brain audiobook cover art
  • The Other Brain

  • From Dementia to Schizophrenia, How New Discoveries About the Brain are Revolutionizing Medicine and Science
  • By: R. Douglas Fields
  • Narrated by: Victor Bevine, R. Douglas Fields (introduction)
  • Length: 12 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 287
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 220
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 221

Despite everything that has been written about the brain, a very important part of this vital organ has been overlooked in most books - until now. The Other Brain is the story of glia, which make up approximately 85 percent of the cells in the brain. Long neglected as little more than cerebral packing material ("glia" means glue), glia are sparking a revolution in brain science.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Riveting

  • By Lisa on 10-01-11

Blows my Mind

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-06-12

What did you love best about The Other Brain?

The information in this book is terribly exciting to me. I did think neurons were the key to it all, but now I see how scientists can be blindsided by science that seems more exciting.

What other book might you compare The Other Brain to and why?

Theory Drive 101 is like this book, except arguing a completely different stance.

Which character – as performed by Victor Bevine and R. Douglas Fields (introduction) – was your favorite?

R. Douglas Fields is a good speaker--he could have narrated this entire book.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Spark

  • The Revolutionary New Science of Exercise and the Brain
  • By: John J. Ratey
  • Narrated by: Walter Dixon
  • Length: 9 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,924
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,614
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,588

Did you know you can beat stress, lift your mood, fight memory loss, sharpen your intellect, and function better than ever simply by elevating your heart rate and breaking a sweat? The evidence is incontrovertible: Aerobic exercise physically remodels our brains for peak performance.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Spark

  • By Kathleen on 11-02-08

Better than I expected

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-06-12

What did you like best about this story?

This book does a really good job of giving you the overview of a lot of scientific research without overwhelming you with data. You can make conclusions different from the author because you are given enough information to do so.

  • 101 Theory Drive

  • A Neuroscientist's Quest for Memory
  • By: Terry McDermott
  • Narrated by: Stephen Hoye
  • Length: 8 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 164
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 60
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 62

It's not fiction: Gary Lynch is the real thing, the epitome of the rebel scientist - malnourished, contentious, inspiring, explosive, remarkably ambitious, consistently brilliant. He is one of the foremost figures of contemporary neuroscience, and his decades-long quest to understand the inner workings of the brain's memory machine has begun to pay off.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fascinating tale of a scientific maverick's lab

  • By Joe on 04-18-10

Narrator needs work on characterization.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-06-12

What did you like best about 101 Theory Drive? What did you like least?

The explanation of science is clear. The ability of the narrator to portray different characters is very awkward and uncomfortable.

Any additional comments?

It takes work, but why can't 2 narrators do one book. If someone's strength is description, let them do that and let others do characters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful