LISTENER

Rachel P

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 27
  • helpful votes
  • 54
  • ratings
  • All the Ugly and Wonderful Things

  • A Novel
  • By: Bryn Greenwood
  • Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
  • Length: 11 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,692
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,251
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,240

As the daughter of a drug dealer, Wavy knows not to trust people, not even her own parents. It's safer to keep her mouth shut and stay out of sight. Struggling to raise her little brother, Donal, eight-year-old Wavy is the only responsible adult around. Obsessed with the constellations, she finds peace in the starry night sky above the fields behind her house until one night her stargazing causes an accident. After witnessing his motorcycle wreck, she forms an unusual friendship with one of her father's thugs, Kellen, a tattooed ex-con with a heart of gold.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Life Can Be Ugly

  • By Amazon Customer on 09-23-17

Painful

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-06-17

I kept hanging on hoping the stellar reviews for this book would somehow be justified in my eyes. But it was not to be. I think I made it halfway through and could no longer listen to something that was so unbelievable. It was irritating, to say the least, trying to listen to a narrator attempt to sound like a young girl. But add in the "young girl" describing sexual acts in a crude and ignorant manner.... uh uh. I'm returning it. I'll have to accept being in the minority here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • With Love from the Inside

  • By: Angela Pisel
  • Narrated by: Carol Monda, Andi Arndt
  • Length: 8 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,164
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,879
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,862

Grace Bradshaw knows the exact minute she will die. On death row for murdering her infant son, her last breath will be taken on February 15 at 12:01 a.m. Eleven years, five months, and 27 days separate her from the last time she heard her precious daughter's voice and the final moment she'd heard anyone call her mom. Out of appeals, she can focus on only one thing - reconnecting with her daughter and making sure she knows the truth.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wonderful story

  • By Mary McDaniels on 09-23-16

Irritating all around

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-16

This book was sappy. The characters were annoying. It was unrealistic. After the great reviews I was immensely disappointed.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • What Was Mine

  • A Novel
  • By: Helen Klein Ross
  • Narrated by: Julia Whelan, Cassandra Campbell, Amanda Carlin, and others
  • Length: 8 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,112
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 998
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 999

Lucy Wakefield is a seemingly ordinary woman who does something extraordinary in a desperate moment: She takes a baby girl from a shopping cart and raises her as her own. It's a secret she manages to keep for over two decades - from her daughter, the babysitter who helped raise her, family, coworkers, and friends. When Lucy's now-grown daughter, Mia, discovers the devastating truth of her origins, she is overwhelmed by confusion and anger and determines not to speak again to the mother who raised her.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Switching alliances

  • By Simone on 01-23-16

Felt Like I Was Listening To Young Adult Fiction

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-14-16

Story - Eye roll
Narrators - Voices annoying

In regards to what others said about the ending being disappointing or abrupt - I would disagree with that. I think the implications within the ending did not need to be further expanded upon. It ran it's course appropriately.

  • The Widow

  • By: Fiona Barton
  • Narrated by: Hannah Curtis, Nicholas Guy Smith, full cast
  • Length: 10 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 4,527
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,058
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 4,051

When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on when more bad things began to happen... But that woman's husband died last week. And Jean doesn't have to be her anymore. There's a lot Jean hasn't said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Disturbing but very good.

  • By CR on 02-18-16

Subtly Dark and Highly Introspective

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-28-16

Headline says it all. I really enjoyed this book, its narration, and the format in which it is written. It jumps back and forth not only between characters, but timespans. You can hear in the voices of the narrators, exactly what each character is thinking and feeling. It is not a fast paced or action packed story - the beauty of it comes from truly being invited inside of the heads of all of the characters. Kudos to the author and to each of the narrators. This was a total winner for me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A Man Called Ove

  • By: Fredrik Backman
  • Narrated by: George Newbern
  • Length: 9 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 64,499
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 59,020
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58,923

Meet Ove. He's a curmudgeon - the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him "the bitter neighbor from hell". But behind the cranky exterior there is a story and a sadness.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I Laughed and I Cried

  • By Bill on 08-22-15

Just kinda Mediocre

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-25-16

It was a nice story and a decent diversion from the more intense, psychological stuff I usually listen to - but to say it was anything much more than average with a few chuckles would be a stretch. Granted the "stick in the mud Curmudgeon" was entertaining, but you can only take it so far before the eye rolling begins.

I'd say if you're in for a light read with a pretty decent delivery...go for it.

  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,160
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,918
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,914

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing

  • By ilene on 09-15-15

Superb story, superb narration!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-25-16

What did you love best about The Sleeper?

The narration by Imogen Church. She is fantastic!

Who was your favorite character and why?

Lara. I loved being inside of her head as she led her double life.

Which character – as performed by Imogen Church – was your favorite?

Again....Lara

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The main character's truthfulness and vulnerability in regards to her life situation, her upbringing/family relationships, and especially her candor in describing her feelings about her life partner.

Any additional comments?

I think I actually liked it more than "The Girl on the Train"

15 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Pretty Girls

  • By: Karin Slaughter
  • Narrated by: Kathleen Early
  • Length: 20 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,972
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,801
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,803

Sisters. Strangers. Survivors. More than twenty years ago, Claire and Lydia's teenaged sister Julia vanished without a trace. The two women have not spoken since, and now their lives could not be more different. Claire is the glamorous trophy wife of an Atlanta millionaire. Lydia, a single mother, dates an ex-con and struggles to make ends meet. But neither has recovered from the horror and heartbreak of their shared loss—a devastating wound that's cruelly ripped open when Claire's husband is killed.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Definitely needed the trigger warning, but..

  • By Hillary on 02-01-16

Buyer Beware

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-25-16

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

I didn't consider it a waste of a credit. It was different. There were other books I liked more, and others I liked less. Many parts of it were truly cringe-worthy, and although I was certainly disgusted by some of it, part of reading is to open your mind to what is out there and not always stick to "safe" subjects. Although the crimes committed were perverse, the story idea was a good one and the character development was admirable.I do get frustrated when supposedly "everyday people" in books I am reading suddenly become super detectives. It takes away from the reality. I'll leave it there.

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

I was satisfied with the ending and pleasantly surprised when there was something at the end I hadn't expected (and almost didn't listen to). So....after you think the book is over, but your app tells you that there's still a few more chapters - keep listening!

Which scene was your favorite?

I don't know that I had a favorite scene, but I did enjoy the character development/backstories and I think the narrator did an especially fine job taking on multiple characters. She was very consistent with voice/tone/inflection/accent for each character and there was never a doubt as to which character was "speaking".

Did Pretty Girls inspire you to do anything?

Be very thankful for my safety, I suppose!

Any additional comments?

I will agree with most of the reviewers that this book contained very graphic, disturbingly descriptive scenes. That said, there are twisted, evil people in this world and part of the world of reading is to acknowledge that things like this can and do happen. Reading should welcome the occasional diversion from one's comfort zone. There's always the option to press pause and make it all go away!