LISTENER

James

Los Angeles, US, Canada
  • 8
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 19
  • ratings
  • Arlo Finch in the Valley of Fire

  • By: John August
  • Narrated by: James Patrick Cronin
  • Length: 6 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 90
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 84
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 83

Arlo Finch is a newcomer to Pine Mountain, Colorado, a tiny town of mystery and magic, but he has already attracted the attention of dark and ancient forces. At first he thinks these increasingly strange and frightening occurrences are just part of being in Rangers, the mountain scouting troop where he learns how to harness the wild magic seeping in from the mysterious Long Woods. But soon Arlo finds himself at the center of a dangerous adventure, where he faces obstacles that test the foundations of the Ranger's Vow: Loyalty, Bravery, Kindness, and Truth.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • just what the doctor ordered

  • By Amazon Customer on 10-28-18

Excellent

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-02-18

Picked this up after listening to Launch, the podcast chronicling it’s creation. The story does not disappoint. Well-paced magical adventure set in the mountains of Colorado.

  • Starship Grifters

  • Rex Nihilo, Book 1
  • By: Robert Kroese
  • Narrated by: Kate Rudd
  • Length: 7 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,017
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,892
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,883

A space-faring ne'er-do-well with more bravado than brains, Rex Nihilo plies the known universe in a tireless quest for his own personal gain. But when he fleeces a wealthy weapons dealer in a high-stakes poker game, he ends up winning a worthless planet - and owing an outstanding debt more vast than space itself! The only way for Rex to escape a lifetime of torture on the prison world Gulagatraz is to score a big payday by pulling off his biggest scam.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Sometimes you just gotta give a book a chance!

  • By Sad Carlos on 07-08-14

Charming sci fi parody/homage

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-12-18

Bought this because it was on sale and was pleasantly surprised. Laughed out loud multiple times. Great reader and very funny robot narrator.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Educated

  • A Memoir
  • By: Tara Westover
  • Narrated by: Julia Whelan
  • Length: 12 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 20,883
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 18,984
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 18,886

Tara Westover was 17 the first time she set foot in a classroom. Born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, she prepared for the end of the world by stockpiling home-canned peaches. In the summer she stewed herbs for her mother, a midwife and healer, and in the winter she salvaged in her father's junkyard. Her father forbade hospitals, so Tara never saw a doctor or nurse. Gashes and concussions, even burns from explosions, were all treated at home with herbalism. Then, lacking any formal education, Tara began to educate herself. Her quest for knowledge transformed her, taking her over oceans and across continents, to Harvard and to Cambridge.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Exceptional

  • By Haley on 05-27-18

That was great.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-06-18

It’s odd to describe a book about getting a PhD as harrowing but at times I felt like the author was a character in a horror film and wanted to talk back to the “screen.” Run! Get out! Highly recommended.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Long Haul

  • A Trucker's Tales of Life on the Road
  • By: Finn Murphy
  • Narrated by: Danny Campbell
  • Length: 8 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 637
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 593
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 587

More than 30 years ago, Finn Murphy dropped out of college to become a trucker. Since then he's covered hundreds of thousands of miles packing, loading, and hauling people's belongings all over America. Murphy whisks listeners down the I-95 Powerlane, across the Florida Everglades, in and out of the truck stops of the Midwest, and through the steep grades of the Rocky Mountains.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Shines a whole new light on moving industry

  • By Chad on 03-01-18

Highly enjoyable look at a fascinating subculture

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-20-18

A medium-haul commuter, I appropriately heard Finn Murphy interviewed on Fresh Air while driving. The book sounded great and this performance lived up to the promise. Excellent coupling of reader and material. Danny Campbell does a great job.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • We Are Legion (We Are Bob)

  • Bobiverse, Book 1
  • By: Dennis E. Taylor
  • Narrated by: Ray Porter
  • Length: 9 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 62,627
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 58,769
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58,658

Bob Johansson has just sold his software company and is looking forward to a life of leisure. There are places to go, books to read, and movies to watch. So it's a little unfair when he gets himself killed crossing the street. Bob wakes up a century later to find that corpsicles have been declared to be without rights, and he is now the property of the state. He has been uploaded into computer hardware and is slated to be the controlling AI in an interstellar probe looking for habitable planets.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Ignore the Publisher's Summary! This is Amazing!

  • By PW on 04-12-17

Highly enjoyable

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-17

Fans of both The Martian and Ready Player One will enjoy this. Bob is a tech entrepreneur who is cryogenically frozen then wakes up years later in a very different Earth than the the one he left. He escapes the fundamental religious government that is trying to exploit him and adventures ensue. Bob... well all the Bobs... are highly amusing narrators and very pleasant companions. Since most of the characters are Bob or clones/back-ups of Bob I worried the dialog might be hard to follow. Porter does a great job of distinguishing between them. A funny, timely and entertaining read.

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened

  • A Mostly True Memoir
  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,382
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,877
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,875

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

Funny

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-12-15

Funny stories about growing up odd inTexas. The author has a great writing voice and is a good reader to boot. I find it best to consume short stories and vignette-type pieces in small doses over time and that rule applies here. The only thing I wished she hadn't done was to sing the chapter titles. But other than that, good stuff.

  • Younger

  • By: Pamela Redmond Satran
  • Narrated by: Meghan Wolf
  • Length: 6 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 641
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 587
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 590

She's old enough to be his mother. Alice has always looked young for her age, even with her graying hair and her dowdy New Jersey housewife style. Make that ex-housewife: Now that her husband's gone and her daughter is grown, Alice is in desperate need of a whole new life. So she lets her best friend Maggie, a hip New York City artist, transform her on New Year's Eve. Soon, thanks to the wonders of hair dye and tight jeans, Alice looks really young, as one night in a Manhattan bar confirms.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • It depends on where you're coming from...

  • By AudioAddict on 11-28-15

I liked it.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-11-15

Excellent observations of middle-aged thinking and yearnings. Particularly enjoyed some of the mother/daughter interactions. Glad to have stumbled upon this.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Foxglove Summer

  • A Rivers of London Novel (Peter Grant, Book 5)
  • By: Ben Aaronovitch
  • Narrated by: Kobna Holdbrook-Smith
  • Length: 10 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,025
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,885
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,868

Peter Grant - cop, magical apprentice, and Londoner to the core - is being forced out of his comfort zone and into the English countryside. His latest case involves the disappearance of children in the small village of Herefordshire, and the local police are unwilling to admit there might be a supernatural element involved. Now Peter must deal with them, local river spirits, and the fact that all the shops close by 4 P.M.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Starts slow but ends strong

  • By Cliff on 01-08-15

Addictive

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-10-15

I've chain listened to the whole series. Hard to take the ear buds out. Great blend of grit, magic and fun.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful