LISTENER

Liv

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 22
  • helpful votes
  • 44
  • ratings
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened

  • A Mostly True Memoir
  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,754
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,225
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6,220

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

How has it taken me this long to read this?

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-08-18

Does it count as reading if you listen? Anyhow, great book by one of my favorite bloggers. Loved having Jenny read it to me as it’s her story. I don’t think non-authors convey the right sentiments if it isn’t their memoir. She’s funny, the stories are unbelievable, but given my upbringing, I’m not sure that these aren’t 100% true.

  • The Beach Trees

  • By: Karen White
  • Narrated by: Ki Gottberg, Gin Hammond
  • Length: 15 hrs and 6 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 421
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 375
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 379

For Julie Holt, travelling to the beautiful but ravaged coast of Biloxi, Mississippi, is a journey into a secret past, and a life she never expected.... Julie first knew loss at the age of 12, when her sister disappeared, never to be found. As her once close-knit family grew apart, Julie's mother obsessively searched for the girl, and when her mother died, Julie took up the search, never letting go of the hope. Then, at an art exhibition in New York, she meets Monica....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great book! Awful southern accent

  • By amcbmoore on 07-07-11

Good story, poor narration

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-14-16

The story is good, leaves a mystery unsolved which irritates me. My low rating is due to the narration. Both narrators sound very stilted when switch character voices which annoyed me.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • As You Wish

  • Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride
  • By: Cary Elwes, Joe Layden, Rob Reiner (foreword)
  • Narrated by: Cary Elwes, Christopher Guest, Carol Kane, and others
  • Length: 7 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,711
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 9,032
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,981

From actor Cary Elwes, who played the iconic role of Westley in The Princess Bride, comes a first-person account and behind-the-scenes look at the making of the cult classic film filled with never-before-told stories, exclusive photographs, and interviews with costars Robin Wright, Wallace Shawn, Billy Crystal, Christopher Guest, and Mandy Patinkin, as well as author and screenwriter William Goldman, producer Norman Lear, and director Rob Reiner.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Warm-hearted retelling

  • By Thomas Allen on 10-19-14

Adds a new dimension to the movie

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-25-14

The Princess Bride is one of my favorite movies. Growing up I swore my family was the only one who ever rented it from the local video store. I love behind the scenes stories, and this one makes me want to watch the movie on an endless loop. The appearances by the other actors make this an ensemble book. Cary Elwes did Princess Bride fans a huge favor by writing this.

20 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Not My Daughter

  • By: Barbara Delinsky
  • Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
  • Length: 12 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 93
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 40
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 40

When Susan Tate's 17-year-old daughter, Lily, announces she is pregnant, Susan is stunned. A single mother, she has struggled to do everything right. She sees the pregnancy as an unimaginable tragedy for both Lily and herself.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • One credit down the drain

  • By Susan on 01-14-10

Moving story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-18-11

I had to read this as part of training for teaching teens about childbirth and being there as labor support for them. I found that this story did a marvelous job of getting into the very real emotions families deal with when a teen is pregnant. I found myself wanting to yell at the parents in the book, feeling empathy towards the girls and wanting to get started on educating teens in my community.

  • Mennonite in a Little Black Dress

  • A Memoir of Going Home
  • By: Rhoda Janzen
  • Narrated by: Hillary Huber
  • Length: 8 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars 386
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 181
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 184

The same week her husband of 15 years ditches her for a guy he met on Gay.com, a partially inebriated teenage driver smacks her VW Beetle head-on. Marriage over, body bruised, life upside-down, Rhoda does what any sensible 43-year-old would do: She goes home. But hers is not just any home. It's a Mennonite home, the scene of her painfully uncool childhood and the bosom of her family.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • It's OK

  • By Dotty on 01-05-10

Disappointing

Overall
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-18-11

I've finally given up on this book. I just kept hoping it would grab me and beg to be finished, but I can't finish it. I'm tired of hearing her drone on about nothing. I don't feel like this is ever going anywhere. The story is very choppy and goes off on bunny trails. I've had to rewind several times just to make sure I hadn't just missed something. I'm also insulted at her attitude about Christians and Christianity, which is another reason I don't care to listen to the rest.

The narrator attempts different voices for different characters, but several, especially the main character seem bipolar. I'd just as soon have the other characters be read by others.