LISTENER

MM

  • 10
  • reviews
  • 90
  • helpful votes
  • 41
  • ratings
  • Those We Left Behind

  • The Belfast Novels
  • By: Stuart Neville
  • Narrated by: Michelle Ferguson
  • Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 186
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 174
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 173

Blood has always been thicker than water for two Northern Irish brothers caught in the Belfast foster system, but a debt of past violence will be paid not just by them but also by those they left behind. Ciaran Devine, who made Belfast headlines seven years ago as the "schoolboy killer", is about to walk free. At the age of 12, he confessed to the brutal murder of his foster father; his testimony mitigated the sentence of his older brother, Thomas, who was also found at the crime scene, covered in blood.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Belfast noir with a new female lead

  • By David on 03-02-17

Hours and hours of DULL

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-20-17

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

My first and probably last book by this author

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

BLAH! I kept waiting for it to get good....it didn't.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Verdict

  • By: Nick Stone
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe
  • Length: 21 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,967
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,450
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,431

Terry Flynt is a struggling legal clerk desperately trying to get promoted when he is given the biggest opportunity of his career: to help defend a millionaire accused of murdering a woman in his hotel suite. The only problem is that the accused man, Vernon James, is not only someone he knows but someone he loathes. This case could potentially make Terry's career, but how can he defend a former friend who betrayed him?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • One of THE best audiobooks ever!

  • By Sarah on 05-22-16

I didn't care for the victim mentality

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-17-17

Any additional comments?

If I had it to do over, I wouldn't listen to this one. Don't waste your credit.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • The Woman Next Door

  • By: Cass Green
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck, Bea Holland
  • Length: 10 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,287
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,186
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,176

Two suburban women. Two dark secrets. The almost perfect murder. Everybody needs good neighbours.... Melissa and Hester have lived next door to each other for years. When Melissa's daughter was younger, Hester was almost like a grandmother to her. But recently they haven't been so close. Hester has plans to change all that. It's obvious to her that despite Melissa's outwardly glamorous and successful life, she needs Hester's help.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Biting, Beguiling, Will make you smile AND shudder

  • By MarisaReads on 01-07-17

10 hr book finally gave up after two hours

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-13-17

Any additional comments?

I tried three different times to get into this book. Finally gave up. Got to Chapter 10 and still had NO CLUE what the book was about at all. Annoying. Boring.

  • Behind Her Eyes

  • A Novel
  • By: Sarah Pinborough
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck, Josie Dunn, Bea Holland, and others
  • Length: 11 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,035
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,961
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 12,964

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar, and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she's thrilled she finally connected with someone. When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar...who says the kiss was a terrible mistake but who still can't keep his eyes off Louise.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • What the heck...

  • By Allyssa R. on 06-16-17

Slow & didn't care for the ending at all

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-07-17

Feel like it was a very slow story & although I was surprised by the ending I really didn't care for it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Kind Worth Killing

  • By: Peter Swanson
  • Narrated by: Johnny Heller, Karen White, Kathleen Early, and others
  • Length: 10 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,015
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,871
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,855

On a night flight from London to Boston, Ted Severson meets the stunning and mysterious Lily Kintner. Sharing one too many martinis, the strangers begin to play a game of truth, revealing very intimate details about themselves. Ted talks about his marriage that's going stale and his wife, Miranda, who he's sure is cheating on him. Ted and his wife were a mismatch from the start - he the rich businessman, she the artistic free spirit - a contrast that once inflamed their passion but has now become a cliché.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The Kind Worth Killing - A Book Worth Getting

  • By AudioAddict on 08-23-15

Disappointed

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-11-16

Any additional comments?

I saw rave reviews on this book before purchasing. I was very disappointed. It was very slow to start, unnecessarily crude in a few spots, and just dull. There was a bit of interest towards the last third but not worth a credit by any means!!!

  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,160
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,918
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,914

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing

  • By ilene on 09-15-15

Don't waste a credit

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-24-16

Any additional comments?

I listened to this book on a road trip or I would've returned it about an hour into it. It took 15 chapters to get slightly interesting. Then after all was said and done it was not a good story line! Felt like the book really dragged on and on. I wouldn't recommend it.

85 of 91 people found this review helpful

  • The Dead Key

  • By: D. M. Pulley
  • Narrated by: Emily Sutton-Smith
  • Length: 13 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 8,722
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,835
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 7,839

It's 1998, and for years the old First Bank of Cleveland has sat abandoned, perfectly preserved, its secrets only speculated on by the outside world. Twenty years before, amid strange staff disappearances and allegations of fraud, panicked investors sold Cleveland's largest bank in the middle of the night, locking out customers and employees and thwarting a looming federal investigation. In the confusion that followed, the keys to the vault's safe-deposit boxes were lost.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Not good.

  • By Guy on 05-05-17

Great book!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-05-16

Any additional comments?

Loved this book and would love more from this author. I would have liked just a little more detail in the ending but still one of the best I've listened to!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Dark Places

  • A Novel
  • By: Gillian Flynn
  • Narrated by: Rebecca Lowman, Cassandra Campbell, Mark Deakins, and others
  • Length: 13 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 22,915
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20,242
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20,264

Libby Day was seven when her mother and two sisters were murdered in "The Satan Sacrifice of Kinnakee, Kansas". As her family lay dying, little Libby fled their tiny farmhouse into the freezing January snow. She lost some fingers and toes, but she survived, and famously testified that her 15-year-old brother, Ben, was the killer. Twenty-five years later, Ben sits in prison, and troubled Libby lives off the dregs of a trust created by well-wishers who've long forgotten her.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Riveting but brutal

  • By Glenda Jeffers on 12-09-12

In my opinion, don't waste your money

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-14-16

Any additional comments?

Very disappointed in this story. I almost quit several times but wanted to know what happened. Disappointed in ending and really didn't enjoy the whole story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Grownup

  • A Story by the Author of Gone Girl
  • By: Gillian Flynn
  • Narrated by: Julia Whelan
  • Length: 1 hr and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 909
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 822
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 822

A canny young woman is struggling to survive by perpetrating various levels of mostly harmless fraud. On a rainy April morning, she is reading auras at Spiritual Palms when Susan Burke walks in. A keen observer of human behavior, our unnamed narrator immediately diagnoses beautiful, rich Susan as an unhappy woman eager to give her lovely life a drama injection.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • The Grownup

  • By Beth C. Hunt on 09-14-16

Really overpriced for only an hour but no regrets

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-12-16

Any additional comments?

I paid $6.99 for one hour but it really was worth it. Very haunting, takes several big turns, and really leaves you hanging in the end.

  • The Secret Keeper

  • By: Kate Morton
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 19 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,966
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,858
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,857

England, 1959: Laurel Nicolson is 16 years old, dreaming alone in her childhood tree house during a family celebration at their home, Green Acres Farm. She spies a stranger coming up the long road to the farm and then observes her mother, Dorothy, speaking to him. And then she witnesses a crime.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Kate Morton (and Caroline Lee) does it again!

  • By Maria on 10-20-12

Almost gave up but ok in the end

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-27-16

Where does The Secret Keeper rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Maybe a 6 out of 10

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Secret Keeper?

The end was a surprise.

What aspect of Caroline Lee’s performance would you have changed?

There were times when she came across as whiny to the point that I almost stopped listening. I did fast forward several times which I have never had to do!

Any additional comments?

I almost gave up but the end of the book was a nice surprise and I was glad I stuck it out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful