LISTENER

Grady

home
  • 10
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 50
  • ratings
  • The Secret Child

  • By: Kerry Fisher
  • Narrated by: Emma Spurgin Hussey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,321
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,227
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,223

Susie did something that she knows she will always regret: giving her baby son up for adoption, to keep her infidelity secret from her family. Louise, Susie's daughter, feels the effects of that decision echoing down through the years - her mother has always been difficult, too strict with her but not strict enough with her sister, Grace, who is wild and out of control. And Danny, Susie's husband, adores her but has always sensed something wrong at the heart of their marriage.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Beautiful story

  • By Amazon Customer on 05-23-18

Beautiful story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-04-19

The author made you empathize and love each character. I was blessed with children and can not imagine what it would be like to make the ultimate sacrifice of giving up a child “for a better life”

  • The Cold Room

  • Taylor Jackson Series
  • By: J. T. Ellison
  • Narrated by: Joyce Bean
  • Length: 11 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 323
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 282
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 281

Homicide detective Taylor Jackson thinks she's seen it all in Nashville—from the Southern Strangler to the Snow White Killer. But she's never seen anything as perverse as The Conductor. Once his victim is captured, he contains her in a glass coffin, slowly starving her to death. Only then does he give in to his attraction.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • The Cold Room Left Me Cold

  • By Linda on 07-09-12

Struggled to finish

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-14-19

Creepy but good story line. However, I struggled to get past the narrator. And I honestly did not like the character of Taylor. So even though this ends with a cliff hanger I will not be reading the next.

  • Then She Was Gone

  • A Novel
  • By: Lisa Jewell
  • Narrated by: Helen Duff
  • Length: 10 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31,625
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 28,611
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 28,537

Fifteen-year-old Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenage golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her. And then she was gone. Now her mother, Laurel Mack, is trying to put her life back together.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Not a bad read

  • By Jessica Jones on 05-26-18

Excellent!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-27-18

Although very dark subject matter, it’s a beautiful story of love and courage. I could not stop listening. The narrator was also amazing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Extraordinary Life of Sam Hell

  • A Novel
  • By: Robert Dugoni
  • Narrated by: Robert Dugoni
  • Length: 11 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,115
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,516
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,505

Sam Hill always saw the world through different eyes. Born with red pupils, he was called “Devil Boy” or Sam “Hell” by his classmates; “God’s will” is what his mother called his ocular albinism. Her words were of little comfort, but Sam persevered. Sam believed it was God who sent Ernie Cantwell, the only African American kid in his class, to be the friend he so desperately needed. And that it was God’s idea for Mickie Kennedy to storm into Our Lady of Mercy like a tornado, uprooting every rule Sam had been taught about boys and girls. Forty years later, Sam, a small-town eye doctor, is no longer certain anything was by design.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Warning about the ending

  • By Roger M. Young on 05-27-18

One of my favorites.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-16-18

No matter what genre you typically read, you will not be disappointed in this gem. Especially those who grew up going to Catholic school. This book was everything. It was funny, sweet, emotional, spiritual, engaging. Reminded me of The Wonder Years. Loved it!

  • The Woman in the Window

  • A Novel
  • By: A. J. Finn
  • Narrated by: Ann Marie Lee
  • Length: 13 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 23,142
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 21,267
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 21,217

Anna Fox lives alone - a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times...and spying on her neighbors. Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble. And its shocking secrets are laid bare.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • An excruciating listen.

  • By Debra on 01-12-18

Couldn’t finish

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-14-18

I’m sorry but I couldn’t get past the narrator. She sounded like an elderly woman not someone in her 30’s. My husband and all reviews said It took the first 35 or so chapters to develop the story line but I grew bored. Disappointing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

The Last Anniversary audiobook cover art
  • The Last Anniversary

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Heather Wilds
  • Length: 12 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 5,686
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 5,156
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,149

Sophie moves onto the island and begins a new life as part of an unconventional family, where it seems everyone has a secret. Grace, a beautiful young mother, is feverishly planning a shocking escape from her perfect life. Margie, a frumpy housewife, has made a pact with a stranger. And dreamy Aunt Rose wonders if maybe it's about time she started making her own decisions.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Moriarty

  • By cristina on 08-05-14

Hilariously funny and Clever!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-19-18

I loved this book. The narrator was “ok” I thought she was very dry in her delivery in such funny sections. Maybe that was purposeful. I almost stopped listening because of it. But she grew on me. There are a lot of characters in this book and to pay special attention to remind myself who was who. After the first few chapters it was easy. I love anything and everything from this author. Enjoy!

  • The Altar of Bones

  • By: Philip Carter
  • Narrated by: Jim Frangione
  • Length: 17 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 101
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 55
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 55

Cryptic dying words from a murdered homeless woman in present day San Francisco unlock a decades-buried secret that changed history. Now a pair of ruthless assassins are sent to cut the few living "loose ends." And a young, resourceful woman on the run encounters a determined man with his own connected past and vengeful agenda. Forced to partner for survival and answers, a fast-paced and deadly game of cat and mouse ensues.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Fast Moving Exciting Read

  • By Jack on 03-27-11

Unrealistic but entertaining

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-13-17

I read this book in paperback years ago. I remember enjoying it and was looking forward to listening to it. I thought my husband would love it but he could not get through the first few hours. I enjoyed it on Audible as much as I did reading it. It was completely unrealistic and a little lengthy but a great storyline.












  • The Good House

  • A Novel
  • By: Ann Leary
  • Narrated by: Mary Beth Hurt
  • Length: 10 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,584
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,294
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,280

The Good House tells the story of Hildy Good, who lives in a small town on Boston's North Shore. Hildy is a successful real-estate broker, good neighbor, mother, and grandmother. She's also a raging alcoholic. Hildy's family held an intervention for her about a year before this story takes place - "if they invite you over for dinner, and it’s not a major holiday," she advises "run for your life" - and now she feels lonely and unjustly persecuted. She has also fooled herself into thinking that moderation is the key.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • What a great book, Hildy is a great character!

  • By Rhonda Morrison on 01-31-13

Started slow but got really good!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-09-17

Great narrator! I almost gave up after first chapters then I couldn't put it down.

  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,234
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,078
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,061

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Star Start, Wowed.

  • By green ice cream garden on 06-28-16

never a slow moment

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-24-16

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This is a great book read by my favorite narrator. I found myself in the pubs with the characters. Great read, great listen!

  • Beach Music

  • A Novel
  • By: Pat Conroy
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Marosz
  • Length: 26 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,793
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,517
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,515

Pat Conroy is without doubt America's favorite storyteller, a writer who portrays the anguished truth of the human heart and the painful secrets of families in richly lyrical prose and unforgettable narratives. Now, in Beach Music, he tells of the dark memories that haunt generations, in a story that spans South Carolina and Rome and reaches back into the unutterable terrors of the Holocaust.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Memorable

  • By Ella on 03-14-10

Monotone narrator

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-17-16

This was not one of my favorites by Pat Conroy. But I can't help but think I would of liked it better with s different narrator. It was painful til the end!