LISTENER

Ila M. Atwood

  • 9
  • reviews
  • 11
  • helpful votes
  • 33
  • ratings
  • The Freedom Broker

  • A Thea Paris Novel
  • By: K.J. Howe
  • Narrated by: Therese Plummer
  • Length: 10 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 155
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 146
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 143

Twenty years ago, a terrified young boy was abducted in the middle of the night by masked intruders while his sister watched, paralyzed with fear. Returned after a harrowing nine months with his captors, Thea's brother has never been the same. This life-shattering experience drove Thea to become what she is today: a world-class freedom broker. Most hostage-recovery work is done at the negotiation table, but when diplomacy fails, Thea leads Quantum Security International's black-ops team on highly sensitive rescue missions.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A surprise! Never a dull moment!

  • By Richard W. Fischer on 05-01-17

Disappointed

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-04-19

Incredibly unbelievable. Will not listen to any others by this author. A waste of time and credits.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • The Executioner's Song

  • By: Norman Mailer
  • Narrated by: Maxwell Hamilton
  • Length: 42 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 82
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 76
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 78

Norman Mailer's Pulitzer Prize-winning and unforgettable classic about convicted killer Gary Gilmore now in audio. Arguably the greatest book from America's most heroically ambitious writer, The Executioner's Song follows the short, blighted life of Gary Gilmore who became famous after he robbed two men in 1976 and killed them in cold blood. After being tried and convicted, he immediately insisted on being executed for his crime. To do so, he fought a system that seemed intent on keeping him alive long after it had sentenced him to death. 

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Pulitzer-winner spoiled by numskulled narration

  • By W Perry Hall on 05-21-18

The Executioners Song

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-15-19

An amazing book, I was overwhelmed by the lives of the people in the story and my heart goes out to them. Your narrator needs to learn the pronunciation of some words.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 'B' is for Bad Girls (Malibu Mystery)

  • By: Rebecca Cantrell, Sean Black
  • Narrated by: Madeline Mrozek
  • Length: 5 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 179
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 162
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 162

From New York Times best seller Rebecca Cantrell and Sean Black comes the sequel to "A" is for Asshat and another fast-paced, funny novel that's perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich. Maloney Investigation's newest private detective, Sofia Salgado, is back on the case that turns into her mother's worst nightmare when she ends up undercover in one of Malibu's many rehab clinics.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Keeps getting better!

  • By Foy on 03-21-16

Worse narrative ever.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-10-19

Liked the story but will have to read the rest of the series on kindle

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A Man Called Ove

  • By: Fredrik Backman
  • Narrated by: George Newbern
  • Length: 9 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 63,916
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58,487
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58,389

Meet Ove. He's a curmudgeon - the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him "the bitter neighbor from hell". But behind the cranky exterior there is a story and a sadness.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I Laughed and I Cried

  • By Bill on 08-22-15

A wonderful story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-15-18

I have listened to this book several times and I never get tired of it. I hear something new each time and have a greater appreciation for the complexities of neighbors and the bonds that grow between them, sometimes in spite of themselves.

  • The Wrong Side of Goodbye

  • Harry Bosch, Book 19
  • By: Michael Connelly
  • Narrated by: Titus Welliver
  • Length: 10 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,484
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,232
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,162

Harry Bosch is California's newest private investigator. He doesn't advertise, he doesn't have an office, and he's picky about who he works for, but it doesn't matter. His chops from 30 years with the LAPD speak for themselves. Soon one of Southern California's biggest moguls comes calling. The reclusive billionaire has less than six months to live and a lifetime of regrets. He hires Bosch to find out whether he has an heir.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Connelly Delivers Everytime

  • By Charles Atkinson on 07-19-17

The Wrong Side of Goodbye

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-21-16

Sometimes when a series runs as long as this has there can be a loss of quality in the story almost as if the author and the protagonist have both become tired. That did not happen here. I think this is one of his best. I have listened to it three times and each time I take something new away from the experience.

  • Orbit

  • By: John J. Nance
  • Narrated by: John J. Nance
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 113
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 83
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 83

For Kip Dawson, winning a passenger seat on American Space Adventure's first commercial spaceflight is a dream come true. One grand shot of insanity and he can return to earth fulfilled. It's a bittersweet moment of triumph, however, muted by his wife's terror over his accepting the prize. The day of the launch, Kip tries to reconcile his wife's and daughters' fears and even tries calling his estranged son, to no avail. He sets off, vowing to make amends upon his return. But a successful launch quickly morphs.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Please make this into a movie!!!

  • By AudioAddict on 02-25-14

Outstanding

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-19-16

One of the best books I've ever listened to. Not a genre I usually read but thought provoking.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Relative Danger

  • A Cealie Gunther Mystery, Book 1
  • By: June Shaw
  • Narrated by: Beth Richmond
  • Length: 10 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars 3
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars 2

Cealie Gunther avoids things that bind - like control-top pantyhose and Gil Thurman. Widowed Cealie thinks she wants to avoid her hunky ex-lover Gil as she travels while trying to rediscover herself. But he opens Cajun restaurants in many cities, and Cealie's not great at avoiding temptation. She tries to avoid family members so she won't become dependant, but since her family is most important, constantly winds up around them. Murder is always involved.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Worst.Reader.Ever

  • By hisgirlhoward on 01-12-16

new category: Chick Mystery

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-21-13

What disappointed you about Relative Danger?

Complete drivel.

Has Relative Danger turned you off from other books in this genre?

I'm undecided about this. Have to admit I like Stephanie Plum, no matter how badly written. But I think one such character is enough.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Beth Richmond?

No idea.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Relative Danger?

I would not have published this book to begin with.

Any additional comments?

I feel we need a category for this type of romance/mystery/ comedy.

  • Shadow Woman

  • A Novel
  • By: Linda Howard
  • Narrated by: Carrington MacDuffie
  • Length: 9 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 543
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 457
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 459

Lizette Henry wakes up one morning and makes a terrifying discovery: She doesn't recognize the face she sees in the mirror. She remembers what she looks like, but her reflection is someone else's. To add to the shock, two years seem to have disappeared from her life. Someone has gone to great and inexplicable lengths to keep those missing years hidden forever. But the past always finds a way to return.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • "just a bad MEMORY"~ 5 STAR Linda Howard Thriller

  • By Molly on 01-01-13

Romance meets political thriller disaster

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-05-13

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

Romance listeners.

What was most disappointing about Linda Howard’s story?

The total unbelievability of the plot line

What three words best describe Carrington MacDuffie’s performance?

She did well with what she had to work with.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

None

Any additional comments?

Will strike Linda Howard off my potential reading list

5 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Twelve Sharp

  • By: Janet Evanovich
  • Narrated by: Lorelei King
  • Length: 6 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,322
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,145
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,131

America's favorite bounty hunter, Stephanie Plum, is back in her twelfth best seller and sure to win more fans than ever before. Trenton, New Jersey's premier troublemaker is once again struggling with her tangled love life, her chaotic family, and her gift for destroying every car she drives. Not to mention her attempts to bring in the sometimes scary bail jumpers of Trenton and the sudden appearance of a mysterious female stalker, who turns out to have a close connection to Ranger.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Entertainment at its best!

  • By Ruth on 07-22-08

At long last Ranger

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-26-06

If you're a fan of Ranger, you'll love this one. We learn alot about the man of mystery and Stephanie actually acts like a half-way competent throughout most of the book. Could have done without Joyce Barnhart coming back into the series but I guess there are people who love to hate her.