LISTENER

NiCole

  • 12
  • reviews
  • 4
  • helpful votes
  • 30
  • ratings
  • Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds

  • The First Official Stranger Things Novel
  • By: Gwenda Bond
  • Narrated by: Kristen Sieh
  • Length: 8 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 208
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 202
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 202

It’s the summer of 1969, and the shock of conflict reverberates through the youth of America, both at home and abroad. As a student at a quiet college campus in the heartland of Indiana, Terry Ives couldn’t be farther from the front lines of Vietnam or the incendiary protests in Washington. But the world is changing, and Terry isn’t content to watch from the sidelines. When word gets around about an important government experiment in the small town of Hawkins, she signs on as a test subject for the project, code named MKULTRA. 

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Good Storyline, Poor Performance

  • By Kristen on 02-21-19

Strange Title, Good book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-25-19

Having seen the first two seasons, reading the prequel is a bit disconcerting. But the book is thorough and interesting.

  • Brief Answers to the Big Questions

  • By: Stephen Hawking, Eddie Redmayne - foreword, Lucy Hawking - afterword
  • Narrated by: Ben Whishaw
  • Length: 4 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1,343
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,207
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 1,202

Stephen Hawking not only unraveled some of the universe's greatest mysteries but also believed science plays a critical role in fixing problems here on Earth. Now, as we face immense challenges on our planet - including climate change, the threat of nuclear war, and the development of artificial intelligence - he turns his attention to the most urgent issues facing us. Will humanity survive? Should we colonize space? Does God exist? These are just a few of the questions Hawking addresses in this wide-ranging, passionately argued final book from one of the greatest minds in history.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • My heart - and mind - are both shattered.

  • By Kim & Tim on 10-19-18

Hawkin: A brilliant family man...!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-21-19

Very interesting and somewhat intimate look into the mind of an incredible scientist. Introduced me the scientific side of black holes and further inspired me to pursue studies in Quantum theories.

  • White Rage

  • The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide
  • By: Carol Anderson
  • Narrated by: Pamela Gibson
  • Length: 6 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,308
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,172
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,160

As Ferguson, Missouri, erupted in August 2014, and media commentators across the ideological spectrum referred to the angry response of African Americans as 'black rage', historian Carol Anderson wrote a remarkable op-ed in the Washington Post showing that this was, instead, 'white rage at work. With so much attention on the flames,' she wrote, 'everyone had ignored the kindling.'

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent history, modern analysis less so

  • By S. Yates on 02-17-18

Incredibly Detailed Chronology... But...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-05-19

So what do we do now? We have all this information and documentation and precedent and yet, things continue along the exact same continuum. The partisan focus is narrow and iatrogenic in that it presumes we are better served by the liberal racists and obfuscators then by the whitewashed closet racists. When in fact, we are as denigrated by one as we are exploited by the other. Until we acknowledge and hone in on WEPS (White, Elite, Patriarchal, Supremacy) and the insidious institutions, recycled reactions, and toxic ecosystems founded on colonization and racism, we will remain stuck in a vicious cycle of treating symptoms while the cancer continues to spread.

  • The Biology of Belief

  • By: Bruce H. Lipton Ph.D.
  • Narrated by: Bruce H. Lipton Ph.D.
  • Length: 3 hrs and 19 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,479
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,710
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,693

Since the publication of The Biology of Belief, Dr. Bruce Lipton has received widespread acclaim as one of the most accessible and knowledgeable voices of "new biology". The science is called epigenetics – a revolutionary field that shows us how the energy of consciousness is as important in shaping life on earth as DNA and chemistry.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Audiobook or speech?

  • By Jay on 05-19-12

We are not genetic automatons!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-11-18

Thoroughly enjoyed this eye opening journey through the history of science and the future of human optimization!!

  • How to Change Your Mind

  • What the New Science of Psychedelics Teaches Us About Consciousness, Dying, Addiction, Depression, and Transcendence
  • By: Michael Pollan
  • Narrated by: Michael Pollan
  • Length: 13 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 10,272
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 9,247
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,178

When Michael Pollan set out to research how LSD and psilocybin (the active ingredient in magic mushrooms) are being used to provide relief to people suffering from difficult-to-treat conditions such as depression, addiction, and anxiety, he did not intend to write what is undoubtedly his most personal book. But upon discovering how these remarkable substances are improving the lives not only of the mentally ill but also of healthy people coming to grips with the challenges of everyday life, he decided to explore the landscape of the mind in the first person as well as the third.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A delightful trip

  • By Paul E. Williams on 05-19-18

Mind Blown!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-29-18

This is one of the most informative books I have ever read, about any subject! It continues to amaze me how debilitating, near-sighted, and counter-productive governments can be in the name of social engineering and is attempts to legislate morality. The pale of the state is at the core of many of our greatest flaws as a people.

Rich Dad, Poor Dad audiobook cover art
  • Rich Dad, Poor Dad

  • What the Rich Teach Their Kids About Money - That the Poor and Middle Class Do Not!
  • By: Robert T. Kiyosaki, Sharon L. Lechter C.P.A.
  • Narrated by: Stephen Hoye
  • Length: 3 hrs
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,709
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 417
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 427

People learn to work for money...but never to have money work for them. That's what Robert Kiyosaki says in this guide about what rich dads tell their children that poor dads do not. Browse all Rich Dad titles.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good starter

  • By TomD on 02-11-03

Timeless classic...!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-16-18

I read it every two years and always feel stronger and more resolved to follow my plan and achieve my goals!!!

  • Cryptocurrency: 4 Books in 1: Cryptocurrency, Bitcoin, Blockchain & Ethereum for Beginners

  • By: FinTech Publishing
  • Narrated by: Michael Hatak
  • Length: 5 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 325
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 311
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 309

This four-in-one bundle of FinTech Publishing's mind-blowing cryptocurrency series is all you need to learn all you need to get started on a lucrative path to earning big bucks trading cryptocurrency.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Who ever wrote this is really not a writer

  • By C. Gilreath on 09-11-17

Mediocre production

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-04-17

This is the most hastily assembled book I have every read... it's obviously biased towards ethereum and still managed to contradict itself.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Bitcoin: 2 Books in 1

  • The Concise Guide to Bitcoin and Blockchain - How to Make Money Online with Cryptocurrency
  • By: T.J. Richmond
  • Narrated by: Kenneth Brian Long
  • Length: 3 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 8
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 8
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 8

In this two-book bundle, you will find accurate, detailed information that will help you understand what Bitcoin and Blockchain are, how they are currently being used, and how you can use them to accomplish your own needs, wants, goals and ambitions. This bundle will explain everything that you need to know to get started with cryptocurrencies.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • If u know nothing great

  • By Harriett Harden on 12-07-17

Great Beginner Information

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-22-17

Thoroughly enjoyed reading Richman's book! Specifially, the width of knowledge in the dual book helped solidify my understanding of Bitcoin and Blockchain technology.

  • The Rise of Superman

  • Decoding the Science of Ultimate Human Performance
  • By: Steven Kotler
  • Narrated by: Jeff Cummings
  • Length: 9 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,046
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,764
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,764

In this groundbreaking audiobook, New York Times best-selling author Steven Kotler decodes the mystery of ultimate human performance. Drawing on over a decade of research and first-hand reporting with dozens of top action and adventure sports athletes like big wave legend Laird Hamilton, big mountain snowboarder Jeremy Jones, and skateboarding pioneer Danny Way, Kotler explores the frontier science of “flow”, an optimal state of consciousness in which we perform and feel our best.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Still unclear

  • By Justin & Lindsay on 05-12-15

Awesome. Thought provoking. Challenging.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-18-17

This book, and the subsequent, Stealing Fire, offer a tantilizing glimpse into the evolution of mankind!!

  • Stealing Fire

  • How Silicon Valley, the Navy SEALs, and Maverick Scientists Are Revolutionizing the Way We Live and Work
  • By: Steven Kotler, Jamie Wheal
  • Narrated by: Fred Sanders
  • Length: 8 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,610
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,055
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,042

The authors of the best-selling Bold and The Rise of Superman explore altered states of consciousness and how they can ignite passion, fuel creativity, and accelerate problem solving, in this groundbreaking book in the vein of Daniel Pink's Drive and Charles Duhigg's Smarter Faster Better.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Very disappointing. Not what it promises to be.

  • By R8r on 03-18-17

Intriguing, Challenging, Hopeful, and Cautionary

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-24-17

Absorbed in two days, may take a lifetime to unpack... highly recommend to anyone seeking more out of life.