LISTENER

Katelyn Roos

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 25
  • ratings
  • The Lion's Bride

  • By: Connie Mason
  • Narrated by: Simon Mattacks
  • Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 52
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 44
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 43

Lord Lyon of Normandy had saved William the Conqueror from certain death on the battlefield, yet neither his strength nor his skill could defend him against the defiant beauty the king chose for his wife. Ariana of Cragmere lost her lands and her virtue to the mighty warrior, but the willful beauty swore never to surrender her heart.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Spine tingling awesome

  • By Ellen on 05-18-18

Very angst-ridden

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-02-18

This book was a quick listen, but there was no softening of hearts before the ending, which got dull throughout. This is a pretty good attempt at historical romance, but the scenes were disjointed and lacked clear transitions.

  • The Escape Artist

  • By: Brad Meltzer
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick, January LaVoy
  • Length: 12 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 4,718
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,313
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 4,286

Who is Nola Brown? Nola is a mystery. Nola is trouble. And Nola is supposed to be dead. Her body was found on a plane that mysteriously fell from the sky as it left a secret military base in the Alaskan wilderness. Her commanding officer verifies she's dead. The US government confirms it. But Jim "Zig" Zigarowski has just found out the truth: Nola is still alive. And on the run.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Not His Best

  • By Amazon Customer on 03-10-18

Great Thriller

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-20-18

Excellent performance, believable theories backed up with relatable characters. This was on the edge of your seat from start to finish!
There's no sappy ending, which is a rare occurrence in the thriller industry.

  • Peter and the Starcatchers

  • The Starcatchers, Book 1
  • By: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson
  • Narrated by: Jim Dale
  • Length: 8 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,964
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,387
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,383

In an evocative and fast-paced adventure on the high seas and on a faraway island an orphan boy named Peter and his mysterious new friend, Molly, overcome bands of pirates and thieves in their quest to keep a fantastical secret safe and save the world from evil.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A fast paced frolic on the high seas!

  • By Deborah on 12-19-08

EXCELLENT read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-11-18

This book was very fun, just clean enough that I could listen with my young boys, and performed admirably.
Jim Dale always delivers the best in storytelling, and this is no exception.
The story is so easy to get lost in!

  • Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen

  • By: Garth Nix
  • Narrated by: Graeme Malcolm
  • Length: 11 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,379
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,261
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,267

Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world-building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic, and is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great prequel to Abhorsen trilogy

  • By ciorstan on 10-17-14

Good story, miss Tim Curry

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-25-17

This story is okay, though unfortunately Tim Curry couldn't narrate. Good side-story to Abhorson series.

  • Sabriel

  • By: Garth Nix
  • Narrated by: Tim Curry
  • Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,859
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,981
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,986

Ever since she was a tiny child, Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom, away from the random power of Free Magic, and away from the Dead who won't stay dead. But now her father, the Mage Abhorsen, is missing, and to find him Sabriel must cross back into that world.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Enraptured

  • By T. HICKS on 06-20-09

Great listen!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-21-17

Tim Curry is a magnificent storyteller! The story is enthralling and there is VERY great world woven with words.

  • Fishers of Men

  • Kingdom and the Crown, Vol. 1
  • By: Gerald N. Lund
  • Narrated by: Larry A. McKeever
  • Length: 22 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 367
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 330
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 330

In an ancient land in a time foretold by prophets, a babe was born beneath a shining star. Thirty years later, Jesus of Nazareth began teaching a message of hope, peace, and love. He claimed to be the Son of God, and his words - and his life - would change the world. Though David ben Joseph is quick to accept Jesus as the Messiah, the rest of his family is more cautious.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Please more books like these.

  • By Elizabeth on 07-06-16

Excellent read!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-04-17

The narrator does a very good job with distinguishing voices. Very good read, Gerald N. Lund seems to have been meticulous in his research, great historical fiction!

  • Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25

  • By: Richard Paul Evans
  • Narrated by: Fred Berman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,552
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,257
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,269

To everyone at Meridian High School, Michael Vey is an ordinary 14-year-old. In fact, the only thing that seems to set him apart is the fact that he has Tourette's syndrome. But Michael is anything but ordinary. Michael has special powers. Electric powers....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Your never too old to enjoy a good story

  • By KCK on 08-18-11

Good

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-03-16

The book was excellent and exciting. I appreciated that there were no swear words and the reader had excellent, different voices for each character.