LISTENER

Suzanna

Austin, TX, United States
  • 12
  • reviews
  • 13
  • helpful votes
  • 336
  • ratings
  • Until I Met Her

  • By: Natalie Barelli
  • Narrated by: Kate Rudd
  • Length: 8 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 340
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 309
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 306

Beatrice Johnson Greene, a bestselling crime writer, has an unusual favor to ask. When a chance encounter brings Emma Fern into her life, she thinks she's found just the person for the job. Soon Beatrice will wish they'd never met. For Emma, desperate to please, it's an offer she can't refuse. All she has to do is lend her name to Beatrice's next novel, her first in a new genre. But when the book becomes a huge triumph, Emma finds herself the toast of the literary world.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Listen to a sample..

  • By Suzanna on 10-22-17

Listen to a sample..

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-22-17

The narrator drove me batty, but it might be an idiosyncrasy of mine... her emphasis and pauses drove me nuts.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • The Perfect Witness

  • By: Iris Johansen
  • Narrated by: Elisabeth Rodgers
  • Length: 10 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 974
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 858
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 854

From the blockbuster bestselling author of the Eve Duncan novels comes a new, stand alone thriller about a woman with a photographic memory who has lived her life in the Witness Protection Program. What she once put her entire family in jeopardy and now, years later, her cover is blown. She’s on the run, and the lives of those she holds dear hang in the balance. As only Iris Johansen can do, you won’t see the twists coming.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Worst book I've read this year

  • By Mari on 12-30-14

Blend a crappy thriller with boring romance

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-14-15

And this what you get. Absolutely nothing redeeming at all. I mean nothing. No noteworthy characters, plot, nor dialogue. A suck fest. Least favorite audiobook ever!

  • The Beginning of the End

  • Apocalypse Z
  • By: Manel Loureiro
  • Narrated by: Nick Podehl
  • Length: 11 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,938
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,762
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,764

A mysterious incident in Russia, a blip buried in the news - it’s the only warning humanity receives that civilization will soon be destroyed by a single, voracious virus that creates monsters of men. A lawyer, still grieving over the death of his young wife, begins to write as a form of therapy. But he never expected that his anonymous blog and journal would ultimately record humanity’s last days. Governments scramble to stop the zombie virus, people panic, so-called Safe Havens are established, the world erupts into chaos; soon it’s every man, woman, and child for themselves.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Meanwhile, in Spain...

  • By Lesley on 05-10-14

I love all zombie books,

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-02-15

So I'm not discerning. As they go, solid. Friggin loved the addition of a cat being a cat even during the apocalypse.

  • Nine Princes in Amber

  • The Chronicles of Amber, Book 1
  • By: Roger Zelazny
  • Narrated by: Alessandro Juliani
  • Length: 5 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3,600
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,288
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 3,310

Amber is the one real world, of which all others including our own Earth are but Shadows. Amber burns in Corwin's blood. Exiled on Shadow Earth for centuries, the prince is about to return to Amber to make a mad and desperate rush upon the throne.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great book, lame deal!

  • By Robert on 08-13-12

Not my cup o' tea, but I...

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-15-13

... listened to it while grumpy and a bit distracted. I didn't really care what happened, so maybe I need to go get my meds adjusted or perhaps - a rarity - I just didn't like it. I loved the amnesia at the beginning, but after that I grew totally complacent. I felt absolutely nothing for the protagonist - neither disdain nor affection. But I didn't hate it enough to stop listening I found listening to be comforting like the whir of a fan when you are asleep or the hum of traffic at a interstate Motel 6.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Redshirts

  • A Novel with Three Codas
  • By: John Scalzi
  • Narrated by: Wil Wheaton
  • Length: 7 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 16,610
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 15,565
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 15,543

Ensign Andrew Dahl has just been assigned to the Universal Union Capital Ship Intrepid, flagship of the Universal Union since the year 2456. Life couldn’t be better…until Andrew begins to pick up on the facts that (1) every Away Mission involves some kind of lethal confrontation with alien forces; (2) the ship’s captain, its chief science officer, and the handsome Lieutenant Kerensky always survive these confrontations; and (3) at least one low-ranked crew member is, sadly, always killed.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Clever, creative, and FUN!

  • By Kent on 04-18-13

I'm such a geek and...

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-04-13

... I LOVE THIS book. It's not gonna change the world, but should be entertaining for fans of Star Trek and Galaxy Quest.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Water for Elephants

  • By: Sara Gruen
  • Narrated by: David LeDoux, John Randolph Jones
  • Length: 11 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20,143
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,009
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,091

Why we think it’s a great listen: Some books are meant to be read; others are meant to be heard – Water for Elephants falls into the second group, and is one of the best examples we have of how a powerful performance enhances a great story. Nonagenarian Jacob Jankowski reflects back on his wild and wondrous days with a circus. It's the Depression Era and Jacob, finding himself parentless and penniless, joins the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show on Earth.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Rosie the bull elephant?

  • By Randall on 07-22-07

Adequate...

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-04-13

... nothing exceptional; nothing unexpected... all kind of cliche, but man - I would love to join a traveling circus despite the perils.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • The Bone Season

  • By: Samantha Shannon
  • Narrated by: Alana Kerr Collins
  • Length: 14 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,915
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 2,657
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,667

The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people's minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant, and in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.... It is raining the day her life changes forever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford - a city kept secret for 200 years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Fabulous but mismarketed - its not Harry Potter

  • By Steph on 09-05-13

Her voice is like a comfy snuggle..

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-26-13

... and the story was good, but for me - not great. I love the narrator's voice - she would rock the phone book!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Chiefs

  • By: Stuart Woods
  • Narrated by: Mark Hammer
  • Length: 17 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,136
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,401
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,396

In 1919, Delano, Georgia, appoints its first chief of police. Honest and hardworking, the new chief is puzzled when young men start to disappear. But his investigation is ended by the fatal blast from a shotgun. Delano's second chief-of-police is no hero, yet he is also disturbed by what he sees in the missing-persons bulletins. In 1969, when Delano's third chief takes over, the unsolved disappearances still haunt the police files.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • In my 'Top Ten' books of all time!

  • By karen on 09-17-13

Like this book very much...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-23-13

... I had been avoiding it for awhile, but was totally engrossed. Really liked the narrator.

  • Quiet

  • The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking
  • By: Susan Cain
  • Narrated by: Kathe Mazur
  • Length: 10 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,200
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11,452
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11,386

At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking, reading to partying; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over brainstorming in teams. Although they are often labeled "quiet," it is to introverts that we owe many of the great contributions to society--from van Gogh’s sunflowers to the invention of the personal computer.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Confidence booster for introverts their parents

  • By Neuron on 02-28-14

Makes my introvert-self swell

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-23-13

Finally! I have permission to spend my free time alone with a book! And it doesn't mean I am anti-social. LOVED THIS BOOK! Totally enables me to continue being socially awkward!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Help

  • By: Kathryn Stockett
  • Narrated by: Jenna Lamia, Bahni Turpin, Octavia Spencer, and others
  • Length: 18 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 37,389
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 23,304
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 23,322

In pitch-perfect voices, Kathryn Stockett creates three extraordinary women whose determination to start a movement of their own forever changes a town, and the way women - mothers, daughters, caregivers, friends - view one another. A deeply moving novel filled with poignancy, humor, and hope, The Help is a timeless and universal story about the lines we abide by, and the ones we don't.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • What a great surprise!

  • By Jan on 12-02-09

Blew me Away - Standing O

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-23-13

Typically this genre isn't my cup of tea, but I was totally engrossed. Thought the narrators were INCREDIBLE! Thought the characters were lovable (and hate-able, appropriately).