LISTENER

Oh Good Grief

  • 9
  • reviews
  • 101
  • helpful votes
  • 497
  • ratings
  • Tombland

  • By: C.J. Sansom
  • Narrated by: Steven Crossley
  • Length: 37 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 145
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 137
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 137

The nominal king, Edward VI, is 11 years old. His uncle, Edward Seymour, Lord Hertford, rules as Edward's regent and Protector. In the kingdom, radical Protestants are driving the old religion into extinction, while the Protector's prolonged war with Scotland has led to hyperinflation and economic collapse. Rebellion is stirring among the peasantry. Matthew Shardlake has been working as a lawyer in the service of Henry's younger daughter, the lady Elizabeth. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great book- download in parts

  • By Oh Good Grief on 02-11-19

Great book- download in parts

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-11-19

The book lives up to the other wonderful books in the series. The only issue is the missing chapter bug that occurs when it is downloaded as one part. Make sure you download it in parts so you get the entire book. Also, the last 2 HOURS are not part of the book, but are research notes and an “historical essay.”

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Murder at Half Moon Gate

  • By: Andrea Penrose
  • Narrated by: James Cameron Stewart
  • Length: 12 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 308
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 278
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 277

When Lord Wrexford discovers the body of a gifted inventor in a dark London alley, he promptly alerts the watchman and lets the authorities handle the matter. But Wrexford soon finds himself drawn into the murder investigation when the inventor's widow begs for his assistance, claiming the crime was not a random robbery. It seems her husband's designs for a revolutionary steam-powered engine went missing the night of his death. The plans could be worth a fortune and very dangerous in the wrong hands.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Murder at Half Moon Gate

  • By all smiles on 08-14-18

Good story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-19-19

Overall the story was good. The narration had an odd, cadence that was distracting at times. The author also used and excess of onomatopoeia (thud, thud, snick, puff puff, tap, tap). Way too much of a good thing.

  • Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons

  • Rose Gardner Mystery #2
  • By: Denise Grover Swank
  • Narrated by: Frances Fuller
  • Length: 10 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 510
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 440
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 444

When Rose reports for Fenton County jury duty she figures she's lucky to get out of a morning working at the DMV. Instead, despite a disastrous encounter with the new assistant district attorney, Mason Deveraux, she's picked as a juror on a murder case. As the trial progresses, she realizes an ominous vision she had in the men's restroom proves the defendant is innocent. And there's not a cotton picking thing she can do about it. Or is there? As if things weren't bad enough, Rose's older sister Violet is going through a mid-life crisis.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good for the genre

  • By John on 07-30-15

Story is good - narration SO DISTRACTING

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-15-18

Who is this narrator’s editor? Narrator mispronounces most words with more than 4-5 syllables. If it were not so annoying it would be comical

  • The Word of Promise Audio Bible - New King James Version, NKJV: Complete Bible

  • By: Thomas Nelson Inc.
  • Narrated by: Jason Alexander, Joan Allen, Richard Dreyfuss, and others
  • Length: 98 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,781
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,728
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 4,730

This faithful rendering of the New King James Version presents the Bible in more than 90 hours of compelling, dramatic audio theater format.This world-class audio production immerses listeners in the dramatic reality of the Scriptures as never before with an original music score by composer Stefano Mainetti (Abba Pater), feature film quality sound effects, and compelling narration by Michael York and the work of over 500 actors.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Lovely...needs a section guide. I made one

  • By A. Lee on 08-29-16

Moses is from Jersey?

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-30-18

I wanted so much to enjoy this. Mostly the performance was good, but the voice of Moses was SO DISTRACTING that I could hardly listen to it. I’m hoping the rest of the actors don’t have (or act with) such blatant anachronistic accents.

  • Dead with the Wind

  • By: Miranda James
  • Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
  • Length: 6 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 139
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 121
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 120

An’gel and Dickce Ducote tend to stay put in Athena, Mississippi, but a wedding is a good reason to say a temporary farewell to Charlie Harris' cat, Diesel, and go visit relatives. But while their stay in Louisiana is scorching hot, the atmosphere at the wedding is downright cold, with bride-to-be Sondra Delevan putting her trust fund above little things like love and loyalty. When a violent storm supposedly sweeps Sondra off a balcony to her death, many guests are potential suspects....

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Painful to listen to

  • By Oh Good Grief on 05-13-18

Painful to listen to

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-13-18

Honestly, the narration is SO bad that I could not make myself listen to more than one chapter. I wanted so much to hear the book, but not with this nasally/adenoidal childish voice.

  • A Crafty Killing

  • Victoria Square Mystery, Book 1
  • By: Lorraine Bartlett
  • Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
  • Length: 8 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 219
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 195
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 190

The last thing Katie Bonner wanted was to become the manager of Artisans Alley. But when her business partner Ezra Hilton is found bludgeoned to death, she has no other choice. Business under Ezra had been faltering - but was it enough to provoke someone to murder? Only Katie can find the answer.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • very enjoyable

  • By Merritt on 04-06-15

PAINFUL to hear

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-28-16

The narration was so monotone it was painful to listen to. I just could not get past that and finish the story. It's a shame because I really wanted to like this one.

  • A Curious Beginning

  • By: Deanna Raybourn
  • Narrated by: Angele Masters
  • Length: 10 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,816
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,431
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,421

As the city prepares to celebrate Queen Victoria's golden jubilee, Veronica Speedwell is marking a milestone of her own. After burying her spinster aunt, the orphaned Veronica is free to resume her world travels in pursuit of scientific inquiry - and the occasional romantic dalliance. As familiar with hunting butterflies as she is fending off admirers, Veronica wields her butterfly net and a hatpin with equal aplomb, and with her last connection to England gone, she intends to embark upon the journey of a lifetime.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • For fans of Elizabeth Peters and Gail Carriger

  • By L. Williams on 06-29-16

A delightful and entertaining read!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-19-15

One of Deanna Raybourn's best! This book is quite fun to listen to, the characters are witty and clever. I enjoyed the banter between the main characters. The plot is not predictable yet not to convoluted either. It is a perfect "cozy mystery." I hope this is the beginning of a series.

75 of 82 people found this review helpful

  • The Devil Takes a Bride

  • By: Julia London
  • Narrated by: Rosalyn Landor
  • Length: 9 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 149
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 132
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 133

Once the toast of society, Grace Cabot and her sisters now await the shame of losing high status and fine luxuries upon the death of the Earl of Beckington. The dire circumstances are inevitable unless, of course, Grace's wicked plot to seduce a wealthy viscount into marriage goes off without a single hitch. But once a stolen embrace with the wrong man leads her to be discovered in the arms of Jeffrey, the Earl of Merryton, her plan takes a most unexpected - and scorching - twist - and altered by passion.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Not your normal romance book

  • By Oh Good Grief on 12-13-15

Not your normal romance book

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-13-15

This book is based on the man's fantasies of bondage, whipping women, multiple women and more. The woman feels she has to sumitro these activities in order to relieve him of his "demons". It is quite an uncomfortable book to listen to and honestly I could not finish it. I was disappointed since I liked the first of this series pretty well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • A Fatal Waltz

  • Lady Emily, Book 3
  • By: Tasha Alexander
  • Narrated by: Charlotte Anne Dore
  • Length: 9 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 193
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars 183
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 182

At her friend Ivy's behest, Lady Emily Ashton reluctantly agrees to attend a party at the sprawling English country estate of a man she finds odious. But the despised Lord Fortescue is not to be her greatest problem.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Good story- if you can get past the narration

  • By Oh Good Grief on 05-20-15

Good story- if you can get past the narration

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-20-15

The narration is so distracting it's difficult to follow the story. Quite amateurish. I've listened to all the others in this series and that is the ONLY reason I didn't return the book after the first five minutes.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful