LISTENER

Amanda Wolfe

  • 9
  • reviews
  • 33
  • helpful votes
  • 16
  • ratings
  • Beartown

  • By: Fredrik Backman
  • Narrated by: Marin Ireland
  • Length: 13 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,832
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,251
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,227

People say Beartown is finished. A tiny community nestled deep in the forest, it is slowly losing ground to the ever encroaching trees. But down by the lake stands an old ice rink, built generations ago by the working men who founded this town. And in that ice rink is the reason people in Beartown believe tomorrow will be better than today. Their junior ice hockey team is about to compete in the national semifinals, and they actually have a shot at winning.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Barrel To The Head, A Slug To The Gut--

  • By Gillian on 04-28-17

I wanted to love it....

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-19-17

I love all of Fredrick Backman's previous books but this one seriousy missed the mark for me. I finished it purely out of loyalty to the author but struggled to do so. The story was sliced up and told in a jumbled mess and in weird summaries, almost like a string of short stories shuffled into one. Definitely no where near Ove.

31 of 39 people found this review helpful

  • The Bear and the Nightingale

  • A Novel
  • By: Katherine Arden
  • Narrated by: Kathleen Gati
  • Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,137
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,944
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,940

At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year, and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind - she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I was swept away

  • By Crystal Midkiff on 02-04-17

Interesting, but grusome

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-27-17

I took a chance on this one, definitely not a normal read for me. I enjoyed the Russian folklore and the unusual names and accents. I made it almost to the end but (spoiler) the parts about the "undead" were just too much for me. If you like zombies and some gore, go for it, but it left me uneasy and a little wigged out. The narrator was great though!

  • Bel Canto

  • By: Ann Patchett
  • Narrated by: Anna Fields
  • Length: 11 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3,749
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,704
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,714

Ann Patchett’s award winning, New York Times best-selling Bel Canto balances themes of love and crisis as disparate characters learn that music is their only common language. As in Pratchett’s other novels, including Truth & Beauty and The Magician’s Assistant, the author’s lyrical prose and lucid imagination make Bel Canto a captivating story of strength and frailty, love and imprisonment, and an inspiring tale of transcendent romance. 

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Opera Has Charms to Soothe the Savage Guerillas

  • By Mel on 03-01-13

Wow. Just Wow!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-08-17

This is not a topic or storyline that I would normally choose, but I recently finished (and enjoyed) Commonwealth so I thought I'd give it a try. I am SO glad I did. Enjoy this one, folks. It's beautiful and sad and wonderful all at once. I dare you not to love it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

  • A Novel
  • By: Rachel Joyce
  • Narrated by: Jim Broadbent
  • Length: 9 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,656
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,897
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,903

Meet Harold Fry, recently retired. He lives in a small English village with his wife, Maureen, who seems irritated by almost everything he does, even down to how he butters his toast. Little differentiates one day from the next. Then one morning the mail arrives, and within the stack is a letter addressed to Harold from a woman he hasn't seen or heard from in 20 years. Queenie Hennessy is in hospice and is writing to say goodbye. Harold pens a quick reply and, leaving Maureen to her chores, heads to the corner mailbox. But then Harold has a chance encounter, one that convinces him that he absolutely must deliver his message to Queenie in person.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Wonderful Walkabout

  • By FanB14 on 07-01-13

LOVE.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-11-16

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I really enjoyed this story- you will root for Harold until the very end.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Truly Madly Guilty

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 17 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 9,181
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,472
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 8,436

In Truly Madly Guilty, Liane Moriarty takes on the foundations of our lives: marriage, sex, parenthood, and friendship. She shows how guilt can expose the fault lines in the most seemingly strong relationships, how what we don't say can be more powerful than what we do, and how sometimes it is the most innocent of moments that can do the greatest harm.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Not quite enough

  • By David Shear on 07-29-16

Worth the read!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-11-16

Did Caroline Lee do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

Her voice was hard to get used to- I pushed through because the story was so good, but I definitely wished the narrator was different.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes- the story definitely held my attention and kept pulling me back in.

Any additional comments?

Definitely worth the credit- really enjoyed this book!

  • Nine Women, One Dress

  • A Novel
  • By: Jane L. Rosen
  • Narrated by: full cast
  • Length: 6 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,505
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,392
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,385

Natalie is a Bloomingdale's salesgirl mooning over her lawyer ex-boyfriend, who's engaged to someone else after just two months. Felicia has been quietly in love with her boss for 17 years and has one night to finally make the feeling mutual. Andie is a private detective who specializes in gathering evidence on cheating husbands - a skill she unfortunately learned from her own life - and lands a case that may restore her faith in true love.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A perfect fit for fans of "Love, Actually." It's a delight!

  • By Katherine on 08-13-16

Predictable, Light & Fluffy, Just Ok

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-11-16

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

Yes, it is ok- if all you're looking for is a predictable rom-com type book. Light and fluffy. No big epiphanies here.

What about full cast’s performance did you like?

I liked the range of characters, I think without them the book would not have held my interest. The person who compared this to Love Actually was dead on.

Any additional comments?

Overall, this book was just OK. Not sure it was worth the credit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Harriet Wolf's Seventh Book of Wonders

  • A Novel
  • By: Julianna Baggott
  • Narrated by: Jodi Carlisle, Christine Lakin, Katie Koster, and others
  • Length: 10 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 53
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 51
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 50

Harriet Wolf's Seventh Book of Wonders tells the moving story of the unforgettable Wolf women in four distinct voices: the mysterious Harriet, who, until now, has never revealed the secrets of her past; her fiery, overprotective daughter, Eleanor; and her two grown granddaughters - Tilton, the fragile yet exuberant younger sister who's become a housebound hermit, and Ruth, the older sister who ran away at 16 and never looked back.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing

  • By Barbara on 08-02-17

Might be good, but couldn't stand the narrators!

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-02-16

Only made it to the second chapter. I'm interested in the story, but can't get past the horrible narrators. Returning for something else...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry

  • A Novel
  • By: Fredrik Backman
  • Narrated by: Joan Walker
  • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,172
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,322
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,299

Elsa is seven years old and different. Her grandmother is 77 years old and crazy, standing-on-the-balcony-firing-paintball-guns-at-men-who-want-to-talk-about-Jesus crazy. She is also Elsa's best and only friend. At night Elsa takes refuge in her grandmother's stories, in the Land of Almost-Awake and the Kingdom of Miamas, where everybody is different and nobody needs to be normal.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • For those who are "different" only! Quirky & sweet

  • By Catherine on 05-18-16

Fredrik Backman is the very best story teller.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-22-16

You will fall in love with each character, especially Elsa. Sweet and funny, this book will make you believe in fairy tales again.

  • A Man Called Ove

  • By: Fredrik Backman
  • Narrated by: George Newbern
  • Length: 9 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 61,233
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 56,038
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 55,940

Meet Ove. He's a curmudgeon - the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him "the bitter neighbor from hell". But behind the cranky exterior there is a story and a sadness.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I Laughed and I Cried

  • By Bill on 08-22-15

You'll love this book- I promise.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-25-16

I could not stop listening to this book- I fell in love with each character, especially Ove. The narrator is perfect and the imagery is so vivid you'll think you live on the same street as them. Best book I've read in a long time!!