LISTENER

Brian

Niagara Falls, NY
  • 451
  • reviews
  • 1,707
  • helpful votes
  • 454
  • ratings
  • Convergence

  • By: Michael Patrick Hicks
  • Narrated by: Travis Baldree
  • Length: 7 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 2

Jonah Everitt is a killer, an addict, and a memory thief. After being hired to kill a ranking officer of the Pacific Rim Coalition and download his memories, Everitt finds himself caught in the crosshairs of a terror cell, a rogue military squadron, and a Chinese gangster named Alice Xie. Xie is a profiteer of street drugs, primarily DRMR, a powerful narcotic made from the memories of the dead. With his daughter, Mesa, missing in post-war Los Angeles, Everitt is forced into an uneasy alliance with Alice to find her.  

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Great Story Beginning To End

  • By Brian on 04-09-19

A Great Story Beginning To End

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-09-19

Let’s just start it out by saying that I loved it. If you want to see those check them out here.

The main character was one of those I shouldn’t like him but I do kind of guys. He could rub you the wrong way one moment and then totally redeem himself in the next. He was real and raw and had me rooting for him throughout Convergence.

The biggest worry I had after finishing Convergence is that I feel like our society is going down the same path that leads us to the main issue (pre-this book). That scares the heck out of me. Hicks was able to write a story that was set in the future, with future tech, cool stuff, and in a world that was almost destroyed and it was completely believable in my eyes.

Overall, it was an enjoyable book that I hope I get to listen to more of. I also hope that Baldree signs on to do the rest of them – his narrator really brought this book home for me. It was a book that made me think and a book that when I was finished I almost started it over again because I know I missed some parts that would make the book even better (like you do when you finish a movie like Fight Club and you have to go back to see what you missed).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • They Feed

  • By: Jason Parent
  • Narrated by: Joe Hempel
  • Length: 6 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5

The night uncovers all we wish not to see. A troubled man enters a dusky park before sunset. A young woman follows, hidden in shadow. Both have returned to the park to take back something the past has stolen from them, to make right six long years of suffering, and to find justice or perhaps redemption - or maybe they'll settle for some old-fashioned revenge. But something evil is alive and awake in those woods, creatures that care nothing for human motivations. They’re driven by their own insatiable need: a ravenous, bottomless hunger.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Tour de Force Horror Novel

  • By Brian on 04-07-19

A Tour de Force Horror Novel

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-07-19

I haven’t read a book in basically one sitting in a long time. They Feed sucked me in and wouldn’t let me go. I started listening while doing some editing on my blog earlier in the day – and I ended up sitting down in the evening because I couldn’t get it out of my head. It was like the monsters in the book were real and they were calling to me.

The beginning of They Feed reminded me a bit of another book that I’m currently listening to that Joe Hempel narrated – but it pretty quickly diverged and became its own monster horror story. The first half of the book was setting up the characters, the setting, and slightly into what horrors would come.

Just know that after reading They Feed, I’m going to have a hard time going into the woods near dark anymore. It scared me in one of those “I’m going to think about this all the time” ways. It wasn’t full of jump scares or cliched banter – it was just a tour-de-force mental scare. Parent was able to pull this off without giving away what was actually causing the issue until near the very end of the book.

Without giving it away I’m going to mention a line about the final reveal. Good lord, I did not see that coming. Not. At. All. Parent, while scaring me half to death throughout the book and taking me on an emotional roller coaster came out with a final haymaker to absolutely knock me off my feet with that final reveal.

Overall, a great horror novel narrated perfectly by Joe Hempel. A book that I was excited for when I saw the original cover reveal only to be bummed that the audiobook wasn’t slated for any time near the ebook release. I was then re-excited when I saw that the voice of horror – Joe Hempel was chosen to narrate it. I wasn’t let down at all from any of my enthusiasm. I’ll be looking for more horror stories from Parent (hopefully narrated by Hempel).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Trackers

  • Trackers, Book 1
  • By: Nicholas Sansbury Smith
  • Narrated by: Bronson Pinchot
  • Length: 8 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,190
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,126
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,121

Estes Park police chief Marcus Colton and tracker Sam "Raven" Spears have never liked one another, but when a young girl goes missing in Rocky Mountain National Park, Colton hires Spears to help find her. Their search ends after a night of devastating horror. When word reaches Estes that the nation has been hit by a coordinated electromagnetic pulse attack, Colton and Spears are forced to work together again. But they quickly realize they aren't just tracking a killer - they are tracking a madman.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • makes you think

  • By N.W.Wisniewski on 02-19-17

TEOTWAWKI Combined With A Serial Killer Thriller

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-04-19

4.5 out of 5 stars

Trackers is a book (and a series) set in a world where North Korea has taken down most of the United States with a “perfectly strategized” atomic bomb attack – high in the atmosphere – aka setting off an EMP. It is also a book about a serial killer. That makes this one of the most unique books I’ve read in… well either genre. That’s what, in my opinion, made this one such a great story.

It wasn’t just another EMP/Post-Apocalyptic book where everything seems to work out for the good guys and all the bad guys seem to just do things with no good reason. Smith was able to write a story that was both believable but downright terrifying. Either one of the two stories that are interwoven would have scared me, but the combination of the two is what really got to me.

The lead up to and the eventual attack by NK feels like it is torn right out of the headlines. Smith does a fantastic job writing Political Fiction without actually making it too political. I love that there were good and bad guys in the political part of the story – but we never hear or find out what side of the fence they sit on. We’re able to pick and choose what we want to believe and then color the story our way. It’s a gutsy move as an author, but I think it absolutely pays off.

The serial killer/Native American folklore part of Trackers is what really sets this book apart from others in this genre. Smith was able to make a believable serial killer and one who was able to torment and terrify the townspeople of Estes Park. Really talking much more about this part of the book would spoil it, so just know you’re in for a totally unique twist.

Raven is easily one of the most unique and interesting characters I’ve ever read. Smith does a great job including some Native American lore along with what people living on reservations would deal with (especially “half-blood’s” like Raven). He was a “troubled” kind of guy who had gotten in trouble with the police but ends up helping them out numerous times.

Okay, so the only reason that this book lost .5. And if you’re reading this on any of the major sites (Audible, Goodreads, Amazon, etc.) it will get the 5 it deserves. Bronson Pinchot’s narration rubbed me the wrong way a few times. It was just times where a sentence would start off like this AND THEN GO INTO SOMEONE YELLING LIKE THIS (all while kinda sounding like you’re passing a kidney stone – aka through gritted teeth). It’s hard to describe and I almost feel guilty for pointing it out. But, the overall narration and feel of this book were uneasy – and that was done on purpose. The world is almost ending and people are being attacked by a serial killer. It’s an uneasy book.

Overall, a great start to a series that I’m definitely interested to see how it continues. I’m really intrigued by where Smith will take us next!

  • The Rescue

  • Ryan Decker, Book 1
  • By: Steven Konkoly
  • Narrated by: Thom Rivera
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 162
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 145
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 145

Former CIA operative turned mercenary for hire Ryan Decker’s specialty is rescuing kidnap victims. Hired by an influential US senator to liberate his daughter from a human-trafficking ring, Decker never anticipated sabotage or that the assault could go so disastrously wrong. The hostage is dead. His team is wiped out, and so are their families, including Decker’s own wife and son - eliminated one by one by the Russian mafia. And he’s survived to take the fall. When he’s inexplicably freed soon into a ten-year sentence in federal prison, Decker suspects another setup.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Masterfully Told Thriller

  • By Brian on 04-02-19

A Masterfully Told Thriller

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-02-19

I have a lot of Steven Konkoly titles in my TBR pile. I’m almost embarrassed to admit that I have more on my TBR than my actual read pile. But I kept hearing about this book. Numerous of the other authors that I follow were talking about how good this book was. I’m glad that I fell into peer pressure. The Rescue is the real deal. Konkoly is a fantastic Thriller author and The Rescue did not disappoint at all.

Sometimes I feel like I’m spoiled with books. When I get a couple of back-to-back 5-star titles I start to feel this way – but The Rescue was the real deal. I enjoyed it from beginning to end and I was completely invested in each character (especially Decker).

The Rescue introduces a slew of new things considering its book one in a new series. We’re introduced to Ryan Decker who reminded me a little bit of Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan mixed with some Jason Bourne along with a few others sprinkled in there for good measure. We’re introduced to him only to find out that he’s been arrested and put away (and not told why until later in the book). The rest of the story is him trying, not only to exonerate himself but also trying to put the real bad guys behind bars (or in the ground) for killing his friends and family.

Pretty much everyone else we meet is essential to the story but are also spoilers if I speak too much about them here. But know that there will be a kinda-sorta-beat-around-the-bush love interest and also a complete bad-A female who helps Decker out of some jams. You also have some old friends and some people “back from the dead”.

I loved The Rescue and I had an absolute blast reading it. It’s one of the best thrillers I’ve read in 2019 and I cannot wait to see what else Konkoly has in store for us and Decker.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • The Tournament of Supervillainy

  • The Supervillainy Saga, Book 5
  • By: C.T. Phipps
  • Narrated by: Jeffrey Kafer
  • Length: 7 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 402
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 379
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 378

Gary Karkofsky, aka Merciless the supervillain without mercy, is presently the most disliked supervillain in the world. Superheroes don't want to just throw him in jail, they want to deliver an epic beat down for ending their golden age by killing Merciful, the superhero with mercy.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Gary is back! Woo-hoo!

  • By JulieM on 01-29-19

A Fun Series AND Cross-Over Characters? Win!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-01-19

So… Phipps finally did it. He took my favorite characters from his other series… serieses… from his other books and added them to the Supervillainy Saga. In Tournament he includes Jane Doe from the Bright Falls Mysteries Series and Cassius Mass from Lucifer’s Star (both pictured in the cover), along with Agent G. Phipps was able to include them without making it feel forced and also made it really enjoyable if you’ve read the other books in their own worlds.

Book five, while I heard/read via Goodreads took a while to get out – I happened to read it about 1.5 weeks after book four and I can see where some people would have been mad. Having ravenously read this series over the last few months the books keep getting better and better. For a while, they were getting sillier and sillier to the point where I was worried that Phipps was going to go off the deep end with the books, but book five reels it in a bit.

We’re introduced to yet another bad guy – this time its Entropicus, the Space God of Evil. Now, we find out there is a tournament to save the existence of the multi-universe. Giving Gary/Merciless and the gang a reason to fight definitely helped this book and this series take a slightly serious tone to it. Don’t get me wrong, Phipps’ wit and snark are still around in Tournament – they just aren’t the main attraction.

Take all of what I said above and throw in the masterful storytelling ability of Jeffrey Kafer and you have a really enjoyable book. Tournament would eek into my favorites just because of the cross-stories with Jane, Agent G, and Cassius but even without those, it was an excellent book that I flew through.

I’m not sure where Phipps will take book 6 but know that I’m caught up – I’m eagerly awaiting its release.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Vigilance

  • By: Robert Jackson Bennett
  • Narrated by: Mark Boyett
  • Length: 3 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 8
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 7
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 7

The United States. 2030. John McDean executive produces "Vigilance", a reality game show designed to make sure American citizens stay alert to foreign and domestic threats. Shooters are introduced into a "game environment", and the survivors get a cash prize. The TV audience is not the only one that's watching though, and McDean soon finds out what it's like to be on the other side of the camera. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant

  • By Brian on 03-30-19

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-30-19

Vigilance tells the story of America’s favorite past-time – mass shootings. Reading this only weeks after the mass shooting in New Zealand made this feel even more poignant.

The fact that Bennett was able to take politics basically out of Vigilance baffles me. There was a little backstory on the US and how China has basically taken over. He also goes into some detail about how all the smart and good people left for other countries, basically abandoning the US – but none of that dealt with political reasons. He turned a book that I would have bet a lot of money would have been political and made it into a book based on marketing instead. Absolutely brilliant.

I hung on every word in this audiobook because it was presented in a way that I knew that they were all going to be important. Clocking in under 4 hours – I was hoping that Bennett could pull it off. Not only did he pull it off, he left me feeling completely hopeless and overwhelmed by the story he was able to tell in that time frame.

This review has rambled a bit because I really don’t know what to fully say about it. It was a brilliant piece written at the perfect time in history. I hope that we learn from it instead of the Brave New World and 1984’s where we basically let some of it come true – even though we were warned about it.

Overall, one of the most honest and real books I’ve ever read. A book that’ll definitely stay with me for a while.

  • The Science of Supervillainy

  • The Supervillainy Saga, Book 4
  • By: C. T. Phipps
  • Narrated by: Jeffrey Kafer
  • Length: 6 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,173
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,112
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,111

Gary Karkofsky a.k.a Merciless: The Supervillain Without Mercy (TM) returns in the fourth volume of the popular Supervillainy Saga. Having discovered the world's greatest superhero slain by his doppelganger from another reality, Merciful: The Supervillain with Mercy (TM), and the arrogant President Omega, Gary dedicates himself to overthrowing both. Unfortunately, this is harder than it looks since Merciful has all of Gary's genre savviness while President Omega has the entire brainwashed United States military.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • What started off fun, became a chore to finish

  • By C. White on 07-20-17

I Lied, Book Four Is My Favorite So Far

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-28-19

Sometimes when a series goes beyond three books what happens is that you start repeating ideas and even some of the snark and wittiness. That is not the case with book four of the Supervillainy Series.

Phipps is at it again this time introducing a doppelganger in Gary aka Merciless The Supervillain WITH Mercy. The fact that this is where this book went cracked me up. Let alone add in the humor that Phipps adds (and Kafer nails in the narration).

In my last review, I said that book four was my favorite but I might have to change my mind and say that the Science of Supervillainy is now my favorite. The dark and kind of moody feel to this book (without losing the charm, funny, and wit) really sets this one apart from the rest.

We have now spent quite a bit of time with Gary and I didn’t think there would be any surprises or new shocking things but in each book (and for some reason especially in this one) he keeps surprising me. Character development four books in for the same main character is shocking to me (in a good way). I love that Gary/Merciless continues to grow and allows me to like him even more as the books go on.

The addition of new characters, especially Gizmo also helped to make this my favorite so far. The reference to old school movies and the relationship really got me.

Something I haven’t pointed out yet in a review is how well Phipps writes dialogue. I guess that because I didn’t notice (meaning it’s done well) is probably why I haven’t pointed it out yet. But in all seriousness, the dialogue just flows from page to page, chapter to chapter, and book to book. He’s able to perfectly capture what a real conversation is like and make it feel like you’re just a fly on the wall. It’s a rare and great thing to have in a book. Phipps nails it.

Overall, as I said above, I believe that Science of Supervillainy is now my favorite book in this series. If you’ve loved the first three and also love witty banter, pop culture references, and antiheroes – then this book and series are for you.

  • Savior - Book Three of the Watcher Series

  • By: AJ Eversley
  • Narrated by: Chelsea Stephens, Steve Campbell
  • Length: 8 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 12
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 12
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12

With the inevitable return of Coleman looming, Sawyer knows their army is not enough. On a journey to convince an ally to join their war, Sawyer discovers why the stars have placed the fate of the human race in her hands, but can she accept her destiny even if it means working with the man who tried to kill her? Kenzie is her enemy. He’s tried to kill Sawyer more than once, and the control Coleman has over him will not fade. Yet, she can’t stay away from him. Both drawn to each other in a way neither can explain, they must learn to trust one another.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So good

  • By TU on 04-15-19

A Fitting End to This Trilogy

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-26-19

4.5 out of 5 stars

It’s So Nice to Have a Real Ending to a Trilogy… I’m being a bit dramatic since I read books that are much longer series than three and I never complain (I usually ask for more). But when it comes to YA Dystopian books – it’s nice to have the three book series. There’s a definitive beginning, middle, and end. The series allows you to button up everything without wanting or needing more. Eversley knocks that out of the park. I wasn’t sure everything was going to be tied up in the end but the last 30-45 mins really cleared a lot of stuff up.

Savior is sort of the “epic final battle” combined with the typical love triangle. You get the satisfaction of both of them coming to an end but you have to read Savior to figure it out (no spoilers here).

I know that this series was written for YA’s and that the typical age of the characters is 18/19 but there were still a few parts that I would think “really?” Not that it took away from the story, just a few things/times that someone would say something and I would think “nah, you wouldn’t know that already in life”. But, then I stopped to genuinely think about it (and again before writing this) and I remember back to that age where I thought I knew everything and no one could tell me differently.

I think that this rings true in this book (and series). The characters make mistakes that an adult wouldn’t. They act on impulse and utilize their full emotions when thinking about things. That’s something that normal non-YA books are missing. They’re missing that hope and that life lived without being majorly hurt yet.

Overall, I really enjoyed Savior. I knocked it a half point for some small and minor things but the series overall was enjoyable even though the series wasn’t really for me. Every time someone asks what they should pick up if they are a YA fan – I’m going to recommend this series especially because of how satisfying the last part of this book really was.

Also, Chelsea Stephens needs to get more work. She did a fantastic job narrating this series. She made the characters believable and really brought her A-game to The Watcher Series. Steve Campbell, while not in the final book all that much, also has a really enjoyable YA voice that made listening to this series a breeze.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Longest Night

  • Enter Darkness, Book 1
  • By: K. M. Fawkes
  • Narrated by: Andrew B. Wehrlen
  • Length: 4 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 35
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 33
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32

It started with bright lights; a new medical technology, promising to eradicate all human ills. History of blood clots? Cholesterol clogging up the old ticker? There was a nanobot for that. It wasn’t cheap of course, and everyone knew that new technology had bugs in it. But hey, why not let the rich be the guinea pigs for once? Fast-forward a year, and the one percent began dying en masse. The nanobots had evolved to view aging as a virus and were reacting by shutting down the host. 

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Short And To The Point

  • By Brian on 03-24-19

Short And To The Point

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-24-19

So, I don’t get to say this often. And I definitely don’t get to say it in books under 200 pages but the science and the description of the disease/issue was spot on and well thought out. Fawkes was able to, in only a few pages, describe what happened before, during, and after the introduction of the main downfall of our society. It wasn’t overly detailed and there weren’t a hundred pages of life before or life during. Fawkes basically says “this is what happened, there were some of the issues it caused, and this is society since then” and does it gracefully and enough that I was satisfied.

Most of the story after that introduction follows one man’s attempts at trying to survive. He starts in a survivor camp but quickly realizes that they’ve basically been left for dead and decides to bug out (obviously very very late) to his dad’s camp. Ironically his dad was one of those “crazy prepper types who thought the world was going to end”. Of course, there are some scenes where Bradley jokes/talks about how he’s still shocked how his dad was right.

We have the typical bad apples along the way who want to take Bradley’s food and leave him for dead. We also run into (what I would call) the typical female counterpart for our young and very nice Bradley. What I didn’t expect were some of the scenes after that. I won’t ruin the surprise, but know that Fawkes doesn’t follow the typical Post-Apocalyptic “meet and we’re instantly in love” or any other trope that you’re used to. There were numerous scenes (including her and others I won’t mention) that genuinely shocked and surprised me. That doesn’t happen too often in Post-Apocalyptic books anymore.

Overall, The Longest Night was a good start to the story. I don’t say this often, but probably could have been combined with book two to make a slightly normal sized novel – but I’m glad that I got to enjoy this bite-sized PA book quickly.

I believe that I saw that ABW signed on to do more books in this series and I’m glad. He was able to portray Bradley perfectly. It was one of those perfect voices for the character books.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Space Force

  • By: Jeremy Robinson
  • Narrated by: Jeffrey Kafer, Emily Woo Zeller, Machelle Williams
  • Length: 9 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 381
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 363
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 362

 

Five years ago, the US Space Force became a reality. And while those writing the checks took things very seriously, the other military branches did not. As a result, Space Force was populated by undesirables: men and women who made too many mistakes, didn't follow the rules, or...slept with the wrong general's daughter. Three times. On camera. It was a mistake, okay? My name is Captain Ethan Stone, a decorated member of SEAL Team Six turned Space Force "recruit". 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • It's Like The Army or Navy But For Space

  • By Cyphers Fallen on 02-27-19

The Funniest Book I've Read This Year

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-20-19

First and foremost, holy crap was this book funny. Seriously, this might be one of the funniest books I’ve ever read. Robinson wrote a perfectly timed book that included pretty much everything that we’re mad or happy about in later 2018 and early 2019.

The premise: Space Force (you know, the branch of the military that Trump made to fight aliens) is being disbanded. They’re a joke and were where all the misfits of the other military branches were sent as punishment. Right when this happens – aliens attack and force military bases to fight in a real battle royale and the last man or alien standing wins (wins what?). These aliens (I refuse to ruin the first scene where they see them. I had to pause the d**n audiobook I was laughing so hard) learned about us through video games. So, this is what life has become.

The book itself will not be for everyone. Robinson knew that when he wrote it. But I promise you, if you are unhappy with our orange leader or think that all things related to him are ridiculous I would be shocked if you didn’t like this book. Now if you happen to sport a red hat and think that by hating other cultures and people we’re making ourselves better… steer clear.

Now that the MAGA wearers have left the review, know that this seriously was a well-written book. Robinson goes meta at one point talking about himself (but kind of not at the same time). The lines leading up to it where he describes how this author just keeps going and never gives you a break between chapters and then ENDS THE CHAPTER was just absolute brilliance.

Space Force is all of the things you like about SNL skits, parody movies like Space Balls, and the perfect reminder that other people think things are as ridiculous as you do. Bravo Jeremy Robinson, Bravo.

The characters are well explained and thought out. The main two were Halle and Ethan and they were perfect. Ethan was the snarky one who always had something to say and Halle was the quieter one who got stuff done while Ethan was making his jokes. The other tertiary characters were so good. The bus driver might even top Ethan and Halle for my favorite character. She was absolutely amazing.

There were obvious and borderline offensive stereotypes written into Space Force, but I only say borderline because they were so funny I almost felt guilty laughing. Easily the funniest was the scene involving the Canadian Special Forces. I won’t ruin that either, sorry.

There is something about a snarky book and character that just mends itself perfectly to Jeffrey Kafer’s voice. He’s able to play into the snark and the sarcasm so well. This isn’t the first book, nor is it even the tenth book that I’ve read where gets the narrate a smarta** but know he’s the perfect man for the job. I believe that Emily Woo Zeller did Halle’s narration and absolutely crushes it. Machelle Williams didn’t do too much, but was the perfect finishing touch to this audiobook.

I could go on and on about this book and get deeper and deeper into all the reasons that I liked it, but know that it’s easily the funniest book I’ve read this year. I do hope we get another Space Force book! I requested a copy of this audiobook - it has not affected my views in any way.