LISTENER

Barb

  • 1
  • review
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 65
  • ratings
  • Don't Try to Find Me

  • By: Holly Brown
  • Narrated by: Hillary Huber, Angela Goethals, James Fouhey
  • Length: 12 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 281
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 246
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 252

When a 14-year-old runs away, her parents turn to social media to find her - launching a public campaign that will expose their darkest secrets and change their family forever in this suspenseful and gripping debut for fans of Reconstructing Amelia and Gone Girl. Don't try to find me. Though the message on the kitchen white board is written in Marley’s hand, her mother Rachel knows there has to be some other explanation. Marley would never run away.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Tedious Melodrama

  • By Kate on 08-09-14

Disappointing...

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-31-14

Would you try another book from Holly Brown and/or the narrators?

No

What was most disappointing about Holly Brown’s story?

I thought this was described as a mystery/thriller type read. It turned out to be just a story of a spoiled brat 15 y/o with a slightly imperfect family trying to make much ado about nothing. The plot of an on-line boyfriend/rendezvous was somewhat believable....but then it was so slow and without interest, I could hardly finish it. You find yourself hoping that something deep and troubling had happened to this family in the past and there would be some secret/mystery revealed....instead you got a distracted father and a suburban mother that likes pills....seriously, this is a mystery? If I did miss something, there is no way I could go back and listen again.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of the narrators?

The only narrator that I liked was the guy. The mother and the teenager were annoying.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Disappointment

Any additional comments?

I have never reviewed anything before and I apologize for being so negative, but before others spend their money on this, they should know that it isn't a mystery/thriller.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful