LISTENER

marjorie

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 4
  • helpful votes
  • 573
  • ratings
  • Alone

  • Generations Trilogy, Book 3
  • By: Scott Sigler
  • Narrated by: AB Kovacs
  • Length: 16 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 703
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 657
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 655

In the final installment of an exhilarating sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising, Scott Sigler's unforgettable heroine, Em Savage, must come to grips once and for all with the perilous mysteries of her own existence.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another masterpiece by the master.

  • By Dylan on 03-11-17

Eek - narrator warning

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-21-18

I think AB Novaks has a lovely voice, but she sounds middle aged, which makes it really hard to see her as Em. Supposedly, only months have gone by since the last book ended. Even worse, many characters seem to have picked up badly done foreign accents since the last book. Huh?! Where did that come from? None of them seem like old friends I've been rooting for in the last 2 books. I'm only halfway through, but I'm having a tough time concentrating on the story. I think I might give up and get the book.

  • The Fifth Season

  • The Broken Earth, Book 1
  • By: N. K. Jemisin
  • Narrated by: Robin Miles
  • Length: 15 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11,437
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,530
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,502

This is the way the world ends. For the last time. A season of endings has begun. It starts with the great, red rift across the heart of the world's sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun. It starts with death, with a murdered son and a missing daughter. It starts with betrayal and long-dormant wounds rising up to fester. This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the Earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • ORIGINAL AND MOVING, EXCELLENT!

  • By Fantasy on 12-01-15

Favorite fantasy book ever!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-08-16

I read a lot of speculative fiction, fantasy, post-apocalyptic books. This is the most unique and addictive one I've ever read. Unique and deep world building. Three narratives, all gripping and giving different perspectives. As the blurb describes, there is an immediate and compelling quest, and just enough answers along the way. I've now read the second book, too. Both manage the difficult feat of giving a satisfying ending, while keeping you curious about what happens next. Also, series is rich in multi-cultural characters and complex relationships. Not too many in this genre can claim the same.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Red Rising

  • By: Pierce Brown
  • Narrated by: Tim Gerard Reynolds
  • Length: 16 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36,963
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 34,460
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 34,411

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations. Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better world for his children. But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow, what a performance and what a story

  • By Jared G on 08-27-16

OK I'm in the minority

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-08-16

I was bored and I quit after 3-4 hours. I can't figure out why. The world building had potential. Maybe because it mostly takes place during a kind of war games school experience. That made it feel like there was no real urgency. I just couldn't get invested emotionally.

  • The Forgotten Room

  • By: Karen White, Beatriz Williams, Lauren Willig
  • Narrated by: Morgan Hallett, Susan Bennett
  • Length: 13 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,464
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,333
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,330

It's 1945: When the critically wounded Captain Cooper Ravenal is brought to a private hospital on Manhattan's Upper East Side, young Dr. Kate Schuyler is drawn into a complex mystery that connects three generations of women in her family to a single extraordinary room in a Gilded Age mansion. Who is the woman in Captain Ravenel's portrait miniature who looks so much like Kate? And why is she wearing the ruby pendant handed down to Kate by her mother?

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • The same story 3 times over...

  • By Amazon Customer on 03-30-16

Romance not mystery

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-15-16

Reminds me of the harlequin romances I read as a teenager.
The plot was obvious from the beginning, and no surprises developed.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Book 1

  • By: J.K. Rowling
  • Narrated by: Jim Dale
  • Length: 8 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 76,245
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 69,210
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 69,165

Harry Potter has never even heard of Hogwarts when the letters start dropping on the doormat at number four, Privet Drive. Addressed in green ink on yellowish parchment with a purple seal, they are swiftly confiscated by his grisly aunt and uncle. Then, on Harry's eleventh birthday, a great beetle-eyed giant of a man called Rubeus Hagrid bursts in with some astonishing news: Harry Potter is a wizard, and he has a place at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. An incredible adventure is about to begin!

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • My Sad, Sad Confession…

  • By Mike L Lane on 08-08-17

Jim Dale rocks

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-16-16

I've listened to both versions, and I like Jim Dale better. Other than that, I agree with other reviewers - listening adds a whole new experience. Reading the books, watching the movies, and listening to the audiobooks are each unique and wonderful experiences. Thank you, Jo, for letting these become available on Audible.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Find Her

  • By: Lisa Gardner
  • Narrated by: Kirsten Potter
  • Length: 12 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,064
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,244
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,211

Flora Dane is a victim. Seven years ago, carefree college student Flora was kidnapped while on spring break. For 472 days, Flora learned just how much one person can endure. Flora Dane is a survivor. Miraculously alive after her ordeal, Flora has spent the past five years reacquainting herself with the rhythms of normal life, working with her FBI victim advocate, Samuel Keynes. She has a mother who's never stopped loving her, a brother who is scared of the person she's become, and a bedroom wall covered with photos of other girls who've never made it home.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow, so damn good.

  • By Christine on 02-12-16

Great plot, unlovable detective

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-10-16

Interesting plot, unexpected twists, suspense, and a realistic glimpse into the experiences of a traumatized victim and her family. I felt that Fora and Rosa were so rich and compelling, but Deedee was flat and unempathetic. I I found her, the lead detective (apparently she's the lead in a whole series of novels) condescending and dismissive toward the victims and families, and she didn't seem to add much value to the investigation. Worth the read, but I feel no interest in picking up the next deedee warren mystery.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Murder in Mesopotamia

  • A Hercule Poirot Mystery
  • By: Agatha Christie
  • Narrated by: Anna Massey
  • Length: 6 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 318
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 299
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 298

Nurse Amy Leatheran had never felt the lure of the "mysterious East", but she nonetheless accepts an assignment at Hassanieh, an ancient site deep in the Iraqi desert, to care for the wife of a celebrated archaeologist. Mrs Leidner is suffering bizarre visions and nervous terror. "I'm afraid of being killed!" she admits to her nurse. Her terror, unfortunately, is anything but unfounded, and Nurse Leatheran is soon enough without a patient. The world's greatest detective happens to be in the vicinity, however....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Ghastly Narration

  • By CobwebLing on 11-25-17

Narrator has the worst accents ever

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-22-15

For the first time I am giving up on an Agatha Christie. My eight year old neighbor does a better Poirot. The prime suspect is done so poorly that I don't even have a guess as to where he is supposed to be from. From nowhere on earth. Sorry, Ms.Massey, this is not your niche.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • The Sense of an Ending

  • By: Julian Barnes
  • Narrated by: Richard Morant
  • Length: 4 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 994
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 841
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 838

Tony Webster and his clique first met Adrian Finn at school. Sex-hungry and book-hungry, they would navigate the girl-less sixth form together, trading in affectations, in-jokes, rumour, and wit. Maybe Adrian was more serious than the others, certainly more intelligent, but they all swore to stay friends for life. Now Tony is retired. He’s had a career and a single marriage, a calm divorce. He’s certainly never tried to hurt anybody. Memory, though, is imperfect. It can always throw up surprises, as a lawyer’s letter is about to prove.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 'Something Happened'...

  • By Mel on 01-09-12

Beautiful story, frustrating ending

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-26-12

This beautiful story had NO sense of an ending. The story is told by a man in his 60's, about events 40 years in the past. The plot is interesting, and philosophically challenging. It hangs on a bequest. The mother of a former girlfriend has died and left him some money and an old friend's diary. Why? What happened all those years ago?

The fascinating premise is that the way we remember the past is not what actually happened, and there is rarely any kind of objective evidence to provide a definitive answer.

There is not much action in this book, but the narrartor's reflections were interesting to me, and the author's language is eloquent and beautiful. I enjoyed trying to piece together the past from various fragments of input.

However, even though it's consistent with the themes of the book, I was incredibly frustrated by the ending. Most of the main questions of the plot were not answered. There's plenty of meat for speculation, so if you enjoy drawing your own theories, you may enjoy this very much. It was just too vague for me. I actually did not realize the book was over, and searched for another download.