LISTENER

Ken Watkins

Irmo, SC USA
  • 4
  • reviews
  • 2
  • helpful votes
  • 54
  • ratings
  • Flashman and the Tiger

  • By: George MacDonald Fraser
  • Narrated by: David Case
  • Length: 12 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 144
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 80
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 79

Flashman is back! When the memoirs of Sir Harry Flashman, the celebrated Victorian soldier and scoundrel, first came to light 30 years ago, we were introduced to adventures related with verve, dash, and meticulous historical detail. Now come three new episodes in the career of this eminent and disreputable adventurer.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • More Flashman Please

  • By Molly on 12-09-04

Flashman continues

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-11-17

Three more adventures in the chronicles of Flashman. While these portray him in his later years, his essential character is unchanged - which should be celebrated by all Flashman enthusiasts.
"Audible 20 Review Sweepstakes Entry"

  • The Expedition of Humphrey Clinker

  • By: Tobias Smollett
  • Narrated by: June Whitfield, Suzy Aitchison, Hywel Simons, and others
  • Length: 17 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13

Written as the letters of the five members of Squire Bramble's household sent as they journey around Britain, The Expedition of Humphrey Clinker is a grouchy, very funny examination of how one story varies depending on who's doing the telling. The tale is centered around the arrival of Mr. Clinker into the otherwise uneventful household, who never speaks and does not even enter the novel until a third of the way through.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A treat

  • By Tad Davis on 01-31-16

Good for long walks

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-04-17

In the vein of Tom Jones and Tristram Shandy, by the remarkable Smollett. The narration is perfect. Relaxing and fun story.

  • Gould's Book of Fish

  • By: Richard Flanagan
  • Narrated by: Humphrey Bower
  • Length: 10 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 45
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 37
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 39

Once upon a time that was called 1828, before all the living things on the land and the fishes in the sea were destroyed, there was a man named William Buelow Gould, a convict in Van Dieman's Land who fell in love with a black woman and discovered too late that to love is not safe. Silly Billy Gould, invader of Australia, liar, murderer, forger, fantasist, was condemned to live in the most brutal penal colony in the British Empire, and there ordered to paint a book of fish. Once upon a time, miraculous things happened....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wonderful, Funny & Oh So Well Written!

  • By cowgirl877 on 06-23-17

A bewildering experience

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-12-15

Flanagan created a twisting, turning tale that is both entertaining and bewildering. This book demands multiple readings. And, the experience is more enjoyable with every reading. The audio version is top-notch; the narrator completely nails the performance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • A Full Life

  • Reflections at Ninety
  • By: Jimmy Carter
  • Narrated by: Jimmy Carter
  • Length: 7 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 819
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 746
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 736

Jimmy Carter, 39th president, Nobel Peace Prize winner, international humanitarian, fisherman, reflects on his full and happy life with pride, humor, and a few second thoughts.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved it

  • By Scott Volltrauer on 08-19-16

An Exemplar

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-05-15

He has set the standard for post-Presidential life. A plain, straightforward account, enhanced by his own reading.