LISTENER

Simone

  • 669
  • reviews
  • 2,159
  • helpful votes
  • 790
  • ratings
  • Prey

  • By: Michael Crichton
  • Narrated by: George Wilson
  • Length: 12 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3,002
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,933
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,951

In the Nevada desert, an experiment has gone horribly wrong. A cloud of nanoparticles (micro-robots) has escaped from the laboratory. This cloud is self-sustaining and self-reproducing. It is intelligent and learns from experience. For all practical purposes, it is alive.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Starts slow but picks up lots of momentum

  • By Michael Kellogg on 05-06-05

Felt like a Zombie Thriller

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-11-18

I enjoyed the science-thriller aspects, but the action-thriller parts didn’t impress me. Not because it wasn’t good, but just because it’s not my style; it felt like a Zombie Thriller.

Excellent narration - it improved my overall opinion.

  • The Girl Who Was Taken

  • By: Charlie Donlea
  • Narrated by: Nina Alvamar
  • Length: 10 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,534
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,964
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,943

Nicole Cutty and Megan McDonald are both high school seniors in the small town of Emerson Bay, North Carolina. When they disappear from a beach party one warm summer night, police launch a massive search. No clues are found, and hope is almost lost until Megan miraculously surfaces after escaping from a bunker deep in the woods. A year later the best-selling account of her ordeal has turned Megan from local hero to national celebrity.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great book!!!

  • By tarafarah7: Tara Brown on 06-07-17

A mix of good and bad

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-09-18

The CSI forensics parts were interesting.

The Criminal Minds depravity of the Capture Club was just disturbing.

I figured out who the bad-guy-kidnapper was pretty early on so there was not much suspense, and the end was unsatisfying, but overall it was entertaining enough to keep going.

  • The Wife Between Us

  • By: Greer Hendricks, Sarah Pekkanen
  • Narrated by: Julia Whelan
  • Length: 11 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 17,939
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 16,438
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 16,389

When you listen to this audiobook, you will make many assumptions. You will assume you are listening to a story about a jealous ex-wife. You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement - a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love. You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle. Assume nothing. Twisted and deliciously chilling, The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • NOT that confusing! Gone Girl + Last Mrs. Parrish

  • By JK907 on 01-11-18

Twisty!

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-04-18

This story fits in nicely with the unreliable-narrator-twisty-psychological-thriller cliché mold that I like, but as it went along I felt it was all one twist too many.

The last one almost ruined it

  • The Wife

  • A Novel of Psychological Suspense
  • By: Alafair Burke
  • Narrated by: Xe Sands
  • Length: 8 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3,850
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 3,543
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 3,532

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother's home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great listen

  • By Toni R. on 02-03-18

Forgettable

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-18

I read this book about 6 weeks ago and had no time to review it.

Now, I can't remember anything about it! That should say it all.

I gave it 2 stars, so I guess I wasn't impressed.

  • See You In September

  • By: Charity Norman
  • Narrated by: Scarlett Mack
  • Length: 14 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 4
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 4

Cassy's a backpacking student travelling around New Zealand - until the day she accepts a lift in a van full of smiling strangers; her life is changed forever. She's soon entangled in Gethsemane, a community led by Justin Calvin, a visionary leader with a violent past. As Cassy falls under Gethsemane's spell, a new identity is built for her. But when her father's illness reunites her with her family, she's forced to confront the hidden darkness of her world.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Page Turner, even in audio!

  • By Simone on 11-03-18

Page Turner, even in audio!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-18

It was a great Page Turner, I loved it.

The plot was really original and drew me in early on.

  • In the Unlikely Event

  • By: Judy Blume
  • Narrated by: Kathleen McInerney
  • Length: 14 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,258
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,121
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,122

When a series of passenger airplanes crashed in Elizabeth, New Jersey, within a three-month period in 1951-1952, Judy Blume was a teenager. "These events have lingered in my mind ever since," says Blume. "It was a crazy time. We were witnessing things that were incomprehensible to us as teenagers. Was it sabotage? An alien invasion? No one knew, and people were understandably terrified."

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • "HOPE FOR THE BEST... PLAN FOR THE WORST"

  • By Tracy P. on 09-21-15

I just wanted it to end

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-18

I just wanted it to end.

Unless you really connect with one of the characters, it all feels pointless after a while.

  • The Lost Letter

  • A Novel
  • By: Jillian Cantor
  • Narrated by: Allyson Ryan, George Newbern, Betsy Struxness, and others
  • Length: 9 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 977
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 905
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 899

A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers in World War II Austria and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heartbreaking, heartwarming story for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Finally! A Great One!

  • By M. Ryder on 10-27-17

I hated it.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-19-18

The only reason I persisted was because I liked the “code in the stamps” angle, that was IT. There is absolutely nothing else redeeming in this book whatsoever!

Garbage.

  • Murder on Union Square

  • A Gaslight Mystery
  • By: Victoria Thompson
  • Narrated by: Suzanne Toren
  • Length: 9 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 47
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 42
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 41

Frank and Sarah Malloy are enjoying married life and looking to make their family official by adopting Catherine, the child Sarah rescued and has been raising as her daughter. The newlyweds soon discover Parnell Vaughn, an actor and Catherine's legal father, is looking to fatten his pockets by insisting on a financial settlement to relinquish his parental rights. Even though exchanging money for a child is illegal, Frank and Sarah's love for Catherine drives them to take a chance. When Frank returns with the money and finds Vaughn beaten to death, all evidence points to Frank as the culprit.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Great Series / OK Book

  • By Simone on 09-26-18

Great Series / OK Book

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-26-18

I enjoyed this book because I love the series, but overall it didn’t really stand out.

I’ve said on numerous occasions that I am more into the lives of the cast than I am in the murders.

I’m all caught up with the series now, so I’ll have a long wait to go for Book 22!. I’m used to reading an instalment every couple of months with the occasional 3 – 4 – 5 books in a row binge.

  • The Radium Girls

  • The Dark Story of America’s Shining Women
  • By: Kate Moore
  • Narrated by: Angela Brazil
  • Length: 15 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,263
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,160
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,157

The year was 1917. As a war raged across the world, young American women flocked to work, painting watches, clocks, and military dials with a special luminous substance made from radium. It was a fun job, lucrative and glamorous - the girls themselves shone brightly in the dark, covered head to toe in the dust from the paint. They were the radium girls. As the years passed, the women began to suffer from mysterious and crippling illnesses.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A simple way to improve the robotic narration

  • By B. C. French on 06-07-17

Fascinating and chilling

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-18-18

I knew nothing about this dark chapter in the fight for worker’s rights; I really learned something new.

I loved the way these women’s stories were told, their desperate and terrible plights came to life thanks to the excellent narration. I was transfixed by their stories; I’m so glad I came across this book!

  • After Auschwitz

  • By: Eva Schloss
  • Narrated by: Anne Dover
  • Length: 10 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9

A story of heartbreak and survival by the stepsister of Anne Frank. Eva was arrested by the Nazis on her 15 birthday and sent to Auschwitz. Her survival depended on endless strokes of luck, her own determination and the love and protection of her mother, Fritzi, who was deported with her. When Auschwitz was liberated, Eva and Fritzi began the long journey home. They searched desperately for Eva's father and brother, from whom they had been separated. The news came some months later. Tragically, both men had been killed.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic

  • By Simone on 09-17-18

Fantastic

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-17-18

I wish I had the eloquence to express my opinion of this book in a way that does it more justice than "it was mesmerizing"... but it really was!

A terrific story, I am glad I read it.