LISTENER

Ms Mills

  • 9
  • reviews
  • 8
  • helpful votes
  • 17
  • ratings
  • French Chic: A French Woman’s Guide to Dress Elegantly and Live Effortlessly Chic

  • By: Sophie Claire
  • Narrated by: Yael Eylat-Tanaka
  • Length: 2 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 7
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6

This audiobook is a complete guide to dress elegantly and live effortlessly chic. You will find the essential principles of French chic, elegance, makeup, skincare, and capsule wardrobe, and you’ll learn how to create your own unique style. You’ll discover how easy it is to look gorgeous and, most importantly, feel confident and beautiful. "Sometimes, a little change in our wardrobe or the way we present ourselves can do wonders for our lifestyle."

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Some good advice, narration somewhat tedious.

  • By Ms Mills on 09-17-18

Some good advice, narration somewhat tedious.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-17-18

worth listening to, but would probably have benefitted from a different narrator. No earthshattering revelations about French chic, but a nice review. Enjoyed movie references.

  • The Beach at Painter's Cove

  • A Novel
  • By: Shelley Noble
  • Narrated by: Erin Bennett
  • Length: 12 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 511
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 471
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 469

The Whitaker family's Connecticut mansion, Muses by the Sea, has always been a haven for artists, a hotbed of creativity, extravagances, and the occasional scandal. Art patrons for generations, the Whitakers supported strangers but drained the life out of each other. Now, after being estranged for years, four generations of Whitaker women find themselves once again at the Muses. Leo, the Whitaker matriarch, lives in the rambling mansion.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A great read that takes you along for the ride!

  • By Yelena Tishchenko on 04-13-18

Just okay, predictable.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-26-18

Okay for mindless reading. A good edit sorely needed. Redundant throughout. Give a reader some credit for being able to retain the simplest of story line!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Origin

  • A Novel
  • By: Dan Brown
  • Narrated by: Paul Michael
  • Length: 18 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 39,927
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36,500
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 36,387

In keeping with his trademark style, Dan Brown, author of The Da Vinci Code and Inferno, interweaves codes, science, religion, history, art, and architecture in this new novel. Origin thrusts Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon into the dangerous intersection of humankind's two most enduring questions - and the earthshaking discovery that will answer them.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Formula over fiction

  • By Evan M Carlson on 11-01-17

Provocative, but not earth-shattering.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-17-18

Classic Dan Brown. Good read. Impressively researched. Overwrought explanations a bit patronizing. Give us credit!

Audible Exclusive: Alan Cumming Live at the Sydney Opera House with David Marr audiobook cover art
  • Audible Exclusive: Alan Cumming Live at the Sydney Opera House with David Marr

  • By: Alan Cumming
  • Narrated by: Alan Cumming
  • Length: 1 hr and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 843
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 721
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 710

You may know him as an actor, but Alan Cumming is also a singer, director, producer and author. His New York Times best-selling memoir Not My Father's Son is the gripping story of his complicated relationship with his father and the mystery of his grandfather's untimely death. Suspenseful, brave, moving and honest, it's a book about finding good through bad and light beyond darkness.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • cool

  • By Slim on 04-07-16
  • Audible Exclusive: Alan Cumming Live at the Sydney Opera House with David Marr
  • By: Alan Cumming
  • Narrated by: Alan Cumming

Delightful!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-28-17

Delightful insight into Cummings' background, which is ironic because it was grim and unhappy. But the resilience, determination, self-evolution, and survival of Cummings despite a childhood and early adult years that pointed to the contrary, is delightful indeed. And his self-deprecating, but not too self-deprecating, sense of humor and obvious open heart shine through in the interview. Definitely worth your while to have a listen!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Bel Canto

  • By: Ann Patchett
  • Narrated by: Anna Fields
  • Length: 11 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3,822
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,773
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,783

Ann Patchett’s award winning, New York Times best-selling Bel Canto balances themes of love and crisis as disparate characters learn that music is their only common language. As in Pratchett’s other novels, including Truth & Beauty and The Magician’s Assistant, the author’s lyrical prose and lucid imagination make Bel Canto a captivating story of strength and frailty, love and imprisonment, and an inspiring tale of transcendent romance. 

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Opera Has Charms to Soothe the Savage Guerillas

  • By Mel on 03-01-13

Painful at times to continue listening...

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-28-17

I rarely stop reading/listening to a book halfway through, but this is a struggle. Quite like the hostages in the story, I am only compelled by the author to care about the outcome for one of the characters amidst a host of many. I am forcing myself to see it through with approximately one third of the story left. The narrator's tone is a source of annoyance throughout. She simply lacks emotion and offers little in the way of drawing me into any of the characters despite attempts at dialect to differentiate between an international cast of characters. Lastly, there are simply too many characters and minimal character development, which is surely the reason that I have yet to care about them or feel as if I know them at all. I wish she had chosen a half dozen as standouts and really fleshed out some intrigue, but alas, this is not the case.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • America's First Daughter

  • A Novel
  • By: Stephanie Dray, Laura Kamoie
  • Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
  • Length: 23 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,140
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,682
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,662

In a compelling, richly researched novel that draws from thousands of letters and original sources, best-selling authors Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie tell the fascinating, untold story of Thomas Jefferson's eldest daughter, Martha "Patsy" Jefferson Randolph - a woman who kept the secrets of our most enigmatic founding father and shaped an American legacy.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absolutely Loved This Story!

  • By Bernard on 05-01-16

Engaging, engrossing at times, history made real

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-28-17

I highly recommend. Not to be mistaken as entirely historically accurate, as license must be taken to provide entertaining dialogue and relationships, the author has woven an engaging account of the important relationship between Jefferson and his daughter, Patsy. With enough historical detail to make it "real" and enough intimacy to engage the reader, Dray has crafted a tale that I thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Roar

  • By: Nicole Trope
  • Narrated by: Susan Strafford
  • Length: 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 118
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 94
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 94

A short story for fans of Jodi Picoult and Anita Shreve. Step into the fragile domestic world of Roar and discover the unforgettable voice of Nicole Trope, best-selling author of The Secrets in Silence, Three Hours Late and The Boy Under the Table. The baby sleeps peacefully, filled with milk and contentment. The man on the bed breathes his way into the darkness, filled with rage. Was there ever really a choice?

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Roar

  • By happyjo on 07-10-18

Decent short story, worth a listen

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-28-17

I wasn't blown away by this, but not sorry that I purchased as a daily deal.

  • Summit Lake

  • By: Charlie Donlea
  • Narrated by: Shannon McManus
  • Length: 8 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,899
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,754
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,756

Some places seem too beautiful to be touched by horror. Summit Lake, nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, is that kind of place, with charming stilt houses dotted along the pristine water. But two weeks ago, Becca Eckersley, a first-year law student, was brutally murdered in one of those houses. The daughter of a powerful attorney, Becca was hard-working, accomplished, and ambitious. Now, while the town reels with grief and shocked residents gather to share their theories, the police are baffled.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Very sad ending to a promising young life...

  • By shelley on 09-13-17

Disappointing

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-15-16

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

No. The story line is transparent, geared toward twenty-year-old audience. The narration is awful, she actually sounds like she's READING, which is monotonous. I have had to turn it off while driving because it puts me to sleep. That, and the "valley girl" dialect that creeps into several of the character's voices.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

Completely detracted from a story line that was so-so to begin with.

Was Summit Lake worth the listening time?

Not really.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • The Lake House

  • By: Kate Morton
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 21 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,762
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,587
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,566

Living on her family’s gorgeous lakeside estate in Cornwall, England, Alice Edevane is a bright, clever, inquisitive, innocent, and precociously talented fourteen-year-old who loves to write stories. But the mysteries she pens are no match for the one her family is about to endure ...One midsummer’s eve, after a beautiful party drawing hundreds of guests to the estate has ended, the Edevanes discover that their youngest son, Theo, has vanished without a trace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • BRAVO!!!!!!!

  • By Maria on 10-30-15

Enjoyable tale!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-06-16

Excellent story and narration! Very interesting, the way Morton brings it all together. A bit pat, but satisfying nonetheless.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful