LISTENER

Dennis

Austin, TX, USA
  • 8
  • reviews
  • 102
  • helpful votes
  • 176
  • ratings
  • William James, Charles Peirce, and American Pragmatism

  • By: James Campbell
  • Narrated by: Lynn Redgrave
  • Length: 2 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 39
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 19

C.S. Peirce was an authentic American genius who developed a tough minded pragmatism and a sweeping philosophy of evolutionary love. William James, a trained physician, carefully studied human experience, including the highest reaches of consciousness. Peirce and James established a rich, sensible, and pragmatic American approach to philosophy's traditional problems.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A nice little introduction

  • By Dennis on 02-24-07

A nice little introduction

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-24-07

My one complaint about this book is that the reader for Peirce sounds consistently angry. Knowing a little about Peirce's personality, that may not be inaccurate, but it could easily obscure the message of his words. In fact, Peirce's language is often refreshingly clear while ocassionally and paradoxically bordering on the poetic. That said, this little book gives plenty of space to Peirce who, while little known to most laymen, is considered by many professionals as the most original and influential of American philosophers. This is an entertaining and illuminating introduction and likely to lead to a desire to know more.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • The Fabric of the Cosmos

  • Space, Time, and the Texture of Reality
  • By: Brian Greene
  • Narrated by: Michael Prichard
  • Length: 22 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,681
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 794
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 789

Space and time form the very fabric of the cosmos. Yet they remain among the most mysterious of concepts. Is space an entity? Why does time have a direction? Could the universe exist without space and time? Can we travel to the past?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Space and Time for the Common Man

  • By Martin on 02-26-04

Terrific!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-24-07

This is quite simply one of the best popular-science books I've ever read. In the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Richard Dawkins, Brian Greene is one of those rare scientists who is both a key contributer to his field and can speak in a lucid and entertaining way to the layman. Moreover, this is the first book I've read that actually clarified for me how and why time-dilation occurs according to the theory of relativity. Highly recommended.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A History of Rome, Volume 1

  • By: Cyril Robinson
  • Narrated by: Charlton Griffin
  • Length: 10 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 294
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 109
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 109

A History of Rome is the story of a tiny market town on the Tiber, its rise to world domination, and then its slow, terrible plunge to utter ruin. It is the single greatest event in all human history.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A superb survey of Ancient Roman History

  • By Mark Grannis on 10-27-05

I wish Griffin read ALL audio books

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-15-03

You can easily find more up-to-date histories of Rome that will include recent archaeological findings and exclude the racial stereotypes, but this is a fascinating story well-told by an engaging reader.

I listened to it twice almost back-to-back and am eager to hear Part II.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • The Crisis of Islam

  • Holy War and Unholy Terror
  • By: Bernard Lewis
  • Narrated by: Bernard Lewis
  • Length: 4 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 657
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 177
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 174

Bernard Lewis examines the historical roots of the frustrations and resentments that dominate the Islamic world today and that are increasingly being expressed in acts of terrorism. He looks at the theological origins of political Islam and tells us what the Islamic doctrine of jihad has meant at different times in history.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absolutely Worth It, HIghly Recommended!

  • By Frank on 04-17-03

Well worth it.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-03-03

I have read various criticisms of this book, but I found it a concise, cogent summary of many issues relating to recent acts of terrorism. I heard nothing that seemed markedly out of step with basic historical fact, whether or not you agree with the author's interpretation. In addition, this title is well-read by the author, the recording is pretty clean and loud enough at 3, at the length is about right.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • A History of the Middle East

  • By: Peter Mansfield
  • Narrated by: Richard Brown
  • Length: 17 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 74
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 32
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 32

In this masterly work of synthesis, Peter Mansfield, drawing on his experience as a journalist and a historian, explores two centuries of history in the Middle East. He forms a picture of the historical, political, and social history of the meeting point of Occident and Orient, from Bonaparte's marauding invasion of Egypt to the start of the Gulf War. For more than four thousand years, the Middle East has provided a setting for titanic struggles between great civilizations and religions.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • am i the only one who liked this?

  • By Colin on 03-24-03

Dry but worth the effort

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-11-03

This is a solid, straight, history of the Middle East that is well worth reading for a general background on the region. I would recommend it for those of an intellectual bent who are not put off by reading textbooks and the like in exchange for a more scholarly treatment than you'll generally get from the best-seller lists. Would have gotten 5 stars if it were more of a classic and a Great Read like Rise and Fall of the Third Reich.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rich Dad, Poor Dad

  • What the Rich Teach Their Kids About Money - That the Poor and Middle Class Do Not!
  • By: Robert T. Kiyosaki, Sharon L. Lechter C.P.A.
  • Narrated by: Stephen Hoye
  • Length: 3 hrs
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,696
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 402
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 412

People learn to work for money...but never to have money work for them. That's what Robert Kiyosaki says in this guide about what rich dads tell their children that poor dads do not. Browse all Rich Dad titles.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good starter

  • By TomD on 02-11-03

Burn your money before buying this book

Overall
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-19-03

This guy should write a book about "Getting rich quick by writing get-rich-quick books for suckers." Contains nothing but tired platitudes, vague suggestions, and poor advice.

65 of 173 people found this review helpful

  • Nothing Like It in the World

  • The Men Who Built the Transcontinental Railroad 1863-1869
  • By: Stephen E. Ambrose
  • Narrated by: Jeffrey DeMunn
  • Length: 15 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 591
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 341
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 343

Nothing Like It in the World is the story of the men who built the transcontinental railroad. In Ambrose's hands, this enterprise comes to life. The U.S. government pitted two companies - the Union Pacific and the Central Pacific railroads - against each other in a race for funding, encouraging speed over caution. As its peak the work force approached the size of Civil War armies, with as many as 15,000 workers on each line. The surveyors, the men who picked the route, lived off buffalo, deer, and antelope.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • I really wanted to like this book.

  • By Judd Bagley on 10-11-11

Excellent book about 19th-Century expansion

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-03

Like "Undaunted Courage," this is a very entertaining an interesting book which if very well-read for audio. Ambrose deserves great credit for making history entertaining. A must for anyone interested in 19th-Century American history.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Moby Dick

  • By: Herman Melville
  • Narrated by: Frank Muller
  • Length: 20 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 57
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 17
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 17

First published in Britain in 1851 as The Whale, Moby Dick has been considered since the 1920s one of the most important works in the English language. This unabridged recording of Moby Dick is read by the celebrated voice of Frank Muller.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Classic

  • By Staglified on 03-15-03

Buy it.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-18-03

Muller's reading does full justice to one of the greatest literary works of all time.

I just wish they would break more of these recordings into chapters! Each of the three parts is one 6- to 7-hour section making finding a particular chapter very difficult.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful