LISTENER

jston

  • 3
  • reviews
  • 17
  • helpful votes
  • 8
  • ratings
  • Skinny Bastard

  • A Kick in the Ass for Real Men Who Want to Stop Being Fat and Start Getting Buff
  • By: Rory Freedman, Kim Barnouin
  • Narrated by: Hillary Huber
  • Length: 5 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 55
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 29
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 30

In Skinny Bastard the authors explain why the macho "meat and potatoes" diet is total crap - and a turn-off - and how to get buff on the right foods. Eating well shouldn't be a "girlie" thing, and the Skinny Bastards will whip any man into shape with their straight talk, sound guidance, and locker-room language. This is another in the wildly popular series of no-nonsense, tough-love guides to real health.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • not really impressed, too preachy

  • By Stephen on 03-02-12

Too Short

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-13-16

Thoroughly enjoyed this book, and I'll be listening to it again, I'm sure. I loved the author's use of profanity.

  • The Eyes of the Dragon

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Bronson Pinchot
  • Length: 10 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,908
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,757
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,744

The Kingdom of Delain is at stake when King Roland is murdered and his son and rightful heir, Peter, is framed for the crime. Plotting against him is the evil Flagg and his pawn, young Prince Thomas. Yet with every plan there are holes - like Thomas's terrible secret. And the determined Prince Peter, who is planning a daring escape from his imprisonment.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Great Place to Start

  • By jston on 03-19-16

A Great Place to Start

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-19-16

If you haven't read Stephen King and you've been meaning to start, this would be an excellent book for you. It's also appropriate for younger readers. Featuring a villain familiar to anyone who's seen or read The Stand, or The Dark Tower series, this story stands alone and is a favorite of many of King's constant readers. Fans of Ronnie James Dio, and Game of Thrones should enjoy this.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Frank Muller

  • A Montage
  • By: Various
  • Narrated by: Frank Muller
  • Length: 15 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 339
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 222
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 213

Frank Muller was one of the most talented narrators to ever record a book. As Stephen King said, "[When Frank reads], the blind will see, the lame will walk, and the deaf will hear."

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Contents -- Frank Muller: A Montage

  • By Dan on 03-12-11

A Tribute to the Best in the Business

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-21-16

NASCAR was never the same after Dale Earnhardt passed away, and audio books will never be the same without the voice of Frank Muller.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful