LISTENER

AGreviewer

  • 62
  • reviews
  • 111
  • helpful votes
  • 146
  • ratings
  • Artificial Condition

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,854
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,709
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,703

It has a dark past - one in which a number of humans were killed. A past that caused it to christen itself "Murderbot." But it has only vague memories of the massacre that spawned that title, and it wants to know more. Teaming up with a Research Transport vessel named ART (you don't want to know what the "A" stands for), Murderbot heads to the mining facility where it went rogue.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Awesome but painfully short.

  • By Brian Barry on 09-05-18

Excellent. Too short.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-11-19

Excellent. Only complaint is that these are just novellas and not full length books. 1 credit is a bit steep.

  • All Systems Red

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,056
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,691
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,690

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I just wish all four stories were one book...

  • By Garrett Stone on 11-05-18

Excellent! Too short

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-09-19

My only complaint is that it is far too short to be charged a full credit. Excellent story. Excellent performance.

  • The Last Days of August

  • By: Jon Ronson
  • Narrated by: Jon Ronson
  • Length: 3 hrs and 43 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 9,076
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,237
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 8,220

In December 2017 the famous porn star August Ames committed suicide in a park in the Conejo Valley. It happened a day after she’d been the victim of a pile-on, via Twitter, by fellow porn professionals - punishment for her tweeting something deemed homophobic. A month later, August’s husband, Kevin, connected with Jon Ronson to tell the story of how Twitter bullying killed his wife. What neither Kevin nor Ronson realized was that Ronson would soon hear rumors and secrets hinting at a very different story - something mysterious and unexpected and terrible.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • a healing masterpiece

  • By A. M. on 01-04-19

Could’ve been an hour

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-07-19

Love Jon Ronson, but this was drug out and boring. It’s a sad tale and a terrible loss of a young woman, but instead of focusing on the preeminence of mental illness among the people in this business, he focused on repeating details of this one tragic death.

  • No Higher Ground

  • By: Roman Godzich
  • Narrated by: Todd Menesses
  • Length: 13 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 17
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 14

Sam Czerny’s career as a xenobiologist was relegated to studying strange life forms deep in the oceans. Then a Chinese mining facility discovers an unusual artifact on the far side of the moon. A device which could change the way humanity sees itself and its place in the galaxy. Sam finds himself on the project of his dreams only to get caught up in a sudden war between the US and China. A war that prevents the two governments from noticing an even more dangerous arrival.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Love this book!

  • By Laura A on 09-13-18

Good idea poorly executed

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-14-19

Female dialogue came off as childish and whiny. Reader can’t do accents at all. Black characters sounded like minstrel caricatures. Lots of American voices were nasal. Foreign accents where so bad as to be accidentally racist. I am certain the reader did not intend that to be the case, he just didn’t know how to do them correctly.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Star Peregrine

  • Green Zone War, Book 2
  • By: Jake Elwood
  • Narrated by: Johnathan McClain
  • Length: 7 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 60
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58

The frigate Kestrel has been shot to pieces. She’s out of fuel, stranded deep behind enemy lines. It looks hopeless. But Tom Thrush, junior lieutenant and acting captain, has sworn he’ll get his people home. Escape means fuel, and that means taking it from the enemy. A daring raid gives the Kestrel a fighting chance - but a rescued prisoner has some disturbing news. A ragtag local militia has put together a fleet. The fleet is gathering - and it’s about to blunder into a trap.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Very Disappointed

  • By Amazon Customer on 11-14-18

Tech makes no sense and actor’s performance is terrible.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-05-18

Windows on warships in space make no sense. The tech is inconsistent and nonsensical. The author’s idea of space combat is odd. The supporting characters are all one-dimensional and frankly boring.

The actor doing the reading constantly puts the wrong emphasis on the wrong word or the wrong syllable within a word. It’s distracting. He sounds like a bad William Shatner impersonator. He also changes accents for characters, sometimes mid-sentence.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rumors of War

  • Green Zone War, Book 1
  • By: Jake Elwood
  • Narrated by: Johnathan McClain
  • Length: 9 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 93
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 89
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 89

Tom Thrush thinks basic officer training is tough until he joins the frigate Kestrel and finds out what tough really means. The crew resents him. The first officer is actively hostile. As the ship hunts pirates in deep space, Tom struggles to fit in and wonders if things can get any worse. They can. A devastating attack leaves the ship crippled with half the crew dead or dying. The senior officers are wiped out, leaving a terrified sublieutenant in the last place he wants to be.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • It’s good a good set up book.

  • By Shawn on 10-04-18

Meh

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-29-18

The voice actor constantly puts emphasis on the wrong syllable. It is very distractinseparateg from the story. Also he changes accent midsentence with the different characters. The story is OK, but it doesn’t really make a lot of sense at times. Why is there a thin spine separating two halves of a warship? Why does the ship have actual windows? And the main character is annoying. I’ll probably finish the series because I have spare audible credits but meh.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Mavericks

  • Expeditionary Force, Book 6
  • By: Craig Alanson
  • Narrated by: R. C. Bray
  • Length: 17 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,136
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 13,356
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,317

The remnants of the Expeditionary Force stranded on the alien-controlled planet "Paradise" get a chance to prove themselves, in a simple off-world training mission with a ship full of teenage alien cadets. When the mission goes horribly wrong and the survival of everyone on Paradise is at risk, the Merry Band of Pirates may have to come to the rescue. Unless they get killed first.... 

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Alanson teases, and then pulls a 3.5

  • By Andrew on 09-26-18

Still rambles too much.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-04-18

Decent book. Too much rambling banter but otherwise ok. Will keep going with the series.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Legends Never Die

  • By: Joshua Dalzelle
  • Narrated by: Paul Heitsch
  • Length: 7 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 714
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 681
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 679

Jason Burke is a broken man. The loss of his friend and crewmate on an ill-fated mission to a Pillar World has left him in a downward spiral of rage and self-destruction. But what if Lucky hadn’t actually died on that planet? While Omega Force tries to pull itself together for the sake of their friend, they also learn that a ruthless new faction has seized control of the ConFed Council and now threatens the stability of the entire quadrant. To make matters worse, the rise of this new regime might be their fault.  

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I wanted more

  • By Anders on 09-29-18

Good but not his best

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-13-18

Enjoy all of this author’s books. This one seemed to just serve the purpose of resetting the series. It was ok.

  • Agincourt

  • By: Bernard Cornwell
  • Narrated by: Charles Keating
  • Length: 16 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,301
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,308
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,309

Young Nicholas Hook is dogged by a curse, haunted by what he has failed to do and banished for what he has done. A wanted man in England, he is driven to fight as a mercenary archer in France, where he finds two things he can love: his instincts as a fighting man, and a girl in trouble. Together they survive the notorious massacre at Soissons, an event that shocks all Christendom. With no options left, Hook heads home to England, where his capture means certain death.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • What is WITH that music?

  • By Lois on 08-26-15

Music is annoying

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-09-18

As usual, Cornwell makes a good historical novel. The random musical interludes were annoying and made me lose my place in the story. Cut that crap out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Planetside

  • By: Michael Mammay
  • Narrated by: R.C. Bray
  • Length: 8 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,689
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,599
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,594

War heroes aren't usually called out of semi-retirement and sent to the far reaches of the galaxy for a routine investigation. So when Colonel Carl Butler answers the call from an old and powerful friend, he knows it's something big - and he's not being told the whole story. A high councilor's son has gone MIA out of Cappa Base, the space station orbiting a battle-ravaged planet. The young lieutenant had been wounded and evacuated - but there's no record of him having ever arrived at hospital command. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Couldn't put it down!

  • By Rebecca Enzor on 08-02-18

Good. Would read more by author.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-10-18

Kappa is a thinly veiled Afghanistan and the plot twist is predictable but he still makes it work. Decent book. Would read more by the author.