LISTENER

Tarra Gochis

  • 4
  • reviews
  • 70
  • helpful votes
  • 46
  • ratings
  • Official Book Club Selection

  • A Memoir According to Kathy Griffin
  • By: Kathy Griffin
  • Narrated by: Kathy Griffin
  • Length: 6 hrs and 25 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,274
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 883
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 880

Official Book Club Selection is Kathy Griffin unplugged, uncensored, and unafraid to dish about what really happens on the road, away from the cameras, and at the star party after the show. (It's also her big chance to score that coveted book club endorsement she's always wanted. Are you there, Oprah? It's me, Kathy.)

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • HONESTY Is WHAT MAKES KATHY SO 'HUGE'!

  • By Tracy P. on 01-18-17

Beautifully done!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-25-15

I've enjoyed her work before & grew up watching her on Suddenly Susan, I wasn't an official Kathy Griffin fan until I listened to this audio book...

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened

  • A Mostly True Memoir
  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,794
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,263
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6,258

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

Give her voice some time it'll grow on you PROMISE!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-22-15

I loved this book ! I will be honest I couldn't stand her voice at first... I immediately regretted buying the audio version, BUT after getting through the first chapter or two I can't imagine hearing it any other way. I've never read a funnier book in my life including favorites like David sedaris, Tina fey, & Amy Poehler. Don't get me wrong they're equally brilliant, but none can match Jenny & her brutally honest, beautifully bizarre, animated retelling of her dysfunctional life with reckless abandon! ( I know I suck at punctuation) I don't know how anyone could not love this book. Unless you're some uptight politically correct weirdo, in which case I don't like you anyway!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Furiously Happy

  • A Funny Book About Horrible Things
  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,175
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,375
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,353

Audie Award, Humor, 2016. In Furiously Happy, number-one New York Times best-selling author Jenny Lawson explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. But terrible ideas are what Jenny does best.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Small doses.

  • By Shawna on 10-18-15

Comedic cures for my deceptive brain...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-22-15

Just pretend you're good at being sane...
Jenny is a godsend & I don't know how I would've gotten through many a nights without her hilariously relatable words. I fell in love with her first book & waited impatiently for this release. I am not disappointed in the least. Even if you don't suffer from mental illness she will have you in stitches! So many awkward moments & uncomfortable scenarios you can't help but relate to your own life. Especially if you're a woman... Finding humor in the darkest moments is imperative to my survival. Jenny has helped me with this more than I can ever put into words.
BUY THIS & BUY IT NOW!
I prefer the audio as it animates her writing for the most pleasurable laugh out loud experience possible. Then again, maybe that's just because of my ADHD & anxiety induced insomnia... Either way I'm confident you won't regret it!

69 of 79 people found this review helpful

  • Yes Please

  • By: Amy Poehler
  • Narrated by: Amy Poehler, Carol Burnett, Seth Meyers, and others
  • Length: 7 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 48,357
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 42,260
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 42,068

Amy Poehler is hosting a dinner party and you're invited! Welcome to the audiobook edition of Amy Poehler's Yes Please. The guest list is star-studded with vocal appearances from Carol Burnett, Seth Meyers, Michael Schur, Patrick Stewart, Kathleen Turner, and even Amy’s parents - Yes Please is the ultimate audiobook extravaganza.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Not Necessarily for Knope Fans

  • By Katie - Audible on 06-04-15

Amazing ... No surprise!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-12-15

I bought the print & the audio book ! Will not disappoint ! Buy it read it love it