LISTENER

Anonymous

  • 6
  • reviews
  • 6
  • helpful votes
  • 49
  • ratings
  • Dreams of Falling

  • By: Karen White
  • Narrated by: Shannon McManus, Cassandra Campbell, Susan Larkin
  • Length: 16 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 596
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 566
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 559

On the banks of the North Santee River stands a moss-draped oak that was once entrusted with the dreams of three young girls. Into the tree's trunk they placed their greatest hopes, written on ribbons, for safekeeping - including the most important one: friends forever, come what may. But life can waylay the best of intentions....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • My favorite Karen White-friends, family, secrets and love

  • By Haveenoughstuff on 06-07-18

Great story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-27-18

The story told by three people is so well done.., not the least bit confusing going back and forth over three generations. I loved it!

  • The Forgotten Room

  • By: Karen White, Beatriz Williams, Lauren Willig
  • Narrated by: Morgan Hallett, Susan Bennett
  • Length: 13 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,386
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,259
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,257

It's 1945: When the critically wounded Captain Cooper Ravenal is brought to a private hospital on Manhattan's Upper East Side, young Dr. Kate Schuyler is drawn into a complex mystery that connects three generations of women in her family to a single extraordinary room in a Gilded Age mansion. Who is the woman in Captain Ravenel's portrait miniature who looks so much like Kate? And why is she wearing the ruby pendant handed down to Kate by her mother?

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • The same story 3 times over...

  • By Amazon Customer on 03-30-16

Feel a tad cheated at the end

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-25-18

Although I truly enjoyed this book, I felt the ending was a bit anticlimactic. I gave 5 stars for overall, performance and the story line. I expected a little more at the end. Any one else feel that?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Lighthouse Bay

  • By: Kimberley Freeman
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 16 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 689
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 646
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 643

This breathtaking novel travels more than a century between two love stories set in the Australian seaside town of Lighthouse Bay. In 1901, a ship sinks off the coast of Lighthouse Bay in Australia. The only survivor is Isabella Winterbourne - escaping her loveless marriage and the devastating loss of her son - who clutches a priceless gift meant for the Australian Parliament. Suddenly, this gift could be her ticket to a new life, free from the bonds of her husband and his overbearing family.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent story!

  • By Kate B. on 11-30-17

An inspiring women’s story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-31-18

I want more of this story...it leaves me with an ache to know what’s happened between 1902 and 2012. Surely there is a story there. Thank you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Lost Letter

  • A Novel
  • By: Jillian Cantor
  • Narrated by: Allyson Ryan, George Newbern, Betsy Struxness, and others
  • Length: 9 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 999
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 927
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 921

A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers in World War II Austria and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heartbreaking, heartwarming story for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Finally! A Great One!

  • By M. Ryder on 10-27-17

Be still my heart

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-28-18

What a wonderful story. I enjoyed the easy way it was to follow the story line - going between Austria, Germany and today.

  • The Women in the Castle

  • By: Jessica Shattuck
  • Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
  • Length: 12 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,875
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,628
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,625

Set at the end of World War II, in a crumbling Bavarian castle that once played host to all of German high society, a powerful and propulsive story of three widows whose lives and fates become intertwined - an affecting, shocking, and ultimately redemptive novel from the author of the New York Times notable book The Hazards of Good Breeding.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Skating On The Thin Ice Of Life

  • By Sara on 04-29-17

A history lesson that is easy to understand

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-22-18

You will be drawn into the lives of these women and you won’t let go until you have finished reading. Perhaps you will be asking yourself, as I am, why I did not ask my parents more questions.

  • Tuscan Rose

  • By: Belinda Alexandra
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 23 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 957
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 831
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 833

A mysterious stranger known as 'The Wolf' leaves an infant with the sisters of Santo Spirito. A tiny silver key hidden in her wrappings is the only clue to the child's identity and so begins a story as intriguing and beautiful as the city of Florence itself. Belinda Alexandra's new novel, Tuscan Rose, is set in Italy during the time of Mussolini. This richly woven tale of passion, love, longing, witchcraft and magic promises to be everything her readers love and more.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Richly written, at times disturbing

  • By Jeni Tutwiler on 05-14-15

Love does rule

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-01-16

This is a wonderful story that grabs your attention and captivates you to hurry to the end. It was difficult to put down but sometimes you had to. Not because you wanted to but life goes on. The twist toward the end surprised me totally. I did recommend it to my book club and anyone else wh would listen to my rave reviews.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful