LISTENER

ilya ginzburg

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 10
  • ratings
  • Illuminatus! Part I

  • The Eye in the Pyramid
  • By: Robert Shea, Robert Anton Wilson
  • Narrated by: Ken Campbell, Chris Fairbank
  • Length: 13 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 462
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 331
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 332

The Illuminati, an inside joke? The lunatic fringe? Or a vast conspiracy hidden for centuries, unleashing it's power on a naive, defenseless world? It was the lousy luck of Saul Goodman, a tough, streetwise New York detective, to smell the trail in a bombed-out office - the heavy case he'd always dreaded. In a breakneck race against an awesome deadline, Goodman plunges down the trail of the ultimate conspiracy as the days fall away toward Apocalypse.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Over the Top and Proud of It

  • By Amazon Customer on 02-14-08

iluminating !

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-19-18

chaoticaly charming into a misunderstanfing that iluminates the way to doubt everything that the powers at hand have cuningly induced us into beliving. all of that while laughting as much as gods laugh of the plans of man

  • Dinner at the Center of the Earth

  • A Novel
  • By: Nathan Englander
  • Narrated by: Mark Bramhall
  • Length: 7 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 100
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 93
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 91

A prisoner in a secret cell. The guard who has watched over him a dozen years. An American waitress in Paris. A young Palestinian man in Berlin who strikes up an odd friendship with a wealthy Canadian businessman. And The General, Israel's most controversial leader, who lies dying in a hospital, the only man who knows of the prisoner's existence.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So Many Roads to Peace, Blocked

  • By Joe Kraus on 09-15-17

reinvanting headlines back

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-10-18

the best is kept for the end although you feel like it comes at the turn of itch page

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Book of Speculation

  • A Novel
  • By: Erika Swyler
  • Narrated by: Ari Fliakos
  • Length: 11 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,621
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,453
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,446

Simon Watson, a young librarian on the verge of losing his job, lives alone on the Long Island Sound in his family home - a house, perched on the edge of a bluff, that is slowly crumbling toward the sea. His parents are long dead, his mother having drowned in the water his house overlooks. His younger sister, Enola, works for a traveling carnival reading tarot cards and seldom calls.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I lost myself in this book

  • By Barb Freman on 07-30-15

turning pages like cards

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-02-17

you will feel the deck unravwl to mix slavic mythology and the depha of human life as a wave spreading the deck infront of you wandering are youbin a reading or are you the reader

  • Native Peoples of North America

  • By: Daniel M. Cobb, The Great Courses
  • Narrated by: Daniel M. Cobb
  • Length: 12 hrs and 35 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 325
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 292
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 291

The Great Courses has partnered with Smithsonian to bring you a course that will greatly expand your understanding of American history. This course, Native Peoples of North America, pairs the unmatched resources and expertise of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian with the unparalleled knowledge of Professor Daniel M. Cobb of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to provide a multidisciplinary view of American history.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Could be much better

  • By Amazon Customer on 04-26-17

you wilm feel proud to have learned it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-22-17

in. a way it teaches you what was the really not known yet pages of native victotories and survival on the path to a better future

  • The Lazarus Project

  • By: Aleksandar Hemon
  • Narrated by: Jefferson Mayes
  • Length: 9 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 56
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 34
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 32

On March 2, 1908, nineteen-year-old Lazarus Averbuch, a recent Jewish immigrant from Eastern Europe to Chicago, knocked on the front door of the house of George Shippy, the chief of Chicago police. When Shippy came to the door, Averbuch offered him what he said was an important letter. Instead of taking the letter, Shippy shot Averbuch twice, killing him.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Really, really good

  • By Anonymous User on 04-07-19

betwin migrations and imaginations

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-29-17

you feel it slamming between the past and the present as muslims and jews conect across centeries by the balkanik spirit of tragedy and hope

  • The Solomon Curse

  • By: Clive Cussler, Russell Blake
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 11 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,796
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,557
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,546

There are many rumors about the bay off Guadalcanal in the Solomon Islands. Some say it was the site of the lost empire of the Solomon king and that great treasure lies beneath the waters. Others say terrible things happened here, atrocities and disappearances at the hands of cannibal giants, and those who venture there do not return. It is cursed. Which is exactly what attracts the attention of husband-and-wife treasure-hunting team Sam and Remi Fargo. How could they resist?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great adventure

  • By Kim Burney on 09-16-15

a tresure to keep

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-12-17

inforrming and educating in a want to hear you more and more way minute by minute

  • Everything Belongs to Us

  • A Novel
  • By: Yoojin Grace Wuertz
  • Narrated by: Greta Jung
  • Length: 12 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 14
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12

Two young women of vastly different means each struggles to find her own way during the darkest hours of South Korea's "economic miracle" in a striking debut novel for fans of Anthony Marra and Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • taste the way lifes are shaped

  • By ilya ginzburg on 05-09-17

taste the way lifes are shaped

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-09-17

a deeper and tender understandig of how our fates are sahped by our charachters braking as waves on ths events of history