LISTENER

Ashley DeLaGarza

  • 3
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 33
  • ratings
  • Guess Who

  • By: Chris McGeorge
  • Narrated by: Tom Lawrence
  • Length: 11 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 12
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 11

At 11 years old, Morgan Sheppard solved the murder of a teacher when everyone else believed it to be a suicide. The publicity surrounding the case laid the foundation for his reputation as a modern-day Sherlock Holmes. He parlayed that fame into a gig as TV’s “resident detective,” solving the more typical tawdry daytime talk show mysteries. Until, that is, Sheppard wakes up handcuffed to a bed in a hotel room. Around him, five strangers are slowly waking up, as well. Soon they discover a corpse in the bathtub and Sheppard is challenged to put his deductive skills to the test. 

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Not What I Expected

  • By Ashley DeLaGarza on 09-21-18

Not What I Expected

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-21-18

The synopsis of the story does not really fit. I was expecting the protagonist to be a genius amateur detective with a locked room mystery that would allow the reader to follow along and put together the clues. I don’t want to give too much away but suffice to say that this is not what is presented here. Not that it is a bad story it’s just not what was advertised. It was a little too out there for me with all its twists but it did keep me listening and in suspense. I think had I not been expecting something else I would have enjoyed it more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • All Systems Red

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,972
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,616
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,615

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I just wish all four stories were one book...

  • By Garrett Stone on 11-05-18

My Favorite Murderbot

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-06-18

I loved this novella. The only issue with it is that it was way too short. The conflicts faced are not the ones that I normally associate with the whole "sentient AI" genre and I love it. Give this book a shot. It is only 3 hours and 17 minutes long, you really have nothing to lose by giving it a listen. I personally cannot wait to read the final two installments coming out this year. Seriously though, if you consider yourself a "nerd" then read this book!

  • Noir

  • A Novel
  • By: Christopher Moore
  • Narrated by: Johnny Heller
  • Length: 9 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,808
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,689
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,680

It's not every afternoon that an enigmatic, comely blonde named Stilton (like the cheese) walks into the scruffy gin joint where Sammy "Two Toes" Tiffin tends bar. It's love at first sight, but before Sammy can make his move, an air force general named Remy arrives with some urgent business. 'Cause when you need something done, Sammy is the guy to go to; he's got the connections on the street.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A Laugh Riot, Inconsistently Delivered

  • By Maggie May on 04-18-18

LOL

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-09-18

I love Christopher Moore’s writing. He manages to entwine comedy, emotional resonance, and whatever it is he has decided to research into a story that is smart, fun to read and even funnier to listen to. Do ya’ self a favor, kid, and pick up Noir!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful