LISTENER

Anonymous

  • 6
  • reviews
  • 49
  • helpful votes
  • 72
  • ratings
  • The Yarn Whisperer

  • My Unexpected Life in Knitting
  • By: Clara Parkes
  • Narrated by: Clara Parkes
  • Length: 4 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 95
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 80
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 80

In The Yarn Whisperer: Reflections on a Life in Knitting, renowned knitter and author Clara Parkes ponders the roles knitting plays in her life via 22 captivating, poignant, and laugh-out-loud funny essays. Recounting tales of childhood and adulthood, family, friends, adventure, privacy, disappointment, love, and celebration, she hits upon the universal truths that drive knitters to create and explores the ways in which knitting can be looked at as a metaphor for so many other things.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wonderful from start to finish

  • By Beth E. on 06-08-16

I should have listened (but not to this book).

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-11-17

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

I should have listened to the negative reviews here about this book. That's the bad news. However, the good news is her newer book, The Road to Knitlandia is just terrific. I highly recommend that one. Quite amusing, interesting, and fun to read. Skip this one. See the other unhappy reviews for details. I agree with them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • She Matters

  • A Life in Friendships
  • By: Susanna Sonnenberg
  • Narrated by: Susanna Sonnenberg
  • Length: 8 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 19
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 17
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 18

A ruthless and illuminating exploration of the friendships that dominated, influenced, nourished, inspired, haunted - and sometimes tore her apart - Susanna Sonnenberg has written a book as searing and superb as her first book about her mother, Her Last Death. Childhood friendships, friendships with older women, friendships that play out with the passion and intensity of love affairs, the friendships between new mothers - each has its own subtleties, its own lessons that Sonnenberg examines and understands with astounding acuity.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Superb.

  • By suzanne on 02-09-13

Sped up this book club listen to get it over with

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-10-17

What would have made She Matters better?

I'm just going to make a general review here.

Why would a publisher think listening to this whiny, conflicted, selfish woman would be a good use of a reader's time and money? I don't know. I dutifully listened because it was a book club selection. But I sped up the read to 1.5 times so it would be over that much sooner.

While listening to the book I wanted to sit Ms. Sonnenberg down (and her dreadful parents, if they were available), and talk with her about the hard work of being a moral, responsible, kind person. I wanted to tell her that yes, motherhood is hard work, life is not fair, and mainly--get some help. However, I think her issues with relationships with women might be quite deep. I feel sorry for her long suffering husband and her children.

For all her "spill your guts" talk, she didn't really explore women's relationships in a deep way. It was just a one-tone, plaintive whine.

Please, Ms. Sonnenberg, don't write any more books. Maybe read the book The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. Couldn't hurt.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

Read. The. Book. Faster.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Sorrow that I had to read this and used a book credit for it.

Any additional comments?

I think you get my idea. I only gave the book three stars because I'm in a good mood that it's over.

  • Do Over

  • Rescue Monday, Reinvent Your Work, and Never Get Stuck
  • By: Jon Acuff
  • Narrated by: Jon Acuff
  • Length: 6 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,222
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,108
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,092

New York Times best-selling author Jon Acuff has drawn millions of online fans who love his refreshing mix of humor, honesty, and wisdom about the world of work. Now he offers his most important audiobook yet, a guide to making big career changes - by choice or necessity - and escaping the horrible feeling of being trapped in the wrong job.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Not for advanced consumers of the topic

  • By UB on 08-26-17

Very Encouraging--employed or not

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-30-16

What made the experience of listening to Do Over the most enjoyable?

The book was very encouraging for me. I am in a "do over" place in life of transitioning from full-time-at-home mother to full-time-empty-nest mother. I found the ideas very useful and pragmatic.

What did you like best about this story?

The useful ideas to motivate oneself, the openess of Mr. Acuff's stories, and the often-humorous aspect.

Which character – as performed by Jon Acuff – was your favorite?

He played himself admirably. The asides for the audio book were fun little bits.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

It's your life! Get moving!

Any additional comments?

I don't understand the nasty negative reviews of this book. It's almost as if there is an underlying motivation to be so disdainful about the book and Mr Acuff. I think he is great at writing a book like this that is practical and easy to draw from. I highly recommend you ignore the negative reviews and give this a try if you want to get motivated at making changes in your life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Bitchy Waiter

  • Tales, Tips & Trials from a Life in Food Service
  • By: Darron Cardosa
  • Narrated by: Darron Cardosa
  • Length: 5 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 105
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 98
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 96

Millions of people have, at some point in their lives, waited tables. Some did it only in college or got out by sheer determination, good luck...or suicide. Others took it on as permanent employment. And many remain haunted by nightmare scenarios where they are the sole servers in restaurants packed with complaining patrons. For all those disenchanted current and former food service employees, Darron Cardosa has your back.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Best Book Ever!!

  • By Ryan Alexander on 06-08-16

Not for me

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-30-16

What would have made The Bitchy Waiter better?

I didn't like the crude language. There was too much of it. Clean up the language, be a little bit les bitchy, and it might be ok. Mostly just complaining. We all have work that we do for someone and have to buck up.

Has The Bitchy Waiter turned you off from other books in this genre?

No, I enjoy reading amusing books about real-life jobs and people. This book is a Waiter Rant" want-to-be book. Waiter Rant was very funny and not as annoying. The Bitchy Waiter was just what the title said it is. Plus, there were a few really gross parts. I'm trying to erase them from my mind. Not to say there weren't some sweet and funny moments. There were. But the negatives outweigh the positives for me.

Did the narration match the pace of the story?

No problem with the narration.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Bitchy Waiter?

I did play editor: I ended up skipping some chapters just to move on.

Any additional comments?

If you enjoy these true-life work stories, try Heads in Beds (hotel work), and Waiter Rant. Both good listens.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened

  • A Mostly True Memoir
  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,374
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,870
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,868

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

Disappointed!

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-27-16

What disappointed you about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

I was expecting a funny and thoughtful book. Instead I found it so full of offensive words and not funny or interesting. I realize I am among the shrinking minority that believe using the f word in every paragraph is unappealing, but there so it is. Maybe the other book Ms. Lawson wrote is better, but the reviews indicated otherwise. See--I wrote a whole paragraph without the F word.

What do you think your next listen will be?

About baseball or a mystery. I listen to so many things and am almost always pleased with the time and money spent to be able to do so.

Did the narration match the pace of the story?

Sure.

What character would you cut from Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

The author.

Any additional comments?

I'm sorry I wasted my credit!

  • Pimsleur Italian Level 1 Lessons 1-5

  • Learn to Speak and Understand Italian with Pimsleur Language Programs
  • By: Pimsleur
  • Narrated by: Pimsleur
  • Length: 2 hrs and 38 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 614
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 479
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 423

Each lesson of Italian Level 1 Lessons 1-5provides 30 minutes of spoken language practice, with an introductory conversation and new vocabulary and structures. Detailed instructions enable you to understand and participate in the conversation.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Overpriced part of a complete Italian course

  • By Mike Spencer on 02-06-18

Best audio for learning Italian

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-14-10

Having completed the first five lessons of Phase One of the Pimsleur Italian lessons, I can say, "eccellente". I've been listening to another set of audio lessons to learn Italian and I very much prefer the Pimsleur. The very thorough pronunciation and slow pace make it easy to do something else such as drive, fold laundry or do dishes and listen and learn.

That said, this might be too slow paced for someone who just wants to learn a few phrases for travel, or who picks up language very quickly. Sometimes the "Italian for Idiots" type of series seemed like a good name.

I have enjoyed and learned quite a bit already and will download the next five lessons. I checked to see how many more lessons there are in the series and was amazed to see there are three "phases" with about 30 lessons per phase. I should be pretty good by the time I complete all that.

46 of 47 people found this review helpful