LISTENER

Sharon

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 172
  • ratings
  • Beyond the Pale

  • By: Elana Dykewomon
  • Narrated by: Elana Dykewomon
  • Length: 15 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 69
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 62
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 61

Beyond the Pale - winner of the Lambda Literary Award - tells the stories of two Jewish women living through times of darkness and inhumanity in the early 20th century, capturing their undaunted love and courage in luminous and moving prose. The richly textured novel details Gutke Gurvich's odyssey from her apprenticeship as a midwife in a Russian shtetl to her work in the suffrage movement in New York.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • great historical fiction with a lesbian twist

  • By Kelly on 11-25-13

Historical aspects were interesting

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-15-17

What would have made Beyond the Pale better?

It was too long, the transitions from characters' thoughts confused me sometimes because they had the same narrator

Would you ever listen to anything by Elana Dykewomon again?

probably not

How could the performance have been better?

Different narrators for different characters

Any additional comments?

It gave good descriptions of immigrant life of Russians in NYC during the early 20th century.

  • Sweetbitter

  • A Novel
  • By: Stephanie Danler
  • Narrated by: Alex McKenna
  • Length: 12 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 1,564
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,423
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 1,425

Shot from a mundane, provincial past, Tess comes to New York in the stifling summer of 2006. Alone, knowing no one, living in a rented room in Williamsburg, she manages to land a job as a backwaiter at a celebrated downtown Manhattan restaurant. This begins the year we spend with Tess as she starts to navigate the chaotic, enchanting, punishing, and privileged life she has chosen as well as the remorseless and luminous city around her. What follows is her education.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Set Your Expectations Accordingly

  • By FanB14 on 06-24-16

Boring story, character not relatable

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-19-16

The story was too choppy, the main character's story just did not resonate for me.

  • Collide

  • By: Gail McHugh
  • Narrated by: Mary Kowal
  • Length: 11 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 667
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 628
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 631

On the heels of graduating college and trying to cope with her mother's death, Emily Cooper moves to New York City for a fresh start. While harboring secrets of his own, Dillon Parker takes care of Emily through her grief. Knowing he can't live without her by his side, he's sweet, thoughtful, and everything Emily has ever wanted in a man. Until she meets Gavin Blake....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Aggrivation, a heart attack, and the cliffhanger.

  • By Bex on 06-30-15

Not worth the time

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-04-16

Would you be willing to try another one of Mary Kowal’s performances?

No, the voices were not fitting the characters

Any additional comments?

Too long, not realistic at all, too many coincidences, and just not very interesting

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened

  • A Mostly True Memoir
  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,386
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,881
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,879

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

LOL!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-07-14

Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

The funniest laugh out loud book I ever heard!

What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

I don't want to be a spoiler! Its funny though!

What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

Her deadpan seriousness about silly stuff in life just makes you feel happy.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I wish I had time to do that, yes.

Any additional comments?

I waited too long to listen to this one! Listen to it now!

  • The Power of Positive Thinking

  • A Practical Guide to Mastering the Problems of Everyday Living
  • By: Norman Vincent Peale
  • Narrated by: uncredited
  • Length: 3 hrs and 46 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,320
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,677
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,642

Translated into 15 languages with more than 7 million copies sold, The Power of Positive Thinking is unparalleled in its extraordinary capacity for restoring the faltering faith of millions. In this insightful program, Dr. Peale offers the essence of his profound method for mastering the problems of everyday living.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • the Power of Positive Thinking

  • By Tinkerbell71 on 09-02-11

This has too many references to Jesus

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-15-12

What disappointed you about The Power of Positive Thinking?

While some of the methods described are universal this book had too many religious and Jesus references which made this Jewish girl uncomfortable at times.

Has The Power of Positive Thinking turned you off from other books in this genre?

I didn't know it was based on mostly religious beliefs and the Bible. I need some advice that is more universal to anyone, not just religious people.

Would you be willing to try another one of the narrator’s performances?

No. The author had a slow sort of southern drawl which was annoying to me.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Power of Positive Thinking?

All of the Bible and Jesus references.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Forever on the Mountain

  • By: James Tabor
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 15 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 144
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 101
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 103

In the summer of 1967, an Arctic hurricane trapped seven veteran climbers, members of Joe Wilcox's 12-man expedition, at 20,000 feet on Alaska's Mount McKinley. Ten days passed while the storm raged. Despite the availability of massive resources, no rescue was mounted, and all seven men died. The tragedy was one of the most controversial, bitterly contested, and mysterious tragedies in all of mountaineering history.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fascinating Book, Fantastic Narration

  • By S. Smail on 12-01-13

Not your typical climbing story

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-23-12

Is there anything you would change about this book?

It was too long and there were too many different people which made it confusing to listen to.

Did the narration match the pace of the story?

Not sure.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Angela's Ashes

  • By: Frank McCourt, Jeannette Walls - introduction
  • Narrated by: Frank McCourt, Jeannette Walls - introduction
  • Length: 15 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,846
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,260
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,265

Why we think it’s a great listen: There’s no gentle way to put this – Frank McCourt’s performance of Angela’s Ashes is just better than the Pulitzer Prize-winning book. Frank McCourt shares his sometimes heartwarming, sometimes heartbreaking story of growing up poor, Irish, and Catholic in the Pulitzer Prize-winning memoir Angela's Ashes.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A classic book *and* a classic audiobook

  • By Karen on 01-30-03

Long but also interesting

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-14-12

Would you try another book from Frank McCourt and/or Frank McCourt?

Probably not.

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

It was too long, it took me weeks to finish listening and I was losing interest.

Have you listened to any of Frank McCourt’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I have not.

Was Angela's Ashes worth the listening time?

No, it was not worth all of the length of time it took to complete the listening.

Any additional comments?

It makes you appreciate having the basic necessities of life. It was somewhat depressing at times and very long to listen to.