LISTENER

Olive Gale Mullet

Big Rapids, MI
  • 8
  • reviews
  • 6
  • helpful votes
  • 14
  • ratings
  • West Cork

  • By: Sam Bungey, Jennifer Forde
  • Narrated by: Sam Bungey, Jennifer Forde
  • Length: 7 hrs and 50 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 22,257
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 19,881
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 19,878

This much we do know: Sophie Toscan du Plantier was murdered days before Christmas in 1996, her broken body discovered at the edge of her property near the town of Schull in West Cork, Ireland. The rest remains a mystery. Gripping, yet ever elusive, join the real-life hunt for answers in the year’s first not-to-be-missed, true-crime series.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • ENTERTAINING AND THOUGHT-PROVOKING

  • By Ann on 02-13-18

Long, complicated but real

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-09-18

This is what a real investigation is like
The twists, revelations are at times frustratingly
Untidy and long but this production is praiseworthy for its thoroughness.
It does seem long but at times is riveting

  • Cop to Corpse

  • An Inspector Peter Diamond Investigation, Book 12
  • By: Peter Lovesey
  • Narrated by: Simon Prebble
  • Length: 11 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 206
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 186
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 186

In the small hours of a Sunday morning in the city of Bath a policeman on beat duty is shot dead by an unseen gunman - the third killing of an officer in Somerset in a matter of weeks. The emergency services are summoned. Ambitious to arrest the Somerset Sniper, the duty inspector, Ken Lockton, seals the crime scene, which is confined by the river on one side and a massive retaining wall on the other. He discovers the murder weapon in a garden - and is himself attacked and left for dead. Enter Peter Diamond, Bath's burly CID chief....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Keeps you guessing.

  • By Lorriee on 07-30-12

Good as always

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-11-18

Lovesey has another different mystery
The only pattern in his mysteries is their complexity thwarting predictions or comparisons with earlier ones in the series. This one with its subplot threatened to repeat an earlier mystery with amateur sleuths but Lovesey surprised us here with a totally novel twist. He always satisfies

  • Martin Chuzzlewit

  • By: Charles Dickens
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 33 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 256
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 236
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 231

The Chuzzlewits are a family divided by money and selfishness; even young Martin, the eponymous hero, is arrogant and self-centred. He offends his grandfather by falling in love with the latter’s ward, Mary, and sets out to make his own fortune in life, travelling as far as America - which produces from Dickens a savage satire on a new world tainted with the vices of the old. Martin’s nature slowly changes through his bitter experience of life and his enduring love for Mary.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • It's worth the wait

  • By Deborah on 04-18-11

Great for listening to dialogue

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-14-18

The novel critical of our country is amazingly current in its revelations of our character
Dickens is best on characters and the reader brought them alive. It is best for Audible since the dialects make the words unclear in silent reading. The novel’s denouement regarding the villains is realistic and unsentimental

  • Elmet

  • By: Fiona Mozley
  • Narrated by: Gareth Bennett-Ryan
  • Length: 7 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 46
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 44
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 43

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family, as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape. Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Beautifully written and structured

  • By Olive Gale Mullet on 10-02-17

Beautifully written and structured

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-02-17

The protagonist Daniel’s perspective is well read. The writing is beautiful which listening brings out and the taut ending keeps you going. Daniel with his sister Cathy and fighter father live isolated and self sustaining and confront a real villain. It is worth being on the Booker’s short list

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Big Green Tent

  • A Novel
  • By: Ludmila Ulitskaya, Polly Gannon - translator
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Davis
  • Length: 22 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 21
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 19
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 18

With epic breadth and intimate detail, Ludmila Ulitskaya's remarkable work tells the story of three school friends who meet in Moscow in the 1950s and go on to embody the heroism, folly, compromise, and hope of the Soviet dissident experience. These three boys - an orphaned poet; a gifted, fragile pianist; and a budding photographer with a talent for collecting secrets - struggle to reach adulthood in a society where their heroes have been censored and exiled.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Modern female Russian writer writing a saga starting with Stalin's death and ending with the poet Brodsky's. It also 3 male frie

  • By Olive Gale Mullet on 04-14-17

Modern female Russian writer writing a saga starting with Stalin's death and ending with the poet Brodsky's. It also 3 male frie

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-14-17

Three male friends and to a lesser extent 3 female fiends
It is equivalent to War and Peace for the depth and development of character and for the fullness of ideas

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Catherine the Great

  • Portrait of a Woman
  • By: Robert K. Massie
  • Narrated by: Mark Deakins
  • Length: 23 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,374
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,177
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,168

The Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Peter the Great, Nicholas and Alexandra, and The Romanovs returns with another masterpiece of narrative biography, the extraordinary story of an obscure young German princess who traveled to Russia at fourteen and rose to become one of the most remarkable, powerful, and captivating women in history.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved everyone minute!

  • By Elizabeth on 02-05-12

Great as was Catherine

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-01-16

The reader was wonderful, the telling of this historic character's rise to
power enthralling. The complexity was not overwhelming because of reminders of what we'd heard before and the dominance of certain characters stood out over events

  • Middlemarch

  • By: George Eliot
  • Narrated by: Juliet Stevenson
  • Length: 35 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,991
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,737
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,719

Dorothea Brooke is an ardent idealist who represses her vivacity and intelligence for the cold, theological pedant Casaubon. One man understands her true nature: the artist Will Ladislaw. But how can love triumph against her sense of duty and Casaubon’s mean spirit? Meanwhile, in the little world of Middlemarch, the broader world is mirrored: the world of politics, social change, and reforms, as well as betrayal, greed, blackmail, ambition, and disappointment.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Best Audible book ever

  • By Molly-o on 12-25-11

Beautifully read but better read in book form

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-03-16

Wonderful character depiction in the voice interpretation
However, this is a novel full of insights and wisdom of human nature which whiz by too fast when you are listening

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A Spool of Blue Thread

  • A Novel
  • By: Anne Tyler
  • Narrated by: Kimberly Farr
  • Length: 13 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 2,130
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,871
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 1,879

"It was a beautiful, breezy, yellow-and-green afternoon..." This is how Abby Whitshank always begins the story of how she fell in love with Red that day in July 1959. The Whitshanks are one of those families that radiate togetherness: an indefinable, enviable kind of specialness. But they are also like all families, in that the stories they tell themselves reveal only part of the picture.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • From a LONG Time Anne Tyler fan

  • By S. Elder on 09-29-15

Tyler's latest

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-07-15

I've been reading Anne Tyler for years, and I think her earliest are her best. This one has two points of tension,the prodigal son and the revelations about the parents' marriage (a third about the sons is not quite as interesting). The parents' marriage is probably the most interesting. Characters are well drawn but more realistic than quirky. Good audio performance, though.