LISTENER

Donna

  • 57
  • reviews
  • 32
  • helpful votes
  • 111
  • ratings
  • Lies She Told

  • By: Cate Holahan
  • Narrated by: Amy McFadden, Lisa Larsen
  • Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,461
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,356
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,356

Liza Cole has 30 days to write the thriller that could put her back on the best seller list. In the meantime, she's struggling to start a family with her husband, who is distracted by the disappearance of his best friend, Nick. With stresses weighing her down in both her professional and her personal lives, Liza escapes into writing her latest heroine, Beth. Beth is a new mother who suspects her husband is cheating on her while she's home alone caring for their newborn. Then the lines between fiction and reality begin to blur.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Truth is stranger than fiction is stranger than fiction is stranger..,.

  • By shelley on 09-23-17

Couldn’t finish it...

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-08-18

I hate to give up on a book but I can only take a women’s whining for so long. Right off the bat you know this person is going to make stupid mistake after stupid mistake and then whine about it. Two chapters was all I could take.

  • The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared

  • By: Jonas Jonasson
  • Narrated by: Steven Crossley
  • Length: 12 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 7,904
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,211
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 7,239

After a long and eventful life, Allan Karlsson ends up in a nursing home, believing it to be his last stop. The only problem is that he's still in good health, and in one day, he turns 100. A big celebration is in the works, but Allan really isn't interested (and he'd like a bit more control over his vodka consumption). So he decides to escape. He climbs out the window in his slippers and embarks on a hilarious and entirely unexpected journey, involving, among other surprises, a suitcase stuffed with cash.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Ages Well

  • By Dennis on 10-21-12

A fun trip...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-26-18

A light read, a fun trip, I’m glad I went along for the ride. What a fanciful imagination this author has.

  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

  • By: Mark Haddon
  • Narrated by: Jeff Woodman
  • Length: 6 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11,844
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,889
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,910

Fifteen-year-old Christopher Boone has Asperger's Syndrome, a condition similar to autism. He doesn't like to be touched or meet new people, he cannot make small talk, and he hates the colors brown and yellow. He is a math whiz with a very logical brain who loves solving puzzles that have definite answers.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • An Unexpected Gift.

  • By Amanda on 12-07-11

What a remarkable book❤️

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-01-18

This remarkable book will give you some insight into the way a gifted child sees the world and how he copes with his problems. I have a new appreciation for what some children and parents go through. This pulls at your heartstrings but in a very loving way.

  • The Deep Blue Good-By

  • A Travis McGee Novel, Book 1
  • By: John D. MacDonald
  • Narrated by: Robert Petkoff
  • Length: 6 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3,677
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 3,271
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 3,278

He's a self-described beach bum who won his houseboat in a card game. He's also a knight errant who's wary of credit cards, retirement benefits, political parties, mortgages, and television. He only works when his cash runs out, and his rule is simple: he'll help you find whatever was taken from you, as long as he can keep half.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • An Entertaining Start To A Classic Series

  • By Michael Cavacini on 06-15-12

Just not a good read

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-30-17

The narrator was too theatrical and the author was too verbose. It grated on my nerves so much I almost didn’t finish it. In retrospect, I should have just deleted it earlier as it just got worse.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A Proper Pursuit

  • By: Lynn Austin
  • Narrated by: Jennifer Ikeda
  • Length: 16 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 751
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 651
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 653

Fresh from finishing school, Violet receives a double shock. Her dad announces his upcoming wedding and then confesses an old lie - her mom didn't really leave for a sanitarium 11 years ago. But why then did she leave? Under cover of visiting the World's Fair, Violet travels to the stately Chicago home of her saintly grandmother and three eccentric great aunts.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Just simply entertaining and FUNNY!

  • By Christine on 12-25-10

This is a young adult book

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-23-17

This book would appeal to young Christian girls about 11 to 15 years of age.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Spinning the Moon

  • By: Karen White
  • Narrated by: Susan Bennett, Pilar Witherspoon
  • Length: 26 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,083
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,008
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,001

In the Shadow of the Moon: When Laura Truitt first sees the dilapidated plantation house, she's overcome by a sense of familiarity. Inside, the owner claims to have been waiting for years and offers an old photograph of a woman with Laura's face. Soon afterward, when a lunar eclipse inexplicably thrusts Laura back in time to Civil War Georgia, she finds herself fighting not just for her heart but for her very survival.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • First book great , 2nd contrived and drawn

  • By Kat5 on 10-14-16

Couldn't wait for it to end...

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-06-17

This story went on and on and on and on with the same frustrating issues. It could have been 10 chapters shorter, that would have made it a lot less boring.

  • An Unattractive Vampire

  • By: Jim McDoniel
  • Narrated by: Drew Campbell
  • Length: 9 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,018
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,894
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,891

After three centuries trapped underground, thousand-year-old Yulric Bile, also known as The Cursed One, The Devil's Apprentice, He Who Worships the Slumbering Horrors, awakens only to find that no one believes he is a vampire. Apparently he's just too ugly. Modern vampires, he soon discovers, are pretty, weak, and, most disturbing of all, good.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Blood, Guts and lots of laughs!

  • By Aaron on 08-27-16

Couldn't Finish It

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-14-17

I had read a review that said there was a lot of humor in this book. I would not use the word humor to describe what I felt was one book that made absolutely no sense. I tried, I mean I really tried but just couldn't make it through to the end.

  • The Magician's Elephant

  • By: Kate DiCamillo
  • Narrated by: Juliet Stevenson
  • Length: 2 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,516
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,369
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,372

When a fortuneteller’s tent appears in the market square of the city of Baltese, orphan Peter Augustus Duchene knows the questions that he needs to ask: Does his sister still live? And if so, how can he find her? The fortuneteller’s mysterious answer (An elephant! An elephant will lead him there!) sets off a chain of events so remarkable, so impossible, that Peter can hardly dare to believe it. But it is - all of it - true.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Yes, the Impossible!

  • By Gillian on 11-17-16

Outstanding Performance by Juliet Stevenson!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-09-16

Yes, it is a story for kids. That didn't stop me, an adult, from thoroughly enjoying this book. The most enjoyable part is Juliet Stevenson's performance. She kept me enthralled throughout the book. What a remarkable talent. She could read a phone book and make it a wondrous adventure. I am going to search out every book she narrated.

  • The Trespasser

  • A Novel
  • By: Tana French
  • Narrated by: Hilda Fay
  • Length: 20 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,685
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,080
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,043

Being on the murder squad is nothing like Detective Antoinette Conway dreamed it would be. Her partner, Stephen Moran, is the only person who seems glad she's there. The rest of her working life is a stream of thankless cases, vicious pranks, and harassment. Antoinette is savagely tough, but she's getting close to the breaking point. Their new case looks like yet another by-the-numbers lovers' quarrel gone bad. Aislinn Murray is blond, pretty, groomed to a shine, and dead in her catalogue-perfect living room, next to a table set for a romantic dinner.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A literary mystery

  • By lesley on 10-08-16

This book kept me intrigued.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-09-16

First, there has been a lot of bashing the narrator, Hilda Fay. From other reviews it appears some people have trouble with the authenticity of the accent. Being from the US I really don't care if it is authentic or not. I didn't like the accent nor the improper use of pronouns but I thought the narrator was great and did a really good job on this book. The book was intriguing, had lots of twists and turns, kept me interested all the time and I found it hard to stop listening.

  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,189
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,038
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,022

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Star Start, Wowed.

  • By green ice cream garden on 06-28-16

I'm looking for the sequel right now

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-29-16

I really hope this is part of a series because I want more of this.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful