LISTENER

AmazonCustomer

  • 27
  • reviews
  • 14
  • helpful votes
  • 86
  • ratings
  • Artificial Condition

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,643
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,521
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,514

It has a dark past - one in which a number of humans were killed. A past that caused it to christen itself "Murderbot." But it has only vague memories of the massacre that spawned that title, and it wants to know more. Teaming up with a Research Transport vessel named ART (you don't want to know what the "A" stands for), Murderbot heads to the mining facility where it went rogue.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Awesome but painfully short.

  • By Brian Barry on 09-05-18

Fun, short, overpriced.

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-15-18

I was sucked into buying the second one because I liked the first one, and it was slightly on sale. But even at $6.99, it was too much money for too few hours. These need to be combined into one, maybe two books. I'm not buying a third one till audible makes them cheaper and neither should anyone else.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • All Systems Red

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,459
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,139
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,139

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I LOVE MURDERBOT

  • By Michael - Audible Editor on 11-06-17

Really good and way too short.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-08-18

This is a really fun book, but it's too short for the price. It's a fun world, but $3.00/hour is too high. Combine them into an omnibus. I'll spend a credit, we can all walk away from this happy.

  • Vortena: Everybody Loves Large Chests, Volume 3

  • By: Neven Iliev
  • Narrated by: Jeff Hays
  • Length: 14 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1,882
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,785
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 1,781

What happens when one takes a murderous psychopath and forces them to team up with a cowardly tinkerer? Though not a question Jeremiah ever expected to ponder, he is nevertheless looking forward to seeing what the aforementioned duo will cook up. Success or failure does not matter to Richard, only that the journey be entertaining.     

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Boxy's back and your gonna be in trouble . . .

  • By Ray Johnson on 10-31-18

Better than the second one.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-27-18

Still too much detail in the porn and rape scenes. But the magic and murder are creative and fun.

  • Fizzlesprocket: Everybody Loves Large Chests - Vol. 2

  • By: Neven Iliev
  • Narrated by: Jeff Hays
  • Length: 10 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 2,626
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2,477
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 2,475

Things are not well within the Lodrak Empire. An entire city goes up in smoke and ash, and an entire province is slowly being consumed by an ever-expanding cloud of death. But while the humans rally to contain the fallout of this disaster, they are much quicker to pin the blame for it on their elven neighbors to the north. With centuries' worth of strife and bad blood between the two nations flaring up, all out war is rapidly becoming an inevitability.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Can I inspect your box? It looks like a big one!

  • By Ray Johnson on 03-28-18

Less fun than the first.

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-12-18

The first one was more RPG porn, and less porn porn. The basic idea is still good. The murder and magic and and inventions are still fun. Just could do with less of the weird, demon on demon, BDSM.

  • Night and Silence

  • October Daye, Book 12
  • By: Seanan McGuire
  • Narrated by: Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Length: 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 383
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 356
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 356

In the aftermath of Amandine's latest betrayal, October "Toby" Daye's fragile self-made family is on the verge of coming apart at the seams. Jazz can't sleep, Sylvester doesn't want to see her, and worst of all, Tybalt has withdrawn from her entirely, retreating into the Court of Cats as he tries to recover from his abduction. Toby is floundering, unable to help the people she loves most heal. She needs a distraction. She needs a quest. What she doesn't need is the abduction of her estranged human daughter, Gillian. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Powerful Story, Powerful Performance

  • By Michael Charboneau on 10-01-18

Still love , but

Overall
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-26-18

A good book, but the time has come to stop working to catch new readers up in this series. Too much redundancy. Takes away from the story flow.

  • The Consuming Fire

  • The Interdependency, Book 2
  • By: John Scalzi
  • Narrated by: Wil Wheaton
  • Length: 8 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,542
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 4,241
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,222

The Interdependency, humanity’s interstellar empire, is on the verge of collapse. The Flow, the extra-dimensional conduit that makes travel between the stars possible, is disappearing, leaving entire star systems stranded. When it goes, human civilization may go with it - unless desperate measures can be taken. Emperox Grayland II, the leader of the Interdependency, is ready to take those measures to help ensure the survival of billions. But nothing is ever that easy.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Scalzi and Wheaton or the new dynamic duo?

  • By Donald Arquilla on 10-17-18

Meh.

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-21-18

The first one was ok, this one was not. It was very short. Almost nothing actually happened. Everyone kept making pointless speeches. And the surprises just weren't interesting enough make the book worth the listen.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Steel World

  • Undying Mercenaries, Book 1
  • By: B. V. Larson
  • Narrated by: Mark Boyett
  • Length: 12 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,799
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,160
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,162

In the 20th century Earth sent probes, transmissions, and welcoming messages to the stars. Unfortunately, someone noticed. The Galactics arrived with their battle fleet in 2052. Rather than being exterminated under a barrage of hell-burners, Earth joined their vast Empire. Swearing allegiance to our distant alien overlords wasn't the only requirement for survival. We also had to have something of value to trade, something that neighboring planets would pay their hard-earned credits to buy. As most of the local worlds were too civilized to have a proper army, the only valuable service Earth could provide came in the form of soldiers....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Classic Space Opera

  • By Don Gilbert on 12-05-13

Popcorn

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-05-18

Perfectly ok, lowest common denominator, military, Mary Sue fun. It's not deep, and the author barely skims the implications of the tech and civilizations encountered by the protagonist. Those higher up the chain of command are a bit like the adults in Harry Potter, even when you finally find out what was going on, their actions remain internally inconsistent. It's a fun military sci-fi romp. Don't expect any philosophical conundrums or clever solutions. The main character is simple to the point of being annoying, and he wins for the same reason a fantasy hero wins, because they have the right attitude. It's out of place in real sci-fi, where the writing should be smart, even if the character isn't.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Super Powereds: Year 4

  • Super Powereds, Book 4
  • By: Drew Hayes
  • Narrated by: Kyle McCarley
  • Length: 60 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 5,518
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 5,266
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 5,245

The final year at Lander has finally arrived for the Melbrook students and their peers, and with it comes a whole new set of challenges. Still reeling from the events of their junior year, the remaining students will have to push past their pain - and so much more - if they hope to be one of the 10 to claim the title of Hero upon graduation. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Its finally over....what do I do with my life now?

  • By Jared on 07-11-18

Disappointing.

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-26-18

I really liked the first 4 books and I'm a big fan of his other series. But this one was disappointing. Every scene became a speech. It was mawkish and maudlin and cringeworthy. The one island of fun was intramurals. Fights with new supers reminded me why i liked the preceding books. It's not desirable to keep the drama dialed up to eleven for 60+ hours of story.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Empire of Ashes

  • The Draconis Memoria, Book 3
  • By: Anthony Ryan
  • Narrated by: Steve West
  • Length: 23 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 467
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 446
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 441

For hundreds of years, the Ironship Trading Syndicate was fueled by drake blood - and protected by the Blood-blessed, those few who could drink it and wield fearsome powers. But now the very thing that sustained the corporate world threatens to destroy it. A drake of unimaginable power has risen, and it commands an army of both beasts and men.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Good work!

  • By Grant on 09-02-18

Less than the first two

Overall
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-23-18

Still good, but not up to the first two. Less character development; more battle scenes. Also less serious flow motivation. Too predictable.

  • A Higher Loyalty

  • Truth, Lies, and Leadership
  • By: James Comey
  • Narrated by: James Comey
  • Length: 9 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 22,729
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 20,756
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 20,663

In his audiobook, A Higher Loyalty, former FBI director James Comey shares his never-before-told experiences from some of the highest stakes situations of his career in the past two decades of American government, exploring what good, ethical leadership looks like and how it drives sound decisions. His journey provides an unprecedented entry into the corridors of powe, and a remarkable lesson in what makes an effective leader.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • More Than Trump: All Comey's Life/Working Years--

  • By Gillian on 04-17-18

Imperfect perfection

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-10-18

Comey was worth the listen. This is not a great book, but it is a very good one; hence my review's title. You can learn a lot from the listen, even while sensing the human self-justifications and imperfect decision making. Another good man trashed by our dear President.