LISTENER

Stephen

  • 41
  • reviews
  • 44
  • helpful votes
  • 354
  • ratings
  • Private

  • By: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
  • Narrated by: Peter Hermann
  • Length: 7 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 23,679
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 21,098
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 21,067

Former Marine helicopter pilot Jack Morgan runs Private, a renowned investigation company with branches around the globe. It is where you go when you need maximum force and maximum discretion. The secrets of the most influential men and women on the planet come to Jack daily - and his staff of investigators uses the world's most advanced forensic tools to make and break their cases.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • private

  • By Meaghan Bynum on 07-01-10

Fun... popcorn. :)

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-23-17

It was the entertainment I was looking for, and I liked it enough to want to continue the series.

  • Stealing Fire

  • How Silicon Valley, the Navy SEALs, and Maverick Scientists Are Revolutionizing the Way We Live and Work
  • By: Steven Kotler, Jamie Wheal
  • Narrated by: Fred Sanders
  • Length: 8 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,735
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,286
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,276

The authors of the best-selling Bold and The Rise of Superman explore altered states of consciousness and how they can ignite passion, fuel creativity, and accelerate problem solving, in this groundbreaking book in the vein of Daniel Pink's Drive and Charles Duhigg's Smarter Faster Better.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Very disappointing. Not what it promises to be.

  • By R8r on 03-18-17

Interesting, but a bit disappointing...

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-15-17

Prometheus has been the wallpaper on my computer for longer than I can remember... I read the earlier book, Rise of Superman, with great interest. I crave the flow state, and I was happy to find a follow-on book by these authors. It is very well-researched. There is a lot of good material here, but I ultimately found it disappointing.

The emphasis on group flow, hallucinogens and other pharmacology, and hipster culture stuff like Burning Man was more than a bit off-putting. I have a toddler. LSD and Burning Man are not in my future, near or otherwise. Guess I'm not "woke" enough, whatever that means. I will continue to work on hacking the flow state my own way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Ghost in My Brain

  • How a Concussion Stole My Life and How the New Science of Brain Plasticity Helped Me Get It Back
  • By: Clark Elliott Ph.D.
  • Narrated by: Arthur Morey
  • Length: 9 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 344
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 308
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 310

In 1999, Clark Elliott suffered a concussion when his car was rear-ended. Overnight his life changed from that of a rising professor with a research career in artificial intelligence to a humbled man struggling to get through a single day. At times he couldn't walk across a room, or even name his five children. Doctors told him he would never fully recover. After eight years, the cognitive demands of his job, and of being a single parent, finally became more than he could manage.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Mostly Tedious With Moments of Insight

  • By Brent on 01-17-16

Rings true as a TBI survivor...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-08-17

I suffered a severe concussion back in 2004. Reading this made me wish I had kept better notes during my recovery. Definitely a must-read if you have a TBI survivor in your life. Really, we're trying... and sometimes we just can't see what you're talking about.

  • A Canticle for Leibowitz

  • By: Walter M. Miller Jr.
  • Narrated by: Tom Weiner
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3,560
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 3,213
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 3,225

Winner of the 1961 Hugo Award for Best Novel and widely considered one of the most accomplished, powerful, and enduring classics of modern speculative fiction, Walter M. Miller’s A Canticle for Leibowitz is a true landmark of 20th-century literature—a chilling and still-provocative look at a postapocalyptic future.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Introibo Ad Altare

  • By richard on 03-20-13

"You won't read that book again, because..."

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-23-17

"... the ending's just too hard to take."

Of course, that's the point, and I have read it more times than I care to count. Highly recommended...

  • Everybody Behaves Badly

  • The True Story Behind Hemingway's Masterpiece The Sun Also Rises
  • By: Lesley Blume
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Davis
  • Length: 11 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 389
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 352
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 354

In the summer of 1925, Ernest Hemingway and a clique of raucous companions traveled to Pamplona, Spain, for the town's infamous running of the bulls. Then, over the next six weeks, he channeled that trip's maelstrom of drunken brawls, sexual rivalry, midnight betrayals, and midday hangovers into his groundbreaking novel The Sun Also Rises. This revolutionary work redefined modern literature as much as it did his peers, who would forever after be called the Lost Generation.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Book

  • By Michael Scanlon on 07-04-16

Roman a clef...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-04-17

The names were (barely) changed to protect the innocent. Barely. It is a fascinating slice of history.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Washington's Immortals

  • The Untold Story of an Elite Regiment Who Changed the Course of the Revolution
  • By: Patrick K. O’Donnell
  • Narrated by: William Hughes
  • Length: 13 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 540
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 490
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 491

In August 1776, a little over a month after the Continental Congress had formally declared independence from Britain, the revolution was on the verge of a sudden and disastrous end. General George Washington found his troops outmanned and outmaneuvered at the Battle of Brooklyn, and it looked like there was no escape. But thanks to a series of desperate rear-guard attacks by a single heroic regiment, famously known as the Immortal 400, Washington was able to evacuate his men, and the nascent Continental Army lived to fight another day.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Spectacular

  • By Robert Everman on 04-26-16

Greater Generations

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-30-16

I'm very sorry, guys, but no American generation since has measured up. We need heroes like this now more than ever.

  • Highest Duty

  • My Search for What Really Mattered
  • By: Chesley B. Sullenberger, Jeffrey Zaslow
  • Narrated by: Michael McConnohie, Chesley B. Sullenberger
  • Length: 8 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 348
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 283
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 282

In this inspirational autobiography, Captain "Sully" Sullenberger, the airline pilot whose emergency landing on the Hudson River earned the world's admiration, tells his life story and talks about the essential qualities that he believes have been so vital to his success.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A life time of preperation

  • By Robert on 11-21-09

Not many real Americans left...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-21-16

Incredible story, that his entire life was the perfect preparation for one moment when he was exactly where he was needed.

I hope I can do half so well if my moment comes.

Now I can see the movie!

  • The Few

  • The American "Knights of the Air" Who Risked Everything to Fight in the Battle of Britain
  • By: Alex Kershaw
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 9 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 222
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 190
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 190

World War II had been raging for nearly a year. Hitler was now planning an invasion of England to seal Europe's fate. Though the United States was still neutral, a few Americans decided they couldn't remain on the sidelines. They joined Britain's Royal Air Force - with the future of civilization hanging in the balance. The Few tells the dramatic story of these Americans who defied their own country's neutrality laws and risked their very citizenship to fight side-by-side with England's finest pilots.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic

  • By Laurie on 02-02-12

I shudder to think...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-28-16

...how the currently living generations (including my own) would rise to a challenge like this.

  • Farthing

  • Small Change, Book 1
  • By: Jo Walton
  • Narrated by: John Keating, Bianca Amato
  • Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 757
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 652
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 666

One summer weekend in 1949 - but not our 1949 - the well-connected "Farthing set", a group of upper-crust English families, enjoy a country retreat. Lucy is a minor daughter in one of those families; her parents were both leading figures in the group that overthrew Churchill and negotiated peace with Herr Hitler eight years before....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • It Couldn't Happen Here, Right? RIGHT?

  • By Nancy J on 05-29-13

It couldn't happen here?

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-22-16

A very well-conceived and realized alternate history with an early WWII divergence point... watching a "democracy" slide into authoritarian repression? It might remind you of something if you're paying attention. ;)

  • Mycroft Holmes

  • By: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Anna Waterhouse
  • Narrated by: Damian Lynch
  • Length: 9 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,806
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,615
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,607

"When I say, therefore, that [my brother] has better powers of observation than I...I am speaking the exact and literal truth." (Sherlock Holmes). This story occurs when Mycroft, an athletic Cambridge graduate, assists the secretary of State. He becomes embroiled in a mystery in Trinidad based on actual history. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar is a huge Holmesian, seven-foot-two tall, basketball's all-time leading scorer, and a US cultural ambassador. Anna Waterhouse is a professional screenwriter and script consultant.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Has All the Hallmarks of a First Book

  • By Paul on 06-06-16

Fun

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-16-16

A nice surprise from the daily deal. It made me want to revisit the canon. Attention to historical detail impressive too.